We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem - Highy Recommended”
Review of Hotel du Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cauterets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This charming hotel has everything you want as a traveller - a warm and friendly welcome, a delightfully comfortable room, clean, and individually decorated. Then there is the excellent food and wine, and good service in the restaurant. In addition it is right in the middle of Cauterets which is a wonderful little town with the amazing Pont D'Espagne just a few kilometres up the road. We loved it and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemontart50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife, Teenage son and I stayed in Hotel du Lion d'Or for 3 nights as part of our 2 week summer holiday exploring the Pyrenees and Rosuillion area. Cauterets is a charming, picturesque town perfectly positioned for exploring and hiking in the beautiful surrounding mountain's. The hotel has a great central location, just a short walk away from the bars and restaurants. However, despite being in the peak of holiday season, it remained a tranquil area to be based. There is a very convenient free public car parking on the street behind the hotel and although it could be slightly challenging to find a free space it was never too long before one became available.

Hotel du Lion d'Or is a family run hotel and we received a very warm welcome and overall the service was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated, has a very traditional feel but is also quirky and full of character with lots of interesting antiques in the rooms and corridors and a great attention to detail. The room was very large, comfortable, clean with a separate section for our son. The bathroom was modern, although slightly cramped. It’s a very old building and because of this you do get the odd creak and pipe noise but nothing to speak of.

Our room faced the courtyard which is, again, typical of the hotel being very well laid out with antiques and curio’s and 2 of the fastest resident tortoises I’ve ever seen!

Hotel du Lion d'Or is a wonderful, traditional, quirky hotel and a perfect base to explore the area. I believe the hotel has been run run by the same family since 1913 and I’m sure this has been a huge factor in its homely, extremely warm and friendly nature.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here six nights with half-board and didn't want to leave. The hotel is over 100 years old, lovingly and beautifully maintained. It even has had an elevator installed. Although decorated with antiques, the bathrooms are very modern. The family that owns and runs the hotel are very gracious -- you feel so welcome and well taken care of. This is a great home base for all the wonderful day hikes nearby. The food was very good and plentiful -- delicious homemade jams, fresh squeezed orange juice, hot chocolate to die for, salmon, duck, and more. The bed was comfortable and with the cool nights air conditioning wasn't needed. The town is lovely. The hotel is right in the center of town -- easy access to a couple of grocery stores, a laudromat across the street, etc. There is free parking behind the hotel and a lovely garden/patio. It is an easy and beautiful drive from here to the valleys west of Cauterets. We will always have very fond memories of our time in the Pyrenees due in part to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely family run hotel - perfectly situated in the quaint ski town of Cauterets. Time seems to have stood still in this hotel - decor wise, yet with modern amenities - such as the power shower in our room, which faced the street and had a lovely Juliet balcony. The room was quiet with a VERY comfortable bed and the linen had the most wonderful scent. The entire hotel was spotless and you know this family are very proud of their business. Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise, offering a good variety (by France standards - as in there was more then just bread and confiture). We also ate dinner at the hotel restaurant on our last evening, and it was very good. If we ever happen to visit Cauterets again - we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a really lovely traditional french hotel, family run and steeped in history. It's a great location in the centre of town with plenty of parking about the road where the hotel is actually on. We were given a spacious room with lots of character...The dinner was lovely and 5 courses with some lovely Rose too...The breakfast was also plentiful and all fresh with homemade breads and jams. Definitely recommend to stay if you are ever in Cauterets, opposite the lovely spa Les Bains du Rocher too...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great family run hotel, really generous host who made us feel very welcome and fed us very well! Right in the centre of the town but it's still a quiet and calm place. We had a big family room which had loads of space for parents and small child.

The town was managing very well despite the floods earlier in the year although there were some delays and road closures that stopped us moving around the area as we had hoped (but there's no other way to get the work done). Beautiful town and impressive region, loads to see and do within reasonable driving distances.

The personal welcome and attentive hostess was the really memorable thing here, very homely indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgiansb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The night before we arrived in Cauterets we made a short list of Hotels in the town and surrounding towns which we thought may be good. When we arrived we decided to try the Hotel du Lion D'Or. We were shown three rooms at varying prices and chose the second room which was the middle price. It faced the street ,was large and very pretty. After walking around this lovely town we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We had the Menu de Jour. The food was wonderful. We stayed two nights. The staff were excellent.

Room Tip: This hotel offered to show us the three different priced rooms and let us choose our room. If unsure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iralba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cauterets hotels
0.2 mi away
Asterides Sacca Hotel
Asterides Sacca Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cauterets
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Lys
Hotel Residence Le Lys
#4 of 8 in Cauterets
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Bois Joli
Le Bois Joli
#5 of 8 in Cauterets
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Edelweiss
Hotel Les Edelweiss
#3 of 8 in Cauterets
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
#6 of 8 in Cauterets
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lion d'Or

Address: 12 rue Richelieu, 65110 Cauterets, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Cauterets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cauterets
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with plenty of character, built in 19th century. The Lasserre family has been receiving guests for 4 generations and look forward to welcoming you. The carefully chosen decor adds a sense of romance to the atmosphere. The hotel has been completely refurbished and, although it has all modern comforts, its traditional charm and warmth have been preserved. Nearby: hiking/skiing in the Parc National des Pyrénées, Lourdes , Gavarnie, col du Tourmalet... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lion D'Or Cauterets, Midi-Pyrenees, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing