We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“compact & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
894 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
“compact & convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a large group. The hotel is very convenient for the main squares but be careful if wearing anything other than flat heels (ladies) as the area is cobbled and there are numerous loose stones. My room (126) on the first floor was overlooking a side street and there was no noise intrusion from outside. There are three sides - another overlooks a courtyard and another a street leading to the square - this is the one people complained about due to late night noise from the pub on the corner of the square.

The room is what I would call compact but as I was alone then it was fine but otherwise would be cramped. The bath is cramped and is probably about half normal size and more to the style of hip bath but again, no problem to me as I used the shower. The shower pressure is not great and the temperature can fluctuate if others are in use - you have been warned! Also cramped and inconvenient is the clothes hanging cubicle (see photo) - goodness knows who designed it but it is the most impractical storage area I've yet to find in my many hotel stop overs. There was also a drain smell in the bathroom but it didn't seem to filter into the room.

Breakfast is a bit of a scrum if a lot of people are down at once. The seating area is tight, as is the food bar. There is sufficient choice but staff are overworked clearing up and refilling the food stations and cutlery etc. The staffing issue is also reflected in the reception areas as there is usually only one person dealing with both front desk/telephone/bar so you can end up waiting for a drink! However, all staff were helpful and friendly and the housemaids noted I preferred two pillows and made the bed up accordingly. Had no problems sleeping on the bed which I found very comforable.

Free internet is available on a PC in the bar/breakfast area but be warned - the keyboard is different to UK versions and you will have difficulty working out the keys/commands. No problem if you have your own wifi enabled bit of kit as the internet can be accessed free throughout the hotel

Evenings we ate in the pub on the corner of the square (the noisy one mentioned earlier) on the first night but the other two nights saw us in the Au Bureau (which is about third way down on the left of the square facing the Hall). We found this more to our liking - both pizza and omelette were good sized portions and drinks (to us) inexpensive. The merlot at the top of the list was particularly drinkable. My only reservation was the background pop music which even continued over whatever was showing on the tv screens.

The belfry tour above the Town Hall is recommended as the views are great - there's a lift most of the way but a flight of steep steps thereafter. The Cave tour did not hold my attention even though the guide was good and did her best.

Overall I would recommend the hotel due to it's location, friendly staff and comfort of bed. We were on a coach but I don't believe there's any hotel parking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the side street leading down to the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    405
    156
    35
    6
See reviews for
129
317
74
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent spot for a budget hotel. Stayed here a few times now & always the same welcome & very clean room. What you'd expect for a budget hotel but the location has the wow factor. Stone's throw to the beautiful market squares & enchanting town hall. Friday night can be a little noisey with the locals but I always take ear plugs anyway. Must say the staff are always friendly & welcoming at any of the ibis hotels.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I arrived after a very long day, check in was excellent, my room was spotless yet it had that "anonymous" look, I could have been in Tokyo or Sao Paulo it took a peak from the window to remind me I was in France. 78 Euros was way past my budget and I left France the following day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinus Iridium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is the fourth time we have stayed overnight as it provides a good last night prior to return to England through the tunnel, having spent a few weeks driving in Europe. It is about an hour's easy drive from the Tunnel. Arras itself is a very picturesque town, particularly at night time, and the Ibis is superbly located, just a few yards from the two beautiful interconnected town squares.
For this the Ibis provides a very good value and reasonable quality stay (Booking well in advance you can get a room for well under E50). Rooms are en-suite, otherwise basic, include a reasonable TV, and bed is fairly comfortable. As usual, no kettle provided. No problem with noise. Service has always been jovial, friendly and helpful. There is a good patisserie just round the corner called Le Pain Gourmand.
Just a cautionary note about Arras for the English, we have experienced a little occasional hostility (though not from the Hotel) - if you experience the same here, I appeal to you not to let it adversely preduce your view of the French who, in my experience, are the kindest, gracious and open wonderful people.

Room Tip: I think third floor rooms are for smokers. We inadvertantly were allocated rooms on this level, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EgoRonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This Ibis Arrass is very nicely located adjacent to the main squares and the impressive cathedral. It is also conveniently located for the bars, restaurents and weekend market. The room is a little small but good value for the price. I would stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Parking close to the hotel is difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Arras
B&B Hotel Arras
#8 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#7 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Arras Centre Les Places? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Arras Centre Les Places

Property: Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Address: 11 rue de Justice | Place Ipswich, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Arras Centre Les Places 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Arras hotel is ideally located in the historic centre, a short stroll from the Grande Place, the Unesco World Heritage Bellfry, theatres and shopping streets. The railway station is 10 min away on foot. The Convention Centre and the Mercure Atria Arras business centre are 1 km away. It has 63 rooms and a bar, a snack service and Wifi Internet access. A restaurant is near the hotel, as well as public pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Arras Centre Les Places reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Arras Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing