We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cauterets
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We went for a week loads of problems no bed quilts or sheets Broken sliding door when we got their. The gave us the wrong room a family of 6 and they gave us a room with a sofa bed and 2 beds how disgusting only clean room once befor u come they don't do it while ur stay and toilets are moldy and they say they have a outdoor pool but hey don't never go again. Just went for a family holiday the staff are rude. Not clean have tellies in room And they don't even work wifi is €40 rip off I would advice u no one go its horrid

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Basic hotel, friendly staff, garage for motorbikes.
Rooms geared for multiple ski party occupancy, didn't get chance to use the Balneo Spa facility so can't comment.
Whole place felt very 'out of ski season', the town too, very little open.
Ok but unless skiing, wouldn't recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank frecklesK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night (April 2012).
Big confusion over car parking + not terribly helpful receptionists made check-in very difficult.
Accomodation clean but more basic than we like.
Our room was next to a Fire Door in the corridor, which caused lots of noise throughout.
Location good - very central.
Didn't get to use the pool due to late'ish arrival and lack of instructions/guidance in English.
I suggest if they take bookings from English guests, then they could help a little with more written instructions in English.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shentodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Supposedly a family friendly hotel catering for children and having pool and games room etc. However meals begin at seven thirty pm on the dot. At that point the waiting area is choc a bloc with noisy families with hungry and tired children doing all they can to keep them going until this relatively late mealtime. All complaining about the timing of the dinner.

As our year old baby normally sleeps at 7 usually we tried to keep her up for the meal on the first night as there are no babysitting facilities. However she cried and disturbed other diners and then fell asleep in her dinner.

Therefore the next night We asked to sit in the dining room early just to feed her with our own food using the hotel high chairs but were told in no uncertain terms that this was not permitted by the unhelpful management, who was quick to argue and happy to enter a full scale slanging match in the lobby about how as babies went free the hotel had no obligation to assist us with organising their meals. They were unbelievably unhelpful and rude.

Even though we had our own food we were not permitted to feed her in the dining room or even the reception or the waiting or bar area and had to carry a high chair all the floors in the escalator up to our tiny cramped room to feed her there! They then refused to give their names or any contact for complaints.

Overall don't think of going if you have children, and even if you do management seem to have grown to detest their guests and delight in surly unhelpful rudeness _ food mediocre, toilets dirty and accomodation cramped. The balcony sliding door didnt work at all and let in cold mountain air all night long. Cauterets is a lovely place but this is a truly horrible hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lisauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Cauterets is a typical mountain village that fails to live up to its potential. The location, at the head of the valley and a ten minute drive to Pont d'Espagne, one of the most attractive sites in the French Pyrennees, would lead one to expect a lively tourist town with many restaurants and shops and good hotels.
Unfortunately, the town is somewhat run down, the best restaurants are low-end "bistrots" and the prices are higher than can be justified.
The Alladin is one of the two 3* hotels in town (nothing higher than 3) and is an average 3* establishment at best. The hotel offer family mini-appartments as well, however with the additional bed being a bunk bed in what is supposed to be closet space, the "family room" leaves much to be desired.
The pool area is nice to hang around (the pools are 12 meters long and wuite busy, not much swimming possible), but they close at 20:00 which leaves one with an overly long evening in summer (sunset is at 22:00).
The breakfast buffet is ok, but no more than that. The dinner buffet is modestly priced (9 euros), but is not worth much more.
Rooms are fairly clean, but require an urgent make over (it would appear the hotel has not been renovated in many years).
All in all, if you're spending a night or two, it's ok. If you're looking for a base for a longer period in the Pyrenees, try Gavarnie ir Luz-St.Saveur.
And if anyone can explain how "8 a huite" (8 to 8) means 8:30-12:30 and 16:30-19:30, I'd be happy to know

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mikizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oslo, Norway
331
Reviewed 21 July 2005

We had planned a stay over for two nights in Cauterets to go hiking in the Pyrenees, but decided to skip it entirely when we saw the place, and in particular the Hotel Aladin! Maybe the bad weather didn't help, but Cauterets came across as a run-down, completely charmeless mountain village, which might have seen better days in the seventies, but certainly had lost all its appeal since. The same applies for the Hotel Aladin, which was a rather depressing venue, which certainly hasn't seen any kind of makeover since a not very gifted architect designed it in a combination of orange (carpets) and grey (furniture in the rooms). The hotel has three stars, and advertises as a spa - but you really don't want to spend about 120 Euros a night for this place.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank laurine2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cauterets hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Lys
Hotel Residence Le Lys
#4 of 8 in Cauterets
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asterides Sacca Hotel
Asterides Sacca Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cauterets
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Edelweiss
Hotel Les Edelweiss
#3 of 8 in Cauterets
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Hotel du Lion d'Or
#1 of 8 in Cauterets
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
#6 of 8 in Cauterets
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Bois Joli
Le Bois Joli
#5 of 8 in Cauterets
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin

Address: 11 Av. Gal Leclerc, 65110 Cauterets, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Cauterets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cauterets
Price Range: £53 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ski Planet, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Aladin
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin Cauterets, Midi-Pyrenees, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing