We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Star in name only...”
Review of Hotel D'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel D'Angleterre
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Halesowen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“4 Star in name only...”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Sorry to disagree in some respects with other reviewers, but as a party of five we were disappointed overall and normally in England would expect a higher general standard. The good points were the location in the heart of the town, and the very spacious, well furnished rooms. In addition the staff were very pleasant and friendly. However, in a four-star place (or 3, or 2) you don't expect to find one corner of a bed held up by six books.... Breakfast was continental and basic, consisting mainly of boiling your own eggs, with a limited amount of ham and cheese on offer. On our first morning we arrived at breakfast just after a coach party had left, and found very little food left - there was no great rush to replace it. On another occasion when requesting bread, a clingfilm -wrapped few rounds were taken out of a drawer, with the comment it was yesterday's but would be fine toasted! (I would emphasise all this is no reflection on the staff themselves, very often there being only one member of staff to manage everything). It was no great surprise that the restaurant seemed to be empty every evening. Enjoyed our stay overall, but this place could do better in our opinion.

Room Tip: Check under the bed first.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingleval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    53
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
32
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

From the outside this place doesnt look very nice but inside its lovely. A bit dated but it has a certain charm.

the rooms are spacious and clean!

the staff were helpful and attentive.

breakfast was standard for continental but good quality and fresh.

Perfect location for all the sights!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, superb rooms and wonderfully large and comfy beds. Stayed three nights and toured WW1 sites on the Somme, Thiepval, Vimy Ridge etc. Breakfast adequate - didn't eat in restaurant - but overall and excellent base and very central for all the sights of Arras. Would recommend and would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Medium sized hotel with large rooms and large, comfortable beds. Tidy decor, in need of some refurbishment, disappointing to have a curtain hanging loose from the rail at one end, a very simple thing to remedy.large bathroom with good over bath shower, equipped as you may expect 4 stars. Very quiet and a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was simple and adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Brigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We loved the comforts of this hotel. It had amazingly large rooms and a lovely French feeling. We loved the old fashion furniture and very much what we expected. The staff were friendly and the hotel was quiet. Arriving and leaving by train was easy as it is just a walk across the square. We found some good restaurants close by. I would recommend this hotel for ambiance.

Room Tip: Location was good. Big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and loved that it was so close to the train station after a long trip from Bayeux.
The staff was friendly and were helpful in arranging a cab to go to Vimy Ridge as well as recommending a tour of the Chalk Mines near by.
The room was a bit dated but really nothing to get upset about. It was clean and comfy as well as having a mini fridge. The breakfast was more than sufficient.
It is also a quick walk to the city center which is very beautiful!

Room Tip: The rooms to the front face the train station but we didn't notice any noise in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHendsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Tricky to find as st nav wouldn't recognise address but we got there once we found the rail station was near it. Parking hard work. Lovely people in the hotel, rooms a little dated but big enough and reasonably comfortable. Areas itself does not offer good food we really had trouble finding something decent to eat.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Angleterre

Property: Hotel D'Angleterre
Address: 7 Place du Marechal Foch, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'Angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing