We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home!”
Review of La Bastide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Bastide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This Relais & Chateaux property is located in a bucolic area of France. The hotel manager and his staff were most gracious and provided us with a warm welcome. They are most anxious to please. The rooms are cozy and well-appointed. We enjoyed a lovely dinner at the hotel. The weather prevented us from enjoying the pool, but the massages at their Spa were great!

I recommend this hotel very strongly!

Room Tip: Corner room is quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The location, the hotel, the staff, everything was perfect (only the weather wasn't great unfortunately). The young Sommelier who looked after us was attentive and professional, we had the best service of the trip (we were travelling for work in the SW of France).
The food was matched perfectly with the wines which were served at the right temperature with good timing and proper glassware. Never take thins things for granted, I've learned from experience. They even set up the fireplace area for us, moving tables and harmchairs in a more convivial arrangement, so we could enjoy coffee and Armagnac there and the morning after everything was back to normal.
I loved the cooking of the crusted pork and the flavors of the potato gratin with the mushroom addition.
The rooms are big, stylish and not overworked, with big windows to enjoy lots of natural light, high ceilings. I only wish my stay could have been longer to enjoy the beauty of the whole property. There was even a proper espresso machine in the breakfast area!
One person in our group left behind a couple of items, they called us to let us know and even posted it to her. I am sure there is nothing they wouldn't do to make everyone stay extra special.
Very impressive, one of the best hotels and restaurant I stayed in a while.
Couldn't recommend it enough

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are great, I was on N.3 on the fist floor, and it was just perfect, with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarabach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wonderful staff at La Bastide -- welcoming, accommodating and professional. The property itself is extremely tasteful and relaxing. Always a fire burning giving a wonderful aroma to the sitting rooms. There is a lovely garden to the front with fountains to enjoy a drink or coffee -- again, elegant. The hotel is situated right off a bike path so great for a walk or ride for everyone. The food was extremely well done and varied so easy to make a choice for several dinners.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace was particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel dominates the small town of Barbotan both physically and in terms of quality (spa towns are not my thing and tend in my experience to be a bit run down and faded)
The strongest points at La Bastide are the staff and the cooking - both excellent.
Le patron was very hands on, making the rounds of the tables at dinner and greeting each diner personally and no doubt was one of the reasons that the attention to detail was so apparent.
The hotel was immaculate inside and although the gardens were not the best feature this was probably due to the restrictions of the smallish area available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sag356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBT_BAS, Maître de Maison at La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thankful for your response. Your appreciation means a lot to us. It is our priority to make our home as welcoming as your home could be, and we are sincerely happy if you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We will be delighted to welcome you at your next trip in our wonderful region.

Best regards,

Éléonore GUERARD, Bruno GRIFFOUL
Maître de Maison
The hotel’s staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here with our baby and her great aunt / uncle for a little treat away from home in May 2014. The hotel staff were extraordinarily accommodating. We had a warm welcome which included fetching all the bags from our car and whisking our car off to a convenient parking spot just in front of the hotel. The travel cot was set up in time for our arrival (despite arriving well before the advertised check-in time). The food and drink were all excellent. The outdoor pool was heated (great news for our 18 month old, who loved splashing around in the very shallow end) and to our immense surprise and delight she was able to join us in the enormous indoor jacuzzi located in the main wellness / spa area. We would (and definitely will) return next time we are in the area. The rate we got (direct from the hotel) was extremely reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ed and Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBT_BAS, Maître de Maison at La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Madame, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your response. We are all grateful that you enjoyed your stay in our “Home”. It is always a wonderful pleasure to see that our clients are satisfied with our services.

We hope you had a safe return back home, and it will be with great pleasure to welcome you again for another treat in our “Home”.

Best Regards,

Éléonore GUÉRARD,
Bruno GRIFFOUL,
Maîtres de Maison
The team of LA BASTIDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We visited about eighteen months ago and loved it then, often a return trip doesn't live up to expectations but here it did. We had a lovely weekend even though the weather was indifferent. the staff ,with no exception, were welcoming and friendly. In fact it was home from home. Nothing has changed the décor was immaculate and everything sparkled. We ate twice in the restaurant and enjoyed it very much, tasty and with good range of choice. Looking forward to returning in the Autumn!

Room Tip: All seem to be of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno G, Maître de Maison at La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear BASTIDIENS,

Thank you for your lovely feedback!
We works every day on order to be nicer and improve ourselves.

Eléonore GUERARD, Bruno GRIFFOUL,
Maîtres de Maison
L'équipe de La Bastide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The property is lovely. The spa consists of a tepid hot tub and more tepid hamam.

I could put up with this, but the manager of the property needs to learn about true hospitality.

My family and I drove around the lovely countryside and bought local food assuming that we could sit outside in the lovely grounds of the hotel at tables provided and have a picnic dinner of all the wonderful regional food.

The manager of the hotel stormed out to us as we were eating and very heatedly, told us we could not eat in the courtyard. He then launched into epithets aimed at demeaning us. He said things like, this is a fine hotel, not a campground. Very rude.

If that's the policy, point taken, but there is no need to be an insulting jerk about it. Especially after spending 300 EUR on a mediocre dinner the night before.

That kind of attitude is unexpected in the hospitality business.

I have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world, and I have never been made to feel so unwelcome and embarrassed in front of staff and other guests not to mention my family.





  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Abram7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno G, Maître de Maison at La Bastide, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Sir,

I don't have words facing your charming feedback.

Only Bruno GRIFFOUL,
Maître de Maison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbotan-les-Thermes
13.2 mi away
Le Castelpierre de Lagraulet
Le Castelpierre de Lagraulet
#1 of 1 in Lagraulet-du-Gers
110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau Bellevue
Chateau Bellevue
#1 of 1 in Cazaubon
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Roseraie
Hotel La Roseraie
#5 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aubergade
Hotel Aubergade
#3 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
19 reviews
12.6 mi away
Logis Solenca
Logis Solenca
#1 of 1 in Nogaro
190 reviews
24.4 mi away
Les Pres d'Eugenie
Les Pres d'Eugenie
#1 of 4 in Eugenie Les Bains
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide

Address: avenue des Thermes, 32150 Barbotan-les-Thermes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gers > Barbotan-les-Thermes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Barbotan-les-Thermes
Price Range: £151 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastide features contemporary rooms situated in 18th century Stone House. It offers 4-star accommodation, and a Wellness center with jacuzzi.The spacious rooms and suites at La Bastide offer views over the well-established gardens. Decorated in soft tones, the rooms are light and airy. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and has free Wi-Fi.The light-filled dining room serves healthy, balanced meals designed by chef, Michel Guerard. Guests can also enjoy a Ggourmet menu on the terrace in warmer months.La Bastide provides additional guest lounges and a bar with a fireplace. Outdoor furniture is also provided on the terraces and around the garden. La Bastide is opposite the Barbotan-les-Thermes thermal baths. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing