We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Moderne
Nearby Hotels
US$131
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diamant(Arras)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places(Arras)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$138
US$120
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$50
US$43
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Hotel Arras(Arras)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
11
62
38
22
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
62
38
22
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bathroomtourist sites and restaurantsfull length mirrormetered parkingpleasant bar arealovely hotelup to dateroom was cleanpriced hotelwifi worked wellplace des heroesthe hotel staffgreat showergood sizelots of restaurantsper dayfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel came as group tour package, but I did pre book the night before the tour commenced at $200 AUD for one night. I make my comments based on the value commensurate with cost.
This hotel is an old building therefore I have made allowances in my comment for this but generally the service is quite poor.

There's is no shower curtain or screen, therefore the shower floor and attached basin are flooded with water every time one showers. Excess water on the floor must cause havoc with maintenance, not to mention the towels used to mop up the excess water. Every other day I had to ask for a very small packet of soap, other toiletries were occasionally provided. On one evening I needed to ask for fresh towels, other members of the group did not have their rooms serviced.

There's is no safe - readers will say this is Europe. A safe is a basic necessity for travellers today and is expected, I expect a safe in my room. No safety deposit box was offered.
The is no ventilation ,fans or air conditioning. On one of the days we were there the temperature was 28c, making the room very uncomfortable during the afternoon and evening.

A continental breakfast is included in the tariff. This is basic and acceptable, however, the fruit is tinned, when the only hot dish (scrambled eggs) runs out, that's it no replenishment. Similarly, when the toasting bread is gone so sad too bad for other residents. Same for the sliced ham and cheese. However, restaurants near by serve wonderful breakfasts.

During the late afternoon, the reception was staffed only by a university student studying (reception). I understand that students gain work experience, but on this occasion he was the only available person and had no grasp of English.
The hotel is in a good location, close to the train station and many good restaurants. There are many other hotels in the same area, it may be worth looking these first.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modernearras, Directeur général at Hotel Moderne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Following your stay at the hotel Moderne and to your comment posted on tripadvisor's website, We read your opinion and remarks about the hotel's services.
We thank you for your impressions. We struggle to welcome well our customers, but apparently you didn't like our hotel and I am sorry that your stay in our hotel was so bad.
I hope you will visit again Arras a next time.

With Best wishes

Jean-Marie CARON
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We have just spent 5 days at the Moderne hotel whilst touring the area for Anzac day. Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is directly across the square from the railway station. Easy 6 to 8 minute walk to the town centre, restaurants etc. breakfast was ok. The usual French croissants, fruit salad, yogurts, cheese, ham, toast, jam (and if you are amongst the earlier risers) scrambled eggs. The rooms are bigger than some hotels but very basic. No coffee or tea making facilities, fridge or iron etc.
We came home one day and found our room had not been cleaned and we had to take some toilet paper from a cleaners trolley in the hallway the following morning. The hotel certainly has potential and with some initiative cold be a lot better. An average 3 star hotel which meets basic standards.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the moderne as part of a large group visiting the battlefields, the hotel staff worked very hard to accommodate us and were always friendly and polite. Rooms are clean with plenty of towels provided, we had a nice view over the square, with French windows that open. Bar area nice. Breakfast nice, more than adequate.The Moderne is perfect if you just want somewhere to lay your head at night. Arras town is so quiet though, I don't know where everyone's gone, it's a shame as I can see some businesses were struggling.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooncat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arras makes a good base for visiting a number of important and interesting WW1 sites, and the Hotel Moderne provides a comfortable no-frills base.

The room was bright and airy and bed and bathroom adequate and clean.

Breakfast buffet was very good; cereals, fruit, juice,croissants etc. with hot drinks and and a hot dish available. Very good value for this level of accommodation.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the large square, but it was quiet at night time.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSmithSWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Spent 3 nights in Arras visiting Wimy, Beaumont Hamel, and the Commonwealth Memorial sites one day, Calais, another day as well as Arras . Arras is a beautiful site full of historyand interesting restaurants. Enjoyed food on slate dishware which was flavourful in this area.Found we appreciated and needed our GPS in the rental car to get around, would have been lost otherwise! Enjoyed the use of our free interenet service in our hotel. Breakfast was basic but with good personal service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews