We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless relaxation - better than perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa De Mazamet
Ranked #1 of 10 Mazamet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
devon UK
2 reviews
“Faultless relaxation - better than perfect”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It was a second visit to the Villa in May and a special one for us. A birthday and wedding anniversary meant it had to be a week. Oh joy !!! After our first visit in 2013, a return was a definite decision. As always Peter and Mark welcomed us on arrival. How is it these guys get it so right?

Our suite, the food, the service, the atmosphere, facilities and details are all so complete, luxurious and make you want to relax, which is why we decided to stay here. For the specials Peter and Mark arranged flowers, a cake and a wonderful day for us. It was no trouble for them to fix a canal cruise.

The rooms are spacious and very fully equipped with Massimo coffee machines, fruit, finest linen, sink on to beds...... And then there are lounges to use for reading, the pool to relax by and of course drinks before dinner. The garden is splendid, private and quiet. There is nothing else needed for a fabulous time.

Just a 5 minute walk away is Mazamet a fantastic town, full of enjoyment with character coffee shops, plenty of quality shopping (use the Villa card for discount as well) restaurants if needed, markets, music in the park and plenty of other interesting places to visit and see.

Privately we feel its our secret. But then it should be on everybody's visit list. Close to airports, trains etc its easy to get to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, spacious and wonderfully equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chagford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
481
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Shangri-La has become synonymous with any earthly paradise, and particularly a mythical utopia — a permanently happy land, isolated from the outside world.........and so you have found Mark & Peter's La Villa de Mazamet.
"The group of eight from Canada" spent five wonderful days in this five diamond B&B.....We thoroughly enjoyed the pampering and total attention to detail from our delightful hosts.
The dining experience has no comparison.....do enjoy lunch in the local towns but do not miss Peter's exquisite evening meals!

Room Tip: First floor facing the noir mountains is amazing in views and beautiful breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's difficult to add to the superlatives that La Villa De Mazamet has already attracted on TripAdvisor. What Mark and Peter have done is to create a wonderfully relaxed and friendly environment that combines the highest standard of hospitality with excellent food that's easily the match for many a restaurant. Mark's extensive experience of working in hotels in the UK shines through and through. It's not easy to combine the skills of front of house, concierge and sommelier but he does it all effortlessly. He's also a very personable guy who knows exactly how to interact with guests to make them feel at ease. The nearest comparison I can think of is the best sort of guest house in the Western Cape, although I'd say La Villa De Mazamet beats them all. Congratulations all around!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This is simply one of the best places we have stayed! Superb service in every way possible. Fantastic food and atmosphere as well as excellent advice for things to do and see. The rooms are spacious, the pool great and the garden very beautifull. We will definitively be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at La Villa De Mazamet in June this year as part of a 2 week stay in France and 3 weeks elsewhere in Europe. It was recommended by friends of friends after they had an exceptional stay there last year.
Peter and Mark are the best possible hosts. They are superbly organised, polite, kind, well informed and they must have the proudest parents and families possible.
As an older couple we didn't need to ask for luggage assistance or any other help as it was always offered. As we were driving from Villereal, a few hours away, Peter very kindly planned the most scenic route which also kept us out of the busiest towns as we had just collected a hire car and haven't driven on the right for some time. His guidance was so clear and greatly appreciated. We enjoyed all of the meals Peter prepared and also the conversations with other guests from around the world while dining. It was a very friendly, happy atmosphere. A lovely couple from Belgium even woke early to join us for breakfast on our final day, and another visiting couple from Britain came to our car to farewell us before we drove away.
Mark's calm, happy manner keeps everything flowing in reception and the dining room. What a team they make in running this luxury B & B.
We had a beautiful top floor room with views to the mountains. It was spacious and so comfortable, beautifully decorated and every attention to detail. Our bath was the most comfortable I'd ever used.
If it didn't take a day and a half to reach Mazamet from our home in Australia we would be very regular visitors. Hopefully we will be able to return another year as it was a very special part of our holiday.
Thank you Mark and Peter for all of your day trip information, it was fantastic.
We are sure you will continue to have every success and we hope to meet again. Come to Australia again!!!!
Kindest regards
Margaret and Bruce

Room Tip: Top floor facing mountains fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy1Act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Peter and Mark run the only 5 star B&B I know of. It is like staying at a high end hotel with the best concierge you could imagine. The place is lovely, the meals are outstanding and their care and attention to detail is mind-blowing - they sat us down with a chilled glass of rose when we got there and unloaded our luggage.

There are many other reviews that will fill you in on the place itself - I would like to focus a bit on the area, which Peter and Mark chose very carefully. To say it is undiscovered is perhaps an exaggeration, but it is certainly overlooked in many guides of France, which is truly a shame. On one side of the Black Mountains are gorgeous rolling hills full of sunflowers and wheat - on the other is Carcassone and Minerve and rock outcrops and Mediterranean vegetation. Mazamet, Hautpoul and Labruguiere are three towns that beg to wandered and explored, especially on market days, and they are all minutes away. They also have detailed day trip agendas that cover much of the area.

We had a wonderful stay and couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: On the first floor (2nd to North Americans) the two front rooms have Juliet balconies that overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely personal and friendly owners who were always up for a chat, and have great local knowledge.

Other hotel/B&B owners in the region (well, 50 miles away) had heard of this place and it's overwhelmingly positive reputation.

The food and wine were outstanding - creative with local ingredients.

There is nothing in this place that is not done excellently, and there's not a single negative point I have to say about this place or its owners.

Amit

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Changdazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazamet
24.6 mi away
Cuq en Terrasses
Cuq en Terrasses
#1 of 1 in Cuq Toulza
294 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
439 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pavillon du Chateau de Garrevaques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#5 of 11 in Castres
110 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
212 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa De Mazamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa De Mazamet

Property: La Villa De Mazamet
Address: 4 rue Pasteur, 81200 Mazamet, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Mazamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mazamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa de Mazamet is a stunning 1930’s property located in the Tarn department of SW France providing the highest quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Overlooking the Montagne Noire (Black Mountains), La Villa provides five sumptuous guest rooms all with ensuite facilities and amenities normally only found in high standard hotels. Other guest facilities include a table d'hôtes restaurant, TV lounge, small library, private walled garden with swimming pool and sun terrace. Le Petit Spa at La Villa provides a sauna, jacuzzi and a choice of massages. Mazamet provides an idea base from which to explore the region with two UNESCO World Heritage Sites (Carcassonne and Albi) just 45 mins away. Cycling, wine tasting, mountain lakes, walking, markets, the Canal du Midi, medieval villages and a host of other sites & activities are within one hour of La Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your La Villa De Mazamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa De Mazamet Hotel Mazamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing