We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb steak and frites!”

L'Assiette au Boeuf
Ranked #7 of 174 Restaurants in Arras
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb steak and frites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very simple meal, steak and frites, but it was fabulous. The service was excellent and many thanks to our lovely waitress who was happy to speak English rather than put up with my bad French! We will certainly make a second visit to this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank y123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    304
    71
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

First class service, very friendly staff in a vibrant and busy restaurant. The meal was memorable for all the right reasons and the speciality beef in paradise sauce certainly didn't disappoint. We are pleased that we booked in advance as there wasn'ta spare seat and we can see why. We hope we are back in this area again so we can pay another visit. Great food and great service at reasonable prices. 10/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best steak in Arras”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

one of the best, most tender steaks i've ever had- thou i'm not a steak fan yet i was very pleased by this meal. this restaurant only offers steak and home made chips with many different sauces to top the steak, i've had the specialty which was the paradise sauce, it was very exotic with Italian based herbs as rosemary and thyme and a tinge of fenugreek as well- which makes it a bit heavy and pungent- dessert was amazing as well, i had macaron which was very fresh and the homemade ice cream and cream made the experience much more indulging.
i Highly recommend this restaurant almost for any sort of outing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radwa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Simple menu but done very well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Booked this restaurant after reading previous Tripadvisor reviews and so glad that we did.

Went here on the first night of the Christmas market. As we got to the restaurant, heard another English couple say while looking at he menu, "It's only steak and chips". Well yes and no.

The steak is cooked to perfection and the sauce it comes in is divine. Add to this the most fantastic chips that just keep on being served and you have a simple meal done to perfection. The salad starter was simple and tasty, and Nutella tiramisu was also excellent.
Also the drink prices were very reasonable too, a nice bottle of wine in a restaurant for less than 15 euros.
I can't praise this restaurant enough and cannot wait to go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A lovely meal for €16.90 beginning with a salad, a lovely meat or seafood dish. Choose the cafe gourmand desert and get an expresso with a selection of the desserts on a plate. Great value for €6.00. The house red was also delicious, well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Assiette au Boeuf also viewed

Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
 

Been to L'Assiette au Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing