We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain lake”
Review of Lac de Gaube

Lac de Gaube
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Cauterets
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain lake”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We took the chair lift up (for my part with sweaty palms and sometimes closed eyes because I'm afraid of heights) and then hiked towards Lac Gaube. There is a restaurant at the lake and people picnic there. The walk to the lake from the chair lift is great, but there are quite a lot of people there compared to some other places nearby.

On the far side of the lake there is a trail going between two peaks. We didn't take the trail but I expect that it is marvelous.

If you want a more secluded lake I can recommend taking the cabin lift and chair lift up from Cauterets and walking to Lac d'Ilhéou.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esmwoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    116
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Easy hike up to beautiful, clear blue waters. We were there in October so it was not crowded. I imagine it would feel different in the summer

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshaKRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
210 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“great lake”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

we arrive to the car cable at 0830 and had to wait till 0945 to the opening the cable car station! the duration of the cable car is about 10minutes and the walking to the lake is 15 minutes.the view ofthe lake is fantastic with great relaction of the mountain on the water.you can make around trip by foot around the lake for 30min.there is a resturant that you can take the breake. lots of big stones that you can take the spot point for pictures.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viella, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guest day trip”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We took the chair lift and then thecable car to the top and walked round the lake. The views were breathtaking, and there was still snow on the mountains while we basked in glorious sun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pristine lake, beautiful walk”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We caught the telecabine then chair lift then walked an easy flat 15 minutes to save doing the 1 hour uphill walk to arrive at the beautiful green tinged Lac de Gaube surrounded by mountain peaks. Incredible. We decided to return by foot, down a rocky path, that was slow going in parts and a little slippery, arriving at Pont D'Espagne over the clear torrents of cascading water. All up about 3.5 hours return for an incredible experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lac de Gaube also viewed

Cauterets, Hautes-Pyrenees
Cauterets, Hautes-Pyrenees
 
Gavarnie, Hautes-Pyrenees
 

Been to Lac de Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing