We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but large rooms”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Arras
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dated, but large rooms”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here as family of 5 in Oct 2010. As others have mentioned, it is a dated hotel and not the cheapest, but, despite that, we rather liked it. We were given two large interconnecting rooms, with furniture that I would describe as "English bed & breakfast". But it was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Public parking is just across the road and has to be paid for - it could be tricky to find a space when the town is busy. Plenty of restaurants within a ten minute walk, especially on the large town squares, which must be seen.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    53
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
32
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Hotel had large size rooms. Good free WiFi and excellent breakfast for value, which included cereal, yogurt, bread, eggs and various pastries. Good location for visiting Vimy Ridge/Memorial. Hotel located across from the train station, but our room was quiet at night, mind you, had the window closed. Good recommendation from staff for eating out. Paid parking across the street in open air parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel is very well situated opposite the station and with easy to find underground parking almost next door. You can park outside and drop off bags and they give you a pass for the car park. Our large room was splendid, with a lovely bathroom, lots of toiletries and lovely soft towels. the staff are delightful and were very welcoming. The Grand Place is no more than 10 minutes slow walk away. The breakfast is served in a light airy conservatory. We all loved it and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Arras.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristol_Beaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were on our way back to Dunkerque to get the boat back to Blighty and decided to have a one night stay in Arras. The Hotel D'angleterre was available and was in a good location. It was easy to find using our GPS and we were lucky enough to find a parking space right outside the front door. The Hotel overlooks a lovely square opposite the RER station and is not far from the 'hub' of Arras. I had booked two adjacent rooms, one for Mrs. D and I and one for the rugrats. Both rooms were of fantastic proportions with a HUUUUGE queensize bed. The rooms were elegantly furnished, had very large windows overlooking the square, super size bathroom with bath and shower and bidet (do people still use those)?? and a separate toilet...VERY comfortable rooms!!
The staff in reception were very polite and helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to serve us, unlike many french hotel staff we have come across. The only disappointing thing about this hotel was that the restaurant was closed on Sunday night which meant we had to drive through the town in search of nutrition! well.. we drove round and round and finally ended up back at the hotel with a ravenous Mrs. D and rugrats... we then spotted a hotel almost next door with a lovely looking and busy Brasserie and restaurant.. we duly stopped there and ate a lovely meal. I am reviewing this next... We had a good nights sleep, woke early and went to breakfast. The breakfast can only be described as adequate.. and at 9 euros each I think it could have been better. All in all.. a good value hotel in a great location with fantastic accommodation... Nuff said :o)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeferDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Really good quality hotel. Huge room, bed and bathroom considering I booked singles. The bed was soooooo comfy it was the only day of my trip I didn't wake up before my alarm went off. In a great location just 5 minutes walk into Arras centre and opposite the train station. Take the option of reserving a parking space in the underground car park next door for 7 euros. Breakfast was really good and as well as the usual continental breakfast there was eggs, toast, cereals. The staff were a credit to the hotel - very friendly but also professional. Arras is a lovely town that I would like to visit again and would definately stay here next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel last year. We have stayed here a few times before and it has become something of a favourite. We only stay for one or two nights but it always has a welcome from the staff and each room is different. We have never ever had any noise problems (and we are light sleepers). It is spotlessly clean and the huge beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms tend to be spacious and the sort of room you want to spend time in when bathing. There is a sort of older charm about this hotel. Some have criticised it for being outdated which we found hurtful. It is a quality hotel with excellent service and facilities. We fully recommend it and cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sooty1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This hotel is very central and about 100 metres from the train station. It is surrounded by restaurants so the choice is plentiful. The hotel is not one of your modern plastic types but more of a bygone age without being dowdy or depressing. The rooms were large and had all the usual facilities of tea /coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat TV screen etc. Bed was comfortable and quite large, a sort of kingsize-kingsize. If you are a light sleeper then beware as the noise of the early morning trains as they may well disturb you. I personally never heard them but our friends did hear them. The staff were very friendly and helpful and where their english is not great, it didn't exactly cause any problems. The hotel food and service was very good but breakfast was the usual continental type and for €9 wasn't very good value although adequate. Hotel room rate was a bit pricey but this has to be expected when any hotel is located in the town centre. Car parking wasn't a problem as the hotel has a deal with an underground car park franchise which is situated approx 100 metres from the hotel. This will cost you €25 a week. I would stay there again but would try and negotiate the price down a wee bit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: 7 Place du Marechal Foch, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 125

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing