We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste any more time thinking about it - BOOK NOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa De Mazamet
Ranked #1 of 11 Mazamet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

tripadvisor needs to review their rating system. Five "stars" is simply not enough to describe La Villa. How we wish we could package up Mark and Peter, and open a chain of La Villas - we would be worth a fortune! But that's the point. No-one can, because these guys are unique. Everything that is said about La Villa is true - and more. So don't even bother to look elsewhere. Just book, and relax, in the absolute certainty that everything will be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Ronnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

This a wonderful place to stay. Mark and Peter were exceptional hosts with their attention to detail second to none. The food was fantastic and very good value, we will be returning! It was so lovely to stay in a place much loved by everyone who passed through their doors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caileannbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

What else can be said after all those top notch reviews (all very true!)? :-)

We LOVED
* the house itself with cosy corners to sit or read, very elegant dining/breakfast room, the DVD lounge,...
* our Deluxe Suite with the marvellous boxspring beds, beautiful sheets, fantastic bathroom (never used a bigger bath) with nice L'Occitane toiletries, Nespresso, nice view on the Montagne Noire,...
* the pool/garden to read, take a nap, just relax, have a drink : always so quiet and peaceful
* the food : fresh and lovely breakfast (great bread, homemade cookies/cakes/muffins, lots of tasteful fruits, good coffee/tea/juice,...), superb dinners (best risotto I ever had), very nice wine choice
* the area : lots to see and to do : Albi, Carcassonne, Minerve, Le lac des Montagnes, Castres,... Great sunflower fields!
* The La Villa Daytours : great maps/routes to explore the area
* Mazamet itself : nice little town to take a walk, friendly people, great lunch at "Le Salon de Thé Les saveurs d'autan", nice "Marché des Producteurs" on Monday
* the other guests from all around the world

But most of all :
Mark & Peter! It's amazing how these guys run this B&B : they found a great balance between hospitality, helpfulness and giving their guests the privacy they might need. It was our first B&B experience and we didn't know exactly what to expect, but it was a 200% positive experience!!
We loved Peter's cooking skills, Mark's great wine advice and service during meals, the movie advice ;-), the chats we had, the time they always made when we were getting back after a trip, the way they made us feel pampered,... We've been to several 5* hotels before, but they can never give you the personal attention/service you get at La Villa de Mazamet.

So : we just HAVE to go back, you won't find a better place to stay, I'm sure!! Don't know if we'll can wait till next Summer ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We cannot fault Villa de Mazamet at all. The house is beautiful, straight off the pages of Elle Deco but qt the same time homely. However, what truly makes this place wonderful is Mark and Peter. They are fantastic hosts....warm, welcoming, helpful and just utterly lovely. Food was divine, very reasonably priced and definitely recommended. Our teenage son raved about both the breakfast and evening meals and quite frankly as parents we are hiding our heads in shame that we can't replicate it!
A previous reviewer stated that Mark and Peter must have thought of all the "what if? " scenarios.... I agree.... They both bent over backwards to ensure our stay was perfect......and do you know what........it was! Thank you Peter and Mark, we wish you very success and we will be back.


On the scoring I refuse to mark down due to lack of fitness centre..... Don you trainers and run around the lovely town :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe balcony rooms.....beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Absolutely stunning building! The owners have tastefully decorated and furnished the villa to a very high standard. So comfortable and luxurious! Mark is welcoming and helpful and carries out his duties front of house efficiently and professionally. Peter slaves away in the kitchen to produce a very high standard of food and always makes time during the meal to pop out to speak to guests and find out if they are enjoying dinner. Together they make a very good team and work extremely hard to make sure that everything about your stay in the villa is perfect. We loved relaxing in the garden with other guests while enjoying a Gin & Tonic before dinner! We also loved the breakfasts each morning as they set us up nicely for the day of sightseeing ahead! Loved this place!

Room Tip: The rooms are all gorgeous but we stayed in room 6 and it had a huge bathroom with 2 sinks, great sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naepockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The only mistake we made about La Villa de Mazamet was staying only two nights! All of the reviews are accurate and it is indeed very difficult to come up with any different or original superlatives to describe this wonderful place. It is beautiful, immaculate, and serene. Mark and Peter must have brainstormed for years with "what ifs" to make sure every possible request or expectation could be met before opening this truly first class manor home. Mazamet’s website (and their pre-arrival communication with guests) is the most thorough of any establishment at which we've stayed in Europe. Your only question when you arrive should be "What are you serving for dinner tonight?" Before dinner, and weather permitting, guests are served their favorite beverage outside. If you like wine, ask for one of their local selections. While we were enjoying wine in the gazebo, I was thinking of how soon we could come back for a longer stay!

We are not novices to wine generally, or to French wine in particular. Mark and Peter have put together the kind of wine list that we love. Most of the wines are locally sourced, the selections are well researched, very reasonably priced, and both gentlemen are very familiar with each producer. It is a place where you can feel comfortable asking them to select a wine to be served with dinner and know that you are in for a treat. Dinner was truly amazing! It was presented beautifully and was delicious.

These two can turn on a dime and are gracious to boot. They are generous with their time and attention. Mark suggested a day trip to Saint Chinian about 45 minutes away where there is an outdoor market on certain days. The scenery in and around Saint Chinian, especially the surrounding vineyards, is beautiful, and the wines from Saint Chinian are exceptional. Unfortunately, you rarely see wines from the Saint Chinian appellation imported to the US.

Mark and Peter do it all (or almost all) running the manor home and they seem to orchestrate every task with the moves of a symphony conductor. Bravo and merci beaucoup for an extraordinary stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you're planning a visit to the Languedoc-Rousillon region of France, guys- this is the place! That is, of course, assuming you like this sort of thing: a small, elegant historic inn with all the modern conveniences, swimming-pool, etc. The thing that really makes it though, is the 2 fellows who own and run it, Mark & Peter. The way that they look after their guests' comfort is quite special, always allowing you your privacy while at the same time making sure that you have everything that you want or need. Like the extra towels and the "honesty-bar" at the pool. (There's a little fridge there with a notebook on top. You want a drink? Just sign for it in the little book. There's nobody bothering you.) Now, the food: Peter is this totally amazing chef. He introduced us to the 4-course dinner, of which the 3rd course (for you non-sophisticates) is, naturally, cheese. Joanne & I have tried to bring this habit home with us, although it's sometimes hard to duplicate when your local supermarket offers, basically, American cheese, "yellow or white!" Still, we are endeavoring to follow Peter's example. I've downloaded from their web-site the recipe for his fabulous "Lamb Tagine," and will attempt it myself if I'm feeling brave. What else? Oh- they'll tell you about cool historical places to visit every day (Carcasonne, etc.) and about good places to take your morning exercise (the pretty Lac du Montagne) and keep you abreast of the local Mazamet goings-on (concerts in the park, town fetes, etc.) Lastly, the other folks staying at this inn seem, in my experience, to be a very friendly lot. Many from Britain, Scotland, Australia, etc. so we were able to break-out our High School French gradually, and could speak English "at home." Run, don't walk!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazamet
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mets et Plaisirs
Hotel Mets et Plaisirs
#1 of 2 in Mazamet
17 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pavillon du Chateau de Garrevaques
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Mazamet
Les Jardins de Mazamet
#2 of 11 in Mazamet
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 53 in Carcassonne
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheval Blanc
Cheval Blanc
#4 of 11 in Mazamet
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison de l'Arnette
La Maison de l'Arnette
#6 of 11 in Mazamet
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa De Mazamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa De Mazamet

Address: 4 rue Pasteur, 81200 Mazamet, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Mazamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mazamet
Price Range: £106 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa de Mazamet is a stunning 1930’s property located in the Tarn department of SW France providing the highest quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Overlooking the Montagne Noire (Black Mountains), La Villa provides five sumptuous guest rooms all with ensuite facilities and amenities normally only found in high standard hotels. Other guest facilities include a table d'hôtes restaurant, TV lounge, small library, private walled garden with swimming pool and sun terrace. Le Petit Spa at La Villa provides a sauna, jacuzzi and a choice of massages. Mazamet provides an idea base from which to explore the region with two UNESCO World Heritage Sites (Carcassonne and Albi) just 45 mins away. Cycling, wine tasting, mountain lakes, walking, markets, the Canal du Midi, medieval villages and a host of other sites & activities are within one hour of La Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Villa De Mazamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa De Mazamet Hotel Mazamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing