We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Somewhere in Time"”
Review of Liselund Ny Slot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Liselund Ny Slot
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Borre
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in Liselund Slot Ny for one night last week and it was magical. The manor house/ "castle" would be better called a bed & breakfast than a hotel. It's the type of place for people looking to step into a different, more genteel place and time than a homogenized box of a room from an international hotel chain.

Closely integrated into the grounds of a national park, Liselund opens onto a lush lawn leading into well groomed paths that meander through beautiful woods, finishing at the Baltic's beaches below. The white cliffs of Møns Klint is a nice hike nearby.

The manor home itself has been nicely restored and updated, with an emphasis on preserving the best of the castle's historic past while nicely updating the rooms to a comfortable modernity.

As a sole proprietorship, Liselund's owner was responsive, friendly, and personable and we enjoyed several nice chats. Since this is not a chain hotel, there are no corporately-mandated fake smiles; I imagine that the owner will be friendly to those that are friendly - that was certainly our experience. To others, perhaps you reap what you sow.

I have read the other reviews criticizing the food and it sounds like they went to a completely different place. The food we had was wonderful. The cook, Inga, made incredible fresh bread each day (you have to have the lingonberry/rhubarb jam).

Again, this is not the type of bed & breakfast for someone looking for a standardized, blancmange stay. Rather, it's a wonderful place for a simple, quiet respite from a busy world. I hope it won't be long before my wife and I return!

Make sure to contact the owner in advance to make reservations and to set an arrival time.

Room Tip: We looked at several suites and all were wonderful. Suites on the upper floors require ascending sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobeSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our visit was out of season, but the staff, food and service was wonderful. We loved the fact that that there were no TV's in the rooms and that the general feel was anachronistic. Granted the bathrooms are tiny and impractical, and there almost isn't any cupboard space, but what is to be expected of a historical building? The environment is breathtaking and the views from nearly every room charming and idyllic. I think the quality of the visit is determined by expectations - so obviously for those who want a typical modern hotel experience this context will not be appreciated- but for those who want a rural, "old world" feel (albeit with modern jarring bits), its just the place. Obviously its expensive but we feel its worth it for the atmosphere, location, and excellent food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Well, no wonder the price is so high, I don't think anyone ever wants to come back!

When we reached the hotel no one was even there, we had to call someone and it took them 10 mins to get to us. It was a rather unpleasant welcome, we did not get shown to our room so had to find it ourselves. Our room was dirty, with lots of mosquitos. The bathroom was small and had no soap. Breakfast was terrible as we didn't get given a choice, it was just given to us and definately didn't look freshly made. It was something you would have expected for a much cheaper hotel- I think the description and reputation of the hotel were very deceiving. I would definately recommend a different place to stay if you are going to visit this area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank angel_libra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Owner at Liselund Ny Slot, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Angel_Libra,

We are terrible sorry to hear about your bad experience at Liselund Ny Slot which stands in stark contrast to all our everyday enforced values, goals and ambitions.

We only wish that you had made us aware about these problems during your stay - we would have gone out of our way to solve this. We also welcome you to contact us now so that we can talk about how we can welcome you back to Liselund Ny Slot and give you and your family the wonderful experience that you deserve.

Kind regards,
Krista Steffensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Maybe a nice place but the hotel is already a disaster! Ugly rooms, bathrooms, small and neglected. Food just awful. Terribly expensive. I do not recommend and advise against.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Went on our wedding day to have lunch. The place is very romantic location wise. However the food is terribly basic and poor quality. The beer was not cold and the menus done in cheep plastic rappings. Only go there for the nice walk in the romantic park.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoVinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked this for two nights, taken in by the pictures and the promise of perfection. However, it was NOT perfect - just hugely overpriced and disappointing. The grounds are nice, but do not make up for it.

We stayed in a "suite", which consists of 2 adjoining rooms. The bedroom was nice, but the beds are two narrow single beds pushed together - not great. And the "living" room had 2 sofas but nothing else, so lots of room for suitcases, but no feeling of "home" here. Not even a hook or coat hanger to be seen, and certainly no TV, just a window where the rain leaked in.

The bathroom was small, with a shower behind a curtain, and no bath. Two small, thin towels were just about adequate, but certainly not luxurious. No prizes there either.

No lift, nor anyone to help with luggage; staff just looked while I struggled It is a long way up all those stairs with a heavy suitcase.

The internet/wifi did indeed work most of the time, but only in the common area - not the room.

Staff was friendly but from Poland - they tried their best, but spoke little except Polish. Not Danish, or German, or English, or French. Very frustrating to try to order anything or ask for anything at all.

Dinner was sold as a 700DKK/person all-inclusive gourmet event, and was anything but. Poorly cooked potatoes and dry chicken accompanied by wine from 2010 - acidic and just too young to drink. No wonder it was "all you can drink" :-(

The inclusive breakfast was also very basic. No pastries, and just one boring type of bread - no crusty rolls, no interesting jams, no hams. Just standard juice from concentrate, some scrambled eggs, some muesli, some rolls, and some cheese. Considering how great a Danish Breakfast can be, this was terrible.

In summary, stay anywhere else, just not here. There are lots of lovely B&Bs where the hosts try their best to make you feel at home - the opposite of Liselund Slot, where it feels like the owner is trying to run it on a shoestring to make more profit - not a good feeling for an expensive hotel :-(

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, even though the pictures look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amertner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I spent one night at this B&B to relax and visit the Mons Kllint. The owner (Krista) had leased the business to somone else who ran it poorly (you may see some bad reviews). She told me that it took a long time to clean and repair, but when I arrived it was spotless and looked like new.
The service was great, food was excellent, and people were very friendly. It is in a beautliful rural location among fields and stone walls with only a short drive to the visitor center and 948 steps down to the white cliffs.
The nearby town of Stege is picturesque. I found an excellent steak restaurant. The drive from CPH airport takes less than two hours on scenic highways. It's well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CellDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borre
6.8 mi away
Hotel Praestekilde
Hotel Praestekilde
#1 of 5 in Stege
57 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Residens Moeen
Hotel Residens Moeen
#2 of 5 in Stege
54 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Elmehoj
Hotel Elmehoj
#4 of 5 in Stege
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stege Nor
Stege Nor
#3 of 5 in Stege
33 reviews
8.6 mi away
StaySail
StaySail
#1 of 15 in Stege
54 reviews
1.9 mi away
Klintholm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liselund Ny Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liselund Ny Slot

Address: Langebjergvej 6, Borre, Moen 4791, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > South Zealand > Vordingborg Municipality > Moen > Borre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Borre
Price Range: £121 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liselund Ny Slot 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Liselund Ny Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing