We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Between Terre et Mer - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Between Terre et Mer
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Somerton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An excellent evening”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

If you are looking for a restaurant that serves beautifully cooked, traditional French food - but with a modern twist - then look no further. The ingredients are fresh, the food well presented, and the quality several notches above that of the average restaurant. The restaurant is not huge, but the tables are laid out well and there was no sense of being cramped at all. The waiting staff were attentive but not obtrusive, and the wine list well chosen - we drank a Cotes du Rhone that was very nice indeed. I was part of a group of 11 people on a weekend away in Arras, and had researched the various restaurants available with some care. Not only did Le Between Terre et Mer satisfy our expectations, it exceeded them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The restaurant provided us with a very good meal on 2 consecutive nights during our golf trip. Having been on the first night and tried 3 different main meals between us we decided that it was worth going back the following night. The menu choice is not huge but we all thoroughly enjoyed the various fish and meat dishes over our 2 visits. The whole meal including several bottles of wine was reasonably priced and service was efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crockett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well positioned”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Comfortable and well positioned between the two main squares. A welcome retreat on a cold winters evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank abers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Twice in 4 days says it all!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

One of the favourites during our month in France., the service execllent the food very good and very nicely presented and excellent value for money. The centre-ville location is convenient, whilst out of the public view. Its popularity with locals made it a little crowded.and cosy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“I goes up and down”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This restaurant re-opened a few (5 years ago?) and wasn't bad. They seemed to be trying new ideas. Last Friday (5 October) the menu looked OK and appeared to be based on what was seasonal and in the market. An amuse-bouche of a small fish was quite unpleasant so we left it. The crab with mango was odd. I had ordered a hamburger which had been brought up to price by smearing a little foie gras on one of the buns. I have always assumed hamburger was beef but this was a pale cream tasteless meat. It had none of the delicious naughtiness of a McPeabody. There was a lot of cocquille st jacques around. In fac t it was on the specials AND it was 'fish of the day'. It was OK but it's not strictly speaking a fish more a coquillage. For pudding I had mixed sorbet (you know - you've bought it when you've been in a hurry) and was marginally less than ordinary. The service was OK. The wine was OK. The beer was actually rather nice and the water was San Pellegrino. The bill was 90€. The bill was more than enough. They begged us to return when next we were in Arras (no they didn't really). What has happened to France?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Between Terre et Mer also viewed

Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Saint-Laurent-Blangy, Arras
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing