We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes
Ranked #7 of 18 Arras B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed two nights at Le Soleil du Lion and only wish we could have stayed longer. Hervé welcomed us most warmly and helped store our bikes in their charming inner courtyard. As others have mentioned, the house is like an art gallery, yet very charming and comfortable. The large room with attached bath and walk in closet is immaculate and tastefully decorated. If, like me, you fall in love with Xavier's art work on the walls, be sure to check out his small works for sale in the front hall. For a very reasonable price, we now have a wonderful souvenir of this excellent B&B. Hervé and Xavier are the perfect hosts - Hervé's recommendations on where to shop and eat were very useful and on our day of departure, Xavier led us out of town on our bikes to our next destination, making navigation very easy. Un grand merci aux deux!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morieuxh, Propriétaire at Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thank you very much , we enjoyed to welcome such pleasant people like you . I always expect that our guests find something different at home . In french : " le petit plus " !
Xavier is very happy that you like his art ! He has done a lot for our guest house !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was hands down the best B&B we went to in France. It's like sleeping inside of an art gallery. A squeaky clean one. The room is huge with a walk in closet, reading area, writing area and bed. The thought, care and detail that went into every piece of decor was incredible. Colours were vibrant, but not in a scramble your head type of way. The room was relaxing to be in. Very romantic. Bed comfortable. Small staircase to go up. Free parking just around the corner. It was only a short walk to the main squares and quiet. Our two hosts were fascinating to talk to, so much so, we are going to visit Arras again to spend more time exploring the town. And we will definitely be booking here again. It's the number one B&B in Arras in my opinion.

Room Tip: There is only one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitzgeraldmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morieuxh, Propriétaire at Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

It's always a great saisfaction for us when our guests are really enjoyed to stay at home . We try to do the best for that .
We where very happy to welcome so charming people like you and "Le Soleil du Lion " is expecting to see you soon . ( Maybe it will be your secondary house in FRANCE ! )
See you soon .
Hervé M .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were greeted with the most warm and friendly welcome by Herve, after a tour of his wonderful home we were delighted to be given a most welcome cup of tea after our long journey from the UK.
The warmth continued for the duration of our three night stay, Herve and Xavier were a font of knowledge on places to visit in the area.
The property itself was exceptional with its delightful character and ambience - much like its owners! We would thoroughly recommend the accomodation to others, but would suggest you have either a good street map or sat nav to reach your destination.
A most enjoyable interlude in our road trip across France and a big thank you to Herve & Xavier for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela_Atkins1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My 16 year-old grand- daughter and I stayed for two nights in September 2011 at this delightful newly opened townhouse chambre d'hote in Arras. We were privileged to be its first customers! Herve and Xavier, the owners, are to be congratulated on their flair for design and decor in this delightful refurbishment. The house is full of bright colours enhancing the traditional style of the house. We were made so welcome. In fact this was a real home from home! Our room and bathroom were immaculate and beautifully furnished. Continental breakfast in the stylish dining-room was delicious, with home- made products gracing an elegant table. Herve looked after us with aplomb and both he and Xavier were a fount of knowledge on Arras and any other info we needed.The house is very well situated within easy walking distance of the two main squares, yet on a quiet narrow street in an old and interesting part of town. If you want to be well looked after, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scottie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morieuxh, Propriétaire at Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011
Google Translation

Nous gardons un souvenir inoubliable de nos deux premières clientes , leur gentillesse et leur "savoir vivre " nous ont vraiment motivés dans la poursuite de cette activité si passionnante qu'est la tenue d'une maison d'hôtes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patANDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morieuxh, Propriétaire at Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Triparmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morieuxh, Propriétaire at Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 239jeanpaulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.5 mi away
Au Coeur D'eden
Au Coeur D'eden
#2 of 18 in Arras
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or
0.5 mi away
La Cour des Carmes
La Cour des Carmes
#6 of 18 in Arras
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#3 of 18 in Arras
111 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plumes & Coton
Plumes & Coton
#1 of 1 in Ecurie
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Place Hotel
Grand Place Hotel
#10 of 18 in Arras
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes

Address: 18 rue du Coclipas, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Arras
Price Range: £65 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming guest house of the 18th century near the center of ARRAS . The Soleil du Lion is a guest house built in the eighteenth century, located in the old Arras, at 5 minute walk of our famous squares and our belfry listed as UNESCO World Heritage. You will have all the comforts for a quality stay in Arras! Herve owner will be "Pamper" to help you make your stay easy and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Soleil du Lion chambre d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing