We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REASONABLE HOTEL, GREAT FOOD, GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Les Fleurs de Lys

Les Fleurs de Lys
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barbotan-les-Thermes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Fleurs de Lys
N WALES
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“REASONABLE HOTEL, GREAT FOOD, GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We visited this hotel in summer 2012. The hotel is located, just outside Barbotan, in the district of Armagnac in South Western France. It is a quiet and very relaxing part of France with laid back people and fantastic scenery - be it wooded valleys or vine covered hills.

There are no super-exciting attractions in the area but a multitude of medieval villages, hilltop towns and armagnac distilleries to visit. The whole area is very relaxing and the pace of life slow.

Barbotan is a small market/ spa town with some amenities and a good number of bars. It is friendly and scenic with a lake on its outskirts where many caravanners go in for that most French of pursuits "le camping". There is a small racetrack on the hotel side of town, where they hold a few small meetings each summer.

The hotel is a good base to visit Lourdes, Pau and even Northern Spain, all of which we visited.

The hotel is very reasonably priced (especially for France in high summer) and should be judged on that basis. The rooms are ok - they are not super deluxe but you are not paying a super deluxe price. Our room was comfortable enough with doors opening onto a first floor balcony. The bed was fine and all in all everything was good. Internet was available at a small daily charge from reception.

The restaurant is exceptional with the daily set menu dinners being superb and reasonably priced.

The pool was great on the sweltering afternoons when the whole area closed down.

Right next to the hotel is a vinyard which the owner is more than happy for you to walk around and take a look at the ripening grapes.

Overall great value, this is a fantastic location for recharging the batteries at a great price. We will go back.

Room Tip: We preferred our first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RONBONW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

After reading all good reviews, I was expecting to have a very nice time in that hotel. The room, although we booked "confort plus" bed room, was very smal, tiny bathroom (only a shower, no bath). As the TV doesn't work in the douvle room we booked, Mike proposed us another room (same category) but with two single beds. As it was a week-end with my boyfriend we decided to get the double room despite the broken tv! Hotel is very old, so you can easily hear people next door. However the room was clean and we had a huge terrace. The dinner was nice but not so exceptionnal for a Gault&Millau restaurant! Depending of course on what menu you choose, we chose "terroir menu".
Despite all of that, I have to say Mike and his wife are very kind and passionnate! But sorry we won't definitely come back, especially when you balance quality/price!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condom, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My other half and I decided we would like a midweek break so did some research and chose this hotel from the reviews we had read and the food reviews especially, which were most promising. We arrived to be told at reception, by Jean a co-owner, that we did not have a room booked. We protested that we had spoken to them twice and had an email confirmation, which I had left at home. This conversation was conducted in French which suddenly transferred to English when I said we had reserved a suite! Mystery solved.
The 'suite' was okay but not a suite as I would have expected rather a large room with a large bathroom, but it was clean and the decor was attractive. There was no refrigerator or tea and coffee making facilities and the television only received local French stations no CNN etc. I needed a wifi connection and was most disappointed to be told it was 3 Euros - why not free as the room was not cheap? The owner brought us an extra heater down to the room as it had turned cold.
We met Mike, co owner and chef, who discussed menus with us. He thought it would be a good idea if we chose our evening menu as it was end of season etc etc! So we chose the tasting menu with wines. The restaurant was attractive. Service was conducted by Jean and was good. The food was nice but uninspiring. The amuse bouche was rather horrid and consisted of mashed tinned tuna with mayonnaise on some very tired and stringy lettuce. Quite hard to eat with a teaspoon and not designed to show the chef's skills. We then had a soup which was tepid and fairly tasteless but with a nice wine presented very nicely by Jean who described both wine and dishes throughout the tasting menu. We enjoyed the red wine we had with the tough beef, so much that we indulged in another glass before our puddings! Puddings were really very good and came with a glass of 'champagne' - oddly this bottle was not presented to us only 2 small glasses of fizz and no description from Jean! We retired to bed replete but not necessarily sated by the rather uninspiring menu. Maybe we should have had the menu du jour which looked so much nicer than ours!
In the morning I was looking forward to breakfast as they advertised a continental breakfast, an English breakfast and a German breakfast, which is what I would have liked. But no, when we reached the dining room a table was set with rolls, orange juice, yoghurt and jam. Eventually Mike ambled in and asked if we would like tea or coffee - no mention of anything else. I do not eat continental breakfast so just had tea. Not surprisingly we were charged for two continental breakfasts (9 Euros each). The bill was waiting so we paid and left.
All in all it was a break but it could have been so much nicer with a bit more thought from the owners, who were the only staff we saw. This is an hotel and restaurant that certainly knows how to charge it is just a shame that at the end of the season they don't know how to make you feel a bit special especially as we were paying top prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

-A great place to stay during a visit to Gascony
-Mike and Jean are good people
-The rooms are comfortable and clean
-The food (Menu du Jour) is always delicious
-The WIFI works well
-It is easy to walk down to the village to shop
-On Wed the village has a fun open air market-try the oysters on the half shell
-The patisserie artisanale in the village is really good

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungryguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stay 13/6-17/6 as our daughter was celebrating her marriage nearby,Mike and Jean did the catering for the reception nothing and I mean nothing was too much trouble, the food both at the hotel and at the reception was incredible. They are truly wonderful and we would visit again. Hotel rooms were good and spotless perfect location beautiful part of France. All our family stayed at the hotel and we were treated like royalty. I hope Jean and Mike read this as they made our daugther and her husbands day unforgettable. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purrdy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Urdiales, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Barbotan-les-Thermes is a summer village set in beautiful countryside in Gascony. The Fleur de Lees is on the outskirts overlooking vines and verdant trees. It is run by an English family, the Lees (sorry it took me so long to get the pun on the name of your hotel). The room are clean, light and airy and I think there has been some recent refurbishment of the bathrooms. The atmosphere is informal. There is a pool with loungers and tables and a lovely arched terrace where it is a delight to eat out on warm evenings. The family will go the extra mile to accommodate you. Free WiFi available in the TV room and ample free parking at the side of the hotel. There are several very pretty bastide villages within a 20 mile radius. Both hotel and restaurant get many French visitors as well as British, a fact which speaks for the quality on offer.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Mike and Jean together with their helpers were fantastic hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always there to assist. Our room was of an excellent size, comfortable and incredibly clean. The air conditioning worked really well and was quiet.

We thought the breakfasts were good although it was not self-service and the range of items on offer not as great as in the other hotels we stayed at on this trip. The two evening meals we had were a little disappointing with service being rather slow on one occasion.

The hotel is ideally placed for exploring the area. The nearby Roman villa, close to Seviac, is well worth a visit as is the incredible display of Roman jewellery and coins at d'Eauze.

One tip, if when trying to book through the internet the hotel is shown as only having one room available (e.g. a triple-bed room when we tried) it is definitely worth contacting the hotel directly as they may, as in our case, be able to offer alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barbotan-les-Thermes hotels
0.6 mi away
La Bastide
La Bastide
#1 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Roseraie
Hotel La Roseraie
#4 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Saskia
Residence Saskia
#1 of 2 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aubergade
Hotel Aubergade
#3 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de la Paix
Hotel Restaurant de la Paix
#7 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cante Grit
Hotel Cante Grit
#2 of 2 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Fleurs de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Fleurs de Lys

Property: Les Fleurs de Lys
Address: 24 avenue Henri IV, 32150 Barbotan-les-Thermes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gers > Barbotan-les-Thermes
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Barbotan-les-Thermes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Fleurs de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing