We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning building with stunning service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa De Mazamet
Ranked #1 of 10 Mazamet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A stunning building with stunning service”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2010. We were met with a warm welcome by Peter and offered a welcome drink and lots of useful information about the local area. The villa itself is beautiful inside, high ceilings, huge windows and a beautifully furnished. The rooms were amazing too, we stayed in a deluxe room - it was incredibly spacious. The beds were comfortable, there was free wifi, a DVD player (with a HUGE selection of DVD's) and a bose iPOD dock. The bathroom was the highlight though! It was big enough to fit 4 of my own bathrooms in! The bath was freestanding and very deep, twin sinks, a walk in shower, lots of linen and lots of L'Occitane toiletries.

We had dinner one night, which did not disappoint. It was no cheaper than going to a nice restaurant - but the quality was probably superior, we had a goats cheese starter, a fantastic beef bourginion, lots of wine and an amazing dessert, all locally produced and it tasted wonderful. Breakfast was very good, consisting of lots of bread, cheeses, fruit, cereals, yogurt etc. All top quality and very tasty.

The weather was not great so we did not get to use the pool, however we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly come back. We felt welcome, nothing was too much trouble and everything was geared towards a relaxing, comfortable stay. Thank you Villa de Mazamet!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKHandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
481
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday in the South of France, having never been to the area before we decided to stay at the Villa De Mazamet after reading the reviews. All I can say is that they are so right! Mazamet itself is fairly centrally located for viewing Carcassonne, Narbonne and the South West and although it is not the prettiest of French Towns in the South West of France it had very good amenities and some very nice restaurants such as The Grand Balcon and Le Scala. We were unlucky with getting some very unsettled weather for the first part of our holiday however, our hosts were perfect, providing guidance on what we could do, with a little planning we managed to find something to do every day. As stated before if people make a place, then Mazamet has made it having Peter and Mark invested in their hotel in the town, they are great hosts and remind me of what great hospitality is all about. The hotel is immaculate, our room was lovely, the views excellent. Peter is a wonderful cook, and his desserts are to die for.... There are some beautiful towns to visit within 60 kms, I would highly recommend doing the Circuit De Tarn, our favorite by far, was doing the circuit which included Cordes Sur Ciel, Penne,and you must stop at Lautrec if you want to experience a truly authentic medieval village. We also visited Carcassonne and Narbonne, I think Narbonne is underrated in the guides for France, it is a pretty town, with a very good musuem on roman archaeology with some great exhibits.

Once again, Peter and Mark are perfect hosts, and my husband and I definitely came away believing we had stayed with friends for the last 10 days and wish them every success it is well deserved!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Paul-Lincolnshire
9 of us from our village wine-tasting society made our own way through France and met up at LVDM for 2 days of relaxation and a wine-tasting evening. We were all bowled over by the beautiful rooms and the attention to details. Our meal on the first night was excellent and got us off to a good start. On the second night Mark had assembled 10 wines and 15 cheeses for us to sample and had spent a lot of time compiling a quiz for us. The evening was a huge success and exceeded our expectations. Throughout our stay we were looked after superbly by Mark and Peter and we were unanimous in wanting to repeat the experience as soon as we can. We can recommend LVDM without hesitation and anyone with friends who enjoy their wine should follow our lead

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winetaster_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Absolutely wonderful five days in La Villa. Accommodation first rate and comfortable, unlike our clothes after eating Peter’s gourmet cooking. Total celebration of all the senses, a dream you did not want to end. Mark & Peter totally outshine any five star hotel, and I have worked in a couple of them, by their consistent attention to detail and their superb personalised service. Definitely will be back.

Tytti Elisabeth & Arja from Finland

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyttiElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We went with the intention of relaxing for the whole week and that is what we did. Peter and Mark were brilliant hosts and made you most welcome. The Villa is superb, well equipped and furnished to a high standard throughout. Peter is a talented chef and we dined in every night, so experienced his full repertoire of meals which were seasonal, tasty and well presented. There was also an excellent selection of quality local wines at reasonable prices.Mark and Peter work really hard to make you feel at home and are always willing to take time to chat and advise you on trips in their local area.
We had a great time and will hopefully be back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We spent 2 delightful nights at Villa Mazamet. Peter and Mark were wonderful hosts - extremely friendly, helpful and professional in their approach. The Villa is beautifully appointed - large, stylish rooms with large en suite bathrooms. There are 2 communal rooms on the ground floor for reading, board games (and pre-dinner drinks). Breakfast was simple but very well executed. Dinner was a real highlight. Peter cooked wonderful 4-course meals on both nights, using locally sourced ingredients, accompanied by delicious wine (NB the Domaine Begude rose). We didn't use the Spa (although my wife did enjoy an excellent massage during our stay) but Peter gave me a quick tour on the morning we left and it looks like a lovely place to relax. Mazamamet is an excellent place to explore the surrounding area with Carcassonne, Albi, Toulouse and Beziers all within an hour's drive. Overall, I think, we loved the approach: slick service that you would expect a top-end hotel delivered in a relaxed and friendly way that makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Hosts very friendly and helpful, creating the feeling of staying with old friends. The house and gardens are stylish and luxurious throughout. Plenty of opportunity to explore the historical towns or relax by the pool or even have a massage.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazamet
24.6 mi away
Cuq en Terrasses
Cuq en Terrasses
#1 of 1 in Cuq Toulza
291 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
438 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pavillon du Chateau de Garrevaques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
208 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#5 of 11 in Castres
109 reviews
21.2 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa De Mazamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa De Mazamet

Property: La Villa De Mazamet
Address: 4 rue Pasteur, 81200 Mazamet, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Mazamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mazamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa de Mazamet is a stunning 1930’s property located in the Tarn department of SW France providing the highest quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Overlooking the Montagne Noire (Black Mountains), La Villa provides five sumptuous guest rooms all with ensuite facilities and amenities normally only found in high standard hotels. Other guest facilities include a table d'hôtes restaurant, TV lounge, small library, private walled garden with swimming pool and sun terrace. Le Petit Spa at La Villa provides a sauna, jacuzzi and a choice of massages. Mazamet provides an idea base from which to explore the region with two UNESCO World Heritage Sites (Carcassonne and Albi) just 45 mins away. Cycling, wine tasting, mountain lakes, walking, markets, the Canal du Midi, medieval villages and a host of other sites & activities are within one hour of La Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your La Villa De Mazamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa De Mazamet Hotel Mazamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing