We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of Arrieulat Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arrieulat Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Reviewed 26 June 2012

From the moment we turned up we were greeted by the owner with a smile. There were eleven of us on a cycling holiday. The hotel is very personal with obvious pride taken in all the detail. The rooms are fine and clean. The breakfast was more than ample and delicious, fresh and well worth the money. We started off not having it as others have said it was expensive but I think it represents great value and would recommend it. We had dinner at the hotel one night and the chef/ownertook great pride in serving us a splendid meal. Great value too. We could not have found a more ideal place to use as our base and I hope they do well as they are putting in the effort. The hot tub and sauna were also excellent after our hillclimbs.
Fantastic. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stroudy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

We found this place through booking.com as it appeared to be well priced and feedback was generally positive. This was a 3 day cycling trip with a mate, so we were just looking for something basic, but clean.
We took a taxi from Lourdes airport (quite pricey at €55 for the two of us and bikes). He guessed where we were staying before we'd even mentioned it, so I take that to mean it is popular with cyclists!.
The public areas of the hotel are very nice, the rooms less so, but they are clean and for €60 probably what I would expect. Breakfast is €10. We only had it on the first day, but it wasn't that great so we just went to one of the patisseries or cafes in the town the other two days.
Our bikes were safely locked away in their garage each night, so no concerns there, and the hot tub in the garden is a welcome sight if youve been out walking or cycling all day. Argeles Gazost itself really is an excellent base to explore the mountains. If you cycle, then the Soulor/Aubisque begins from the town, Hautacam is a couple of km away, then the Tourmalet and Luz Ardiden another 15km or so. We've been here a few times, but this is the first time at the Arrieulat. We will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kynasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Nice hotel, very clean and great value. Eating at least one night in the restaurant is a most! This was the best meal we had our whole two week trip in Spain and France.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

On a group bicycle trip across Northern Spain and the French Pyrenees, this hotel was a definite highlight of the trip. The gourmet meals were artfully and very "tastefully" prepared. It is clear, as other reviews have mentioned, that the owners care a great deal for their establishment and the comfort of their guests.

It appears that the guest rooms have been recently remodeled and all were very nicely appointed. As in many areas of France, street noise may be an issue early in the morning as the hotel is on a busy street.

The location is great for exploring the town and surrounding areas.

A definite recommendation for the traveler looking for a great experience in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed here just one night, and wished we'd skipped Birritz so we could stay here longer.
Our room was pretty basic, but owners, Stefane and Cecile will be updating the rooms over the 2010-2011 winter.
Stefane's cooking skills are evident. Do stay for dinner. His passion. Both he and Cecile are friendly, helpful hosts. Highly recommend their inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I was surprised this hotel was only 2* given the facilities and the quality of the restaurant. Rooms are a reasonable size and were clean. Lino on the floor not my choice but I guess easier to clean. Breakfast was lovely and €10 per head was a lot less than a similar meal would have cost outside. The town itself is lovely and a really central place to stay for a lot of the sights. Hotel is 2 minutes walk from the town centre which is very handy. Agree with a previous reviewers comment about the spa!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluevcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The couple who runs this place is nice, and tried to cater to our needs, but it really didn't help that we arrived after a long day to find that they had lost our reservation. I doubt that they would have gone out of their way to help us had I not with me a printed out copy of all our email correspondence that confirmed my reservation. Fortunately they found two rooms that we needed, but it was clearly the two rooms that were the least desirable--they were tiny, and one faced an intersection, which meant that there was a lot of noise (except during the night). Plus, the walls were paper thin so we could hear our neighbours really well, which didn't add to the sleep quality factor! The bathroom was dirty, too (which was promptly cleaned when asked; like I wrote above, the owners are doing their best).

The food at the restaurant was really great, though. The husband is a chef and you could tell. The only problem was that one could choose only the set menu (with an entree, main dish, dessert) for about 25 euros, which isn't too bad considering the quality of the food, but one of our family members was not very hungry but she had to take the whole thing, or eat elsewhere. Not ideal after a long day of driving and after going back-and-forth for over half an hour after they lost our reservation. The breakfast was good, with ham, cheese, best yoghourt I have had in a while, different kinds of bread, orange juice, coffee/tea, fruit. Not a steal at 10 Euros, but still, pretty good.

So all in all, if you are looking for an OK place to stay with good food, stay here. The view from the town of the surrounding Pyrenee mountains is also breathtaking. Oh, don't take the "spa" part of this hotel seriously--it is a hot tub located right next to the car park.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlancaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-Gazost
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
#3 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
117 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Soleil Levant
Hotel Restaurant Soleil Levant
#7 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
79 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De France
Grand Hotel De France
#3 of 3 in Pierrefitte Nestalas
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Chez Pierre d'Agos
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Miramont
Hotel le Miramont
#2 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
143 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrieulat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrieulat Hotel

Address: 28 avenue des Pyrenees, 65400 Argeles-Gazost, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Argeles-Gazost
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Price Range: £60 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrieulat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Arrieulat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing