We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“naren patel”
Review of La Bastide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Bastide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

great hotel very helpful staff and owners. All of them make sure all of the time you are well looked after. Good food, well serves , nice restaurant, inside and outside. Nice gardens and swimming pool. Easy access to good nearby venues and site. Situated in nice surroundings and leisure facilities. Rooms are wonderful, roomy etc

cant fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank naren2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

La Bastide was very quiet, the room was large and simply but beautifully furnished. Very comfortable king size bed, and very nice bathroom. The town is very small but cute to walk around in. Not much to do, but if you really want to relax and be quiet, this is a great place to do it. The spa is beautiful and you can use the Jacuzzi for free. The food was very good in the restaurant (definitely not a Relais & Chateau grand chef experience, but still definitely well above average.) Staff were very friendly and nice. The pool was very pretty and we had a nice afternoon reading beside it (would have been even better if someone had come around to take drink orders.) Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a great place to stay. Beautiful, bucolic town that is truly French (including a twice weekly wonderful fresh market in the plaza), outstanding hotel and a variety of restaurants to select from. La Bastide is a warmly welcoming place, easily earning its Michelin star rating for both the hotel and restaurant. Our corner room was spacious and bright, with a large bathroom and outstanding furnishings. The full use of the spa, with two saunas and lovely large jacuzzi is included in the room cost. Breakfast is extra, but a short stroll into town along a wonderfully quiet and well planted cobblestone road produces a selection of patisseries and cafes for breakfast. An outstanding stop if you are looking for the real French deal.

Room Tip: Corner room if available. We took advantage of the pay for two nights, stay 3 option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our room was large and superbly appointed. Great shower, wonderful towels, slippers, robes and all the other luxury comforts. The grounds were manicured and inviting. The staff well trained, efficient and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank didyaeatyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno G, Maître de Maison at La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013
Google Translation

Chers Clients,

Merci de votre commentaire.
En effet nous avons la chance d'avoir une très belle ''Maison'' qui allie le Luxe & la simplicité avec cette ''GUERARD Touch'' incomparable.
Nous aimons la partager avec toute notre équipe.

Éléonore GUERARD, Bruno GRIFFOUL
Maîtres de Maison
Les Bastidiens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This beautiful spa hotel is nestled in the French country-side. If you are looking for discrete elegance, a relaxing spa and delicious food, this is your spot. From the moment you drive up to the hotel, you feel welcome. The staff are attentive and friendly without being overwhelming. The hotel and its gardens are perfectly maintained. The rooms are spacious, well equiped and the bathrooms huge with amazing walk-in showers. The beds are king sized and very comfortable with top quality linens.
We reserved half-board and were not disappointed. The food and service will all 5 star. The unseasonally cool weather wasn't a problem as they had fires lit throughout the property to keep us warm and cozy.
We will return with great pleasure. Definitely worth driving a few extra miles!

Room Tip: Regular rooms are good sized. Choose a junior suite if you want lots of space. Hotel is only two sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BordeauxPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Have just returned from a week in Barbatan les Thermes having stayed at La Bastide. It's not often that I make a return reservation before leaving a hotel but we were enchanted by it and want to return. I was there for my birthday and when the staff found out they were charm itself so we will be returning for my daughters birthday. The thermal town itself is very small but has a wonderful air of relaxation, which if you need peace and quiet is ideal.
The decor is clean and almost 'virginal' being light and bright, the beds were extremely comfortable our room was double aspect so we had the benefit of the afternoon sun. A lovely experience, if I was being ultra picky I would suggest a little more attention to the cuisine, personally I think it could do with a little more care in preparation. This is, of course, my impression and one where I'm trying to find something that could be criticized. Overall smashing!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

this hotel (a member of the Relais & Chateaux group) is relatively new and owned and run by Leonore Guerard, one of the two daughters of Michel & Christine Guerard who run probably the best hotel and restaurant in France Le Pre D'Eugenie about 25 KM away.
La Bastide is not as sumptuous as Le Pre D'eugenie, but oozes charm and good taste. It is better than most 5 star hotels but less than half their price. The restaurant is also outstanding, and doubtless will soon collect its first Michelin star.
We want to return before its reputation becomes too well known and both the hotel and the restaurant become too expensive. Like Eugenie Les Bains, Barbotan, where the hotel is located, is a pictoresque spa town where a variety of luxurious treatments are available. It is in the heart of the Armagnac region as well, so there are plenty of domaines and chateaux nearby to taste this delicious digestive.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile going for the superior rooms or junior suites since even in the high season at €180...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmandspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbotan-les-Thermes
13.2 mi away
Le Castelpierre de Lagraulet
Le Castelpierre de Lagraulet
#1 of 1 in Lagraulet-du-Gers
110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau Bellevue
Chateau Bellevue
#1 of 1 in Cazaubon
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Roseraie
Hotel La Roseraie
#5 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aubergade
Hotel Aubergade
#4 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
19 reviews
12.6 mi away
Logis Solenca
Logis Solenca
#1 of 1 in Nogaro
190 reviews
24.4 mi away
Les Pres d'Eugenie
Les Pres d'Eugenie
#1 of 4 in Eugenie Les Bains
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide

Address: avenue des Thermes, 32150 Barbotan-les-Thermes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gers > Barbotan-les-Thermes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Barbotan-les-Thermes
Price Range: £150 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastide features contemporary rooms situated in 18th century Stone House. It offers 4-star accommodation, and a Wellness center with jacuzzi.The spacious rooms and suites at La Bastide offer views over the well-established gardens. Decorated in soft tones, the rooms are light and airy. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and has free Wi-Fi.The light-filled dining room serves healthy, balanced meals designed by chef, Michel Guerard. Guests can also enjoy a Ggourmet menu on the terrace in warmer months.La Bastide provides additional guest lounges and a bar with a fireplace. Outdoor furniture is also provided on the terraces and around the garden. La Bastide is opposite the Barbotan-les-Thermes thermal baths. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing