We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative, if Unspectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Boves Tour

Les Boves Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Arras
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Informative, if Unspectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well worth doing, though history buffs will enjoy Wellington Quarry far more. In any case, this tour explores the history of Arras as a chalk quarry from Roman times up to the 20th century. As one can imagine, the tunnels have a long history! The guide was quite good, though I'm thankful I speak French since her English versions of her stories were quite abbreviated at times (hence 4 stars, not 5).

Do this as a package with the Belfry, Les Boves and the Wellington Quarry to get a sense of the region.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    65
    19
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a combined ticket for the Boves and Beffroi. Tickets are timed and we were greated at the appointed time by our guide who was friendly and knowledgeable. She made the safety announcements in French and asked if there were any English in the group - she then did the same talk in fluent English. At each point during the tour she did the talk in both french and English - very impressive. We were given plenty of interesting information and time to look at features she pointed out. The tour was less than 1 hour long and took in only some of the tunnels, I would have preferred more but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mumof2boys1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Agree with sad attempt to create tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had read with delight that the gardens would be open during my visit to Arras. What a disappointment. Nationally themed plots were poorly arranged. Little history provided as to the origins of the tunnels and their significance in the region. Tour was a stark contrast to the wonderful tour we had that same afternoon at Vimy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S336m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“French accent”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The guided tour by the Tourist Office was somewhat spoilt by the heavy French accented English which made the explanations hard to follow. There isn't a huge amount to see and it's not that interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Underground tunnels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Guided tour by english speaking guide. Explained the history of the tunnels and how the people of Arras used them during the two World Wars. Can be a bit wet as the rain percolates through!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye11_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Boves Tour also viewed

 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Les Boves Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing