We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not stay here again, poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'Univers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Univers
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Arras
chepstow
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Will not stay here again, poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was expecting far better given this hotel is a Best Western & room price. The check in was simply awful - the person at reception was rude & kept saying I did not have a reservation whilst answering the phone a few times & looking through various piles of paperwork covering the desk; finally after some patience my reservation appeared. I was the told to forget eating in the restaurant because it's full....OK then. The room I had was an 'upgrade', though after a few minutes there clear to me that it needed some investment & simple upgrades, for example:
a/ There is no aircon or even a desk/pedestal electric fan; room was very hot so had to open the windows, parts of the wooden window frames were rotten. Other downside here is that you get a lot of noise coming into the room from the courtyard area.
b/ Bathroom should have been cleaner and the soap dispensers were empty
c/ Curtains were starting to rip & did not close properly
d/ Connecting to Wi-Fi is complex

I will not stay here again, it is expensive & poor value for money. This hotel needs investment in several areas, shame really given the character & charm of the building. Try elsewhere in Arras would be my advice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivesheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    147
    86
    22
    13
See reviews for
30
191
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have stayed at L'Univers on several occasions and always enjoyed the experience. Finding accommopdation in the area was extremely difficult due to every hotel between St Quintin and Arras being full I think we got the last room and were allocated 120. First floor, next to the staircase and the 'femme de manage' storage room was virtualy opposite. If have this room and you want a lie in after 7.00am forget it.
Service at the bar was impossible, we gave up and walked into town. Wifi exists but we were unable to connect during our two day stay.

Room Tip: Avoid being nbear the staircase or lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesrosbifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

An immaculately clean room and helpful and friendly staff. Whilst the food was obviously of a good standard English translation of the menu would have helped as our (Lovely,hard working) waitress didn't have enough english to explain it and my french was limited too ! i had 2 courses based on the 1 word I understood and didn't like either! Nevertheless this said I would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not over look a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus23Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

A very comfortable hotel only ten minutes walk from a wide choice of restaurants. I had an excellent, quiet room, despite a wedding reception elsewhere in the hotel. It is difficut to access if you arrive in a coach but no problem for motors. The staff were quite charming.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is quite historic and was once a monastery, then a hospital and now a hotel. We chose the cheapest rooms for economy reasons but they were nicely decorated, very clean and very comfortable. The restaurant is excellent and we had one of the best meals of our trip here. The prices are reasonable too. The wine list is impressive but it includes lots of very decent wines that won't break the bank. The sommelier is first-rate and she offered to take us for a tour of the wine cellar after her shift ended, even though that turned out to be around midnight! If you are travelling by car don't forget to ask in advance for a parking spot - they are limited.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 985canadatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The last time I stayed at this hotel was 10 years ago. On this occasion The lady on the reception desk was far from welcoming and was more intent on getting my brother in law to move his car, as we had not reserved parking in their courtyard (recommended). We did get parking but at a cost of I believe 14 euros per day. The hotel itself has plenty of character and whilst my room smelt of cigarette smoke (I think you have to request a non smoking room), I spent a comfortable night. Arras is a great place to visit and this hotel is ideally situated. We did not eat in the hotel as there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance. I would certainly stay here again despite the unfriendly lady behind the reception desk! Breakfast was worth having.

Room Tip: Non smoking if you do not partake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miffyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed 1 night before Calais-Dover crossing. The reception was cool to say the least. We were told we had to eat in the restaurant even though there was no vegetarian food on the menu, so having left our rather shabby room with gurgling pipes we went into Arras. What a lovely town, we found a lovely Italian restaurant (quite expensive) and enjoyed a good meal. The buildings of the hotel are delightful and I wanted to get hold of it and have someone return it to it's former glory. In Spain it would be a wonderful Parador. However tired as it was inside if the reception and staff (1 member) had been friendly this would have been a kinder review. You must book parking if you don't want to leave your car on the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.3 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#7 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Univers

Property: Hotel de l'Univers
Address: 3 Place de la Croix Rouge, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Univers 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western l Univers
Best Western Arras
Arras Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing