We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only "moderne" if "moderne" means 1970s”
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Arras
1 review
“Only "moderne" if "moderne" means 1970s”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for one night in April, the place was being re-painted so there was that annoying wet paint smell, the rooms were very small and the beds were quite uncomfortable. The sinks operate in an odd way in that they require a screwdriver to unplug. the breakfast buffet was limited in it's selection, and the shower curtain failed to stop the shower flooding the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modernearras, Directeur général at Hotel Moderne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear,

Following your stay at the hotel Moderne and your comment posted on Trip advisor website, we have read your opinion about the hotel's services and remarks about the room.
We thank you for the feedback.

We have different types of bed room and prices differents : Standard, Classique and Privilège, and I am very sorry you didn't like the bedroom you had in our hotel .
The breakfast consists of hot drinks, fruit juice, bread, croissant, fruit salad, ham, cheese, cereals, scrambled eggs...., and price is 9,90€ per person in April 2014.

I hope to have another opportunity to offer our services.

Best regards.

Jean-marie CARON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    52
    34
    20
    2
See reviews for
9
47
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 as part of a group travelling with Great Rail Journeys so have no knowledge of the cost re value for money. The location is excellent within the forecourt of Arras main line station (SNCF to Paris). Our room had recently been refurbished and was clean and modern with lovely shower area. We were provided with breakfast which was continental style plus scrambled egg and toast. We stayed for four nights and spent each evening in the bar which was comfortable for what we required. We would happily return if we are in that part of France again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoncasterBillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Hotel room was basic but had everything we needed. Excellent service and very friendly staff on reception. Power went out in out room on the first morning as we were leaving for the day however this was resolved very quickly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zero1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Recently spent the night at this hotel. Good position opposite the station, but even with the windows open during the night didn't hear any noise.

Bed very comfortable with good quality sheets. Good size room with wifi and tv. Bathroom fine but lacking a shower curtain which was a bit strange.

Didn't have breakfast as expensive for what you get.

Girls on reception speak good English and very friendly and helpful. Plenty of nearby parking at 1 euro an hour, but free after 6 on Sats and all day Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a good location for visiting the WW1 memorials. Car parking was opposite the hotel so this suited us. The room was clean but old-fashioned, with no shower curtain. Breakfast was ample, with plenty of choices. The reception staff were very helpful and polite.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very basic hotel, the lack of fire alarms in all the rooms worried me as we were on the 4th floor.
Unlike most of the hotels on our 18 day trip there are no facilities in the room for making hot drinks not great for us. Good location and easy parking right outside the hotel were a plus for us.
No net curtains and being right opposite an office was bad ,as was the lack of double glazing so that the pigeons who were everywhere kept me awake ! The staff are the best part of this hotel particularly Laurence who was delightful. No way I would stay here again I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKTGRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arras hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a surprise. My partner booked it and I was a bit worried about the look from the website, however it was fantastic. The staff are wonderful, they spoke good English and accommodated every request. The hotel on the inside is clean and nicely maintained however the rooms are a little dated. This is not a bad thing, the beds were clean and comfortable, they had a flat screen tv and a large bathroom. The breakfast had a good range of food, the usual that one would expect in a small European hotel (ham,cheese, bread etc). They are close to the train station and the main squares in town with a good number of restaurants and cafés around. It also has a bar so you can enjoy a night cap if you wish. There is wifi available that did reach our room (second floor). Overall it was a fantastic experience. We are Australian and do not speak a stick of French and enjoyed their great hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stock91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: 1 boulevard Faidherbe, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderne 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderne is located in the city center of Arras, opposite the train station. At 5 to 10 minutes walking from the historic center, with Grand'Place, Belfry and all the shops in the town center of Arras. Opposite the hotel and nearby, you have many public parkings, often free for the night, and you will also find many good restaurants and café. The hotel features 50 rooms with all conveniences, all equipped with bathroom, toilet, flat screen TV, telephone, wireless internet access. We serve a full breakfast in the morning. You can have a drink in our Bar. The Hotel Moderne is a central place to stay in Arras. The urban network allows you to access many services located nearby. The Hotel Moderne is an ideal base for exploring the heritage of the town of Arras, visiting the museums in the area (the Louvre -Lens) and visiting the Battlefields 1WW. Going on vacation or you return: stop in Arras. We are a perfect step on the road to the Alps, South of France, Loire Valley, in both directions. Short break in North of France : come to discover our heritage. Belfry, flamish main square, Cathedrale, Museum, cave, in a pleasant atmosphere; and also near Louvre-Lens museum. By train: we are located about 35 minutes from Lille center (car boot sale), 45 minutes from Amiens center (Cathedral), and 50 minutes from Paris center. Enjoy a short trip under ideal conditions! We offer packages with accommodation, breakfast For groups visiting the area (minimum 25 pax), we organize the diner (on-site or in a nearby restaurant). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing