We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice French feel to it”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Had a nice French feel to it”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be adequate for our needs. The room was clean and spacious and the large bed was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was fine, although there wasn't a huge choice, and the staff were very helpful. There is not a car park attached to the hotel so you have to park your car in a nearby underground car park at a reduced rate of 8 Euros per day. The hotel had a nice French feel to it and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    53
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
32
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We thought this was a very French hotel and much more interesting than one in an international chain. We upgraded from the standard room and our room was large with an enormous bed. One odd feature was the bathroom. The bathroom itself was lovely and big with an excellent shower and bath. The loo was separate and the toilet was up a flight of 7 stairs (in the "loo room" itself)! It was so quirky we took a photo. Everything seemed very clean. The breakfast was French: hams, cheeses, yogurts, fruit, pastries etc which we found very good. It did not matter that it was not "full English" style - this was France. The staff were lovely and friendly. Although it was in the centre of town near the railway station it was not noisy. It was very convenient for the excellent restaurants in the town. The hotel provides a card for parking in an underground carpark nearby, with a cost per day.

Room Tip: Don't have room 19 if you don't want stairs to the loo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had booked this hotel then my wife saw some poor ratings which put us off. As it had been recommended by friends we chose to ignore them and we were right to. Great central location, no noise despite being close to station, comfortable and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a family room on the fourth floor facing the square and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neiljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel, built by the British in the late 1920s and carrying George V’s cipher on the walls, is situated along with other hotels, near the railway station in Arras and a close walk from the old squares and restaurants of the town. Surprisingly and despite devastation inflicted by the battles of two world wars, there is a lot to see and do in the town. Although used a stopping point on the way home – Calais is around an hours’ drive from it – we judged Arras worthy of a separate weekend of exploration in the near future.

Although offering a relatively small number of rooms, each is very large and comfortable, with a separate toilet and bathroom, stocked with a good selection of shower gels, shampoos, etc. The beds are large and very comfortable. Downstairs is a small dining room, which wasn’t used because we were there on a Sunday and a bar area, which also is used for breakfasts. Breakfast costs 9 Euros and consists of boiled eggs, breads, jams, cheese, ham, yoghurt, etc., and which were all fresh. Rooms are around 100 Euros a night. Parking appears to be either outside or in one of the nearby parking areas.

Overall, this is a good stopping place with a nice feel to it and perhaps also a base from which to explore Arras and the surrounding war memorials.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepstow
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Have reviewed before and given higher rating however a few disappointments from my recent stay there....
- breakfast is very limited in choice and a disappointment
- room was very hot & difficult to adjust the temperature even though a wall thermostat is fitted.. to cool down the room had to open window & room is then noisy

This is still a good choice of hotel in Arras though a few areas need improving.
Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would also be good
Also limited power point in the room & difficult position for plugging in

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivesheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Only stayed for 2 nights whilst on a WW1 Battlefield Tour. Tired & shabby decor. Light not working in room. Heating only functioned on maximum. Shower rail broken. All 3 problems reported to front desk who did nothing about it. Black mould in shower area.Very noisy position opposite railway station and cleaners driving beeping road sweepers starting at about 0630. Breakfast adequate but only just.

Understaffed and overworked.

Avoid and look for something which provides better value for money

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing onto the square (Avoid all the rooms in reality!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arras hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My family and I recently stay at the Hotel D'Angleterre. We booked the enourmous family suite and enjoyed the abundant space it gave us. Fabulous. We didn't like finding beer cans hiding under the beds (and not really hiding actually). And the place was a bit tired. But the front desk was always helpful... the proximity to shops and restaurants great... the room spacious... it wasn't too noisy despite facing the train station... and the overall value solid. Definitely worth a good rating.

Room Tip: The family room is gigantic. A great option if you have a large crew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: 7 Place du Marechal Foch, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing