We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Arras
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

My friend and I wanted to stay in Arras as a short-break alternative to Lille and this hotel was ideally located just opposite the SNCF station and literally about 5 minutes' stroll from the town centre. My room was huge with lots of storage space and a good sized bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I was not aware of any noise from other rooms (very unusual). The station, however, might have been a problem without earplugs: goods trains run through the night and are quite loud. The breakfast was fine for 9 euros. Finally, the staff were all really nice, helpful and friendly - particularly the Welshman who gave my friend and I lots of useful tips regarding moving to France from the UK!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SELondoneurostarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    52
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
32
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel is certainly very central within Arras, only a few moments walk across from the mainline station. However, although there is a small public car park in the square the main car parking is a few more minutes walk away and stopping outside the hotel to unload/load it not easy on a busy one-way thoroughfare. Clearly this hotel has been excellent in its day but it is now rather tired. Bedroom was large and comfortable - the air conditioning was working well which was a considerable bonus - but the furnishings and fittings were past their best and so didn't look as clean as they might have been ; although replaced daily, towels were small and well worn. There was a mini-bar but no complimentary water and no tea / coffee making facility and I didn't see any sign of room service being available. There was BBC1 on the television and wi-fi access was good. Didn't see a large number of staff, although they were very helpful and spoke better English than we did French. But, at breakfast -which is charged for separately - they were doing several other jobs as well as serving and even then I would query 'service' element ; very much got the impression that what was on the buffet bar was all that was available and by Monday morning that was no longer either fresh nor plentiful. All in all therefore we would have been better to stay in a modern (if soulless) chain hotel and I would advise other travellers to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked into this hotel as it is convenient to travel to thiepval war memorial, which my husband wanted to see,his uncle is remembered there,after losing his life in the first world war.The hotel is situated opposite Aras train station,trains do not disturb your sleep.very smart hotel & large clean room,queen size bed,loo separate from main bathroom which was good,hairdryer etc.No tea or coffee fascilities which seems to be the norm in france.Only one draw back,having smokers amongst us it was annoying having to go up & down 4 floors in the lift & stand in the wind and rain,our fault i know,but thats the drawback of no balcony.
Breakfast was a bit hit & miss the 1st morning,the water for the eggs was hot the second morning,mostly continental,but filling.A descent hotel that provides parking & set in a lovely architectural town,lots of shops & eating places.

Room Tip: if you smoke ask for a lower floor,otherwise no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peacheswolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arras
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Nice position opposite the train station. Our room had a very large bed and was very comfortable. Had the breakfast in the hotel and it was plenty.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were well received and the rooms were large and beds comfortable (I had a group of 8). Breakfast typical French fayre, which means you will have to stop for lunch!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view over to the station, but pick up the morning noise as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com

Helpful?
Thank SgtBilkoWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

stayed at this hotel in March after reading other reviews and was not at all disappointed. Had a very spacious double bedroom overlooking the front of the hotel. Very large king sized bed and very comfy. Friendly staff. Didn't eat breakfast there at 9 euros as there is a huge choice of cafes in Arras at 6.5 euros or less. Loved a little cafe on the grand place. Used the little bar/cafe 2 doors down from the hotel for drinks as it so lovely and warm whilst there, very firiendly and spoke good english. Would def stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: large rooms at the front, dont worry about the train station opposite - can't hear trains in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I very nearly cancelled this booking the closer it got to getting to Arras on our recent holiday in northern France. I'd decided the close proximity to the station was going to make it very noisy - I couldn't have been more wrong. We had a wonderful large room on the fourth floor and, with the window shut, there was absolutely no noise from the street. The bathroom was large and clean and the separate toilet was a luxury we've never experienced in any other hotel in all our years of travel!! The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was also very easy to find if travelling by car, with plenty of space to park and offload bags right outside, then underground parking a very short distance away.

The only drawback, and I hesitate to mention it because I don't want to deter people from staying here, was the restaurant. One night we were simply too tired to go walking to find somewhere to eat so ate at the hotel. We were the only ones there so had the undivided attention of the lovely barman Teesh (sp?) who couldn't have been more friendly. However, the food was average to dreadful! Teesh was so lovely we lied and said it was great! Maybe because we were the only ones there the chef didn't bother putting the effort in or maybe he's just not that good! Teesh did say there are two chefs so we must have drawn the short straw and got the not so good one!

Don't let this put you off staying there - there are plenty of restaurants all around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: 7 Place du Marechal Foch, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing