We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wellington Tunnels, Memorial to the Battle of Arras
Book In Advance
More Info
US$217.36*
and up
New Zealand Somme and Arras Day Tour from Arras
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Arras
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enter one of the most secret place of military history, and discover a real underground town, where more than 20 000 soldiers of the Commonwealth prepared the most surprising attack of WW1.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very emotional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A must see in Arras, you will not be dissaponted. The addition of faux tommy tin hats is good. Young , old and slightly infirm can visit this

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank steelytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    195
    24
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Well presented history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This on-site museum gives detailed and moving insight to the historical events of arras in the 1st world war. The value for money is most certainly worth it. You will be amazed by the skill and the international touch that can be found within the wellington carrières.

Helpful?
Thank Juli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Emotional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A very informative and emotional visit. Our guide was excellent. The visit brought home to me the horrors of WW1. A must visit .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Terrific museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The tunnels are extensive and quite amazing. It boggles the mind that 24,000 troops lived in the tunnels prior to battle. You even see the steps carved into the rock that led out into the trenches. This is worth a visit for any nationality, even if not involved in WWI.
The museum itself has some exhibits and a short film about the Arras battle, and in the tunnels you are given an audio guide that operates automatically at certain points. You are shown photos and given explanation of how life in the tunnels was.
The staff seem very fond of New Zealanders. You have to go on a scheduled guided tour. We arrived at 11.40am and there wasn't another tour until 2pm, by which time we would have left Arras. When they heard there was a Kiwi in our group, they rused to get us on the 11.30am tour that had just left. Disappointed we missed the intro, but the remaining 45 minutes and short film were definitely worthwhile. They even let us pay afterwards to make sure we maximized our tour time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kateoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Having made a trip a week before Rememberance Sunday, we found it very moving and overwhelming. The tunnels are well maintained and the guided tours are very informative. To even wear a uniform helmet, made it even more interesting as to a soldiers life underground. Well worth the experience

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GKAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellington Tunnels, Memorial to the Battle of Arras also viewed

Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Vimy, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Wellington Tunnels, Memorial to the Battle of Arras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing