We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
76
195
114
35
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
195
114
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooked the courtyardscrambled eggshotel courtyardfirst floornice hotelbook in advancebigger roomtucked awaysecure parkingside streetone way systemquiet locationlovely roomsat navtown centrelarge bathroomno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed for three nights in July. The hotel looks amazing, but is poorly run. The room we had was very tired, it looked like the whole hotel was not looked after, no-one seemed to care, perhaps that's what happens when chains get hold of great buildings. The front desk and night desk staff were fantastic, but the cleaning staff were terrible, they made the most amount of noise I've ever heard in a hotel, sound-proofing is non-existent. Considering the rate we paid, it was one of the most dissapointing hotel stays I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We arrived at the Hotel L'Univers very late after pre-booking via the telephone with Best Western in UK earlier the same day.
The front desk was staffed by a young man who spoke unintelligible French and no English (we speak both!). He could find no record of our booking, after twenty minutes of frantically searching. We asked if he had a room available anyway, and, once he understood, and after a further twenty minutes bumbling, he decided he did.
He put us in the lift and said he would take the stairs. He didn't appear for another fifteen minutes because he took a phone call, and then when he did showed us to the smallest room I have ever seen. We asked to see another, which meant another wait while he went to fetch more keys. It was like a scene from Fawlty Towers and, through sheer tiredness, we eventually accepted a largest of the ridiculously small rooms we were shown. The bed was little more than a single, there were not enough towels, the bathroom was miniscule, etc. etc.! We asked him to make a note of the fact that our booking had not been recorded but in the morning no-one on reception knew anything about it.
It was such a rotten start to our trip to France that we couldn't wait to get out of there! We were really, really disappointed as we had stayed here 2 years ago and thought the hotel was good.
Don't go there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazyDaisy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Best thing about hotel was that it was quiet. Room was tidy and clean but drab and pricey. Ate at restaurant in hotel which was very overpriced. Staff's English very limited. Town was least interesting of the places we have stayed. Used it as a base to see Vimy Ridge memorial, which was excellent. Had wanted to see tunnels, but this became redundant after going in tunnels near Ypres and at Vimy. Internet was not working and we were sent on a wild goose chase to find an internet cafe which did not seem to exist.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Our room on the second floor (there's a lift) was very clean and pleasant with a very large bathroom. There was also a separate lavatory. The bed was clean and comfortable. There was no air conditioning but the windows opened. We were overlooking the courtyard so it was nice and quiet. There was free parking in the courtyard for our car and we were able to park it right outside the hotel entrance which was a bonus. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Yesterday evening, having had dinner elsewhere in the town (the main square is only about a ten minute walk away) we sat in the hotel courtyard where we enjoyed coffees and the most delicious petit fours. Everything about the hotel is charming and relaxing. Our delicious breakfast this morning was taken in the beautiful and cool dining room. The coffee was superb. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who visits Arras. Our only regret is that we didn't have dinner in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Friendly hotel and helpful staff ( all spoke English ) 5 minutes walk from old town centre. Difficult to find as in the centre of town in one way system but worth the effort. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Excellant food in hotel and plenty of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews