We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a Bed and Breakfast establishment than a hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“More of a Bed and Breakfast establishment than a hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

we travelled as a group, arrived late and were disappointed at the standard of the hotel, rooms were dated and small but after complaining at reception we were given a better room. It was
Buffet breakfast and you have to help yourself to tea or coffee. Location was good, right on the square in Arras with plenty of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: When we arrived at this hotel we were given a room on the fifth floor with just a small window near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    47
    31
    17
    2
See reviews for
8
42
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for one night in April, the place was being re-painted so there was that annoying wet paint smell, the rooms were very small and the beds were quite uncomfortable. The sinks operate in an odd way in that they require a screwdriver to unplug. the breakfast buffet was limited in it's selection, and the shower curtain failed to stop the shower flooding the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modernearras, Directeur général at Hotel Moderne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear,

Following your stay at the hotel Moderne and your comment posted on Trip advisor website, we have read your opinion about the hotel's services and remarks about the room.
We thank you for the feedback.

We have different types of bed room and prices differents : Standard, Classique and Privilège, and I am very sorry you didn't like the bedroom you had in our hotel .
The breakfast consists of hot drinks, fruit juice, bread, croissant, fruit salad, ham, cheese, cereals, scrambled eggs...., and price is 9,90€ per person in April 2014.

I hope to have another opportunity to offer our services.

Best regards.

Jean-marie CARON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arras hotels

Doncaster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 as part of a group travelling with Great Rail Journeys so have no knowledge of the cost re value for money. The location is excellent within the forecourt of Arras main line station (SNCF to Paris). Our room had recently been refurbished and was clean and modern with lovely shower area. We were provided with breakfast which was continental style plus scrambled egg and toast. We stayed for four nights and spent each evening in the bar which was comfortable for what we required. We would happily return if we are in that part of France again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoncasterBillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Hotel room was basic but had everything we needed. Excellent service and very friendly staff on reception. Power went out in out room on the first morning as we were leaving for the day however this was resolved very quickly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zero1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Recently spent the night at this hotel. Good position opposite the station, but even with the windows open during the night didn't hear any noise.

Bed very comfortable with good quality sheets. Good size room with wifi and tv. Bathroom fine but lacking a shower curtain which was a bit strange.

Didn't have breakfast as expensive for what you get.

Girls on reception speak good English and very friendly and helpful. Plenty of nearby parking at 1 euro an hour, but free after 6 on Sats and all day Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a good location for visiting the WW1 memorials. Car parking was opposite the hotel so this suited us. The room was clean but old-fashioned, with no shower curtain. Breakfast was ample, with plenty of choices. The reception staff were very helpful and polite.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very basic hotel, the lack of fire alarms in all the rooms worried me as we were on the 4th floor.
Unlike most of the hotels on our 18 day trip there are no facilities in the room for making hot drinks not great for us. Good location and easy parking right outside the hotel were a plus for us.
No net curtains and being right opposite an office was bad ,as was the lack of double glazing so that the pigeons who were everywhere kept me awake ! The staff are the best part of this hotel particularly Laurence who was delightful. No way I would stay here again I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKTGRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: 1 boulevard Faidherbe, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderne 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moderne is very well located: near the city centre and the farm market, in front of the train station, at five-minute walk from the Grand’ Place, near the European centre of exchange and communication. The Hotel Moderne was built during the 1930’s, but on the inside, you can see a contemporary style. We have 50 rooms, which are simply decorated with shimmering colours and modern furniture. In each room, there is a phone, a bathroom with bath or shower and toilet; television (flat screen), a service of automatic alarm-clock by phone, free high speed wiFi. Whenever you want, you can drink something at the bar in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel has 2 meeting rooms. For group and seminary, we can suggest a traditional meal in the hotel or in a partner restaurant nearby. We put at your disposition a paperboard, a screen, a television, an overhead projector and a wiFi access.The Centre Européen de la Paix is at 15km and Lille is at 53km. The nearest airport is Lille-Lesquin (50km).Arras is the historical capital of the Artois area. It is famous for the places, the belfry (rank in the UNESCO world heritage), the Saint-Vaast abbey with the Fine Arts museum and the Cathedral, the theatre (with an Italian style), the Wellington Quarry and the “Cité Nature”, a cultural and scientific centre. Nearest the hotel, there are parks, a golf (18 holes), tennis and swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing