We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Versailles exhibit well worth a visit”

Musee de Beaux-Arts
Ranked #7 of 45 things to do in Arras
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Versailles exhibit well worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I spent a morning touring the Versailles exhibit of carriages and sledges. The Musee de Beaux-Arts and Versailles formed a partnership and this exhibit in Arras includes articles and paintings originating from Versailles. I was very impressed with the finery and craftsmanship of the carriages. The exhibit also includes paintings from the same era, and an excellent video at the end of the tour which addresses how the carriages are constructed, and evolved over the years.

We visited Versailles later in the week, after seeing the Arras exhibit, so it was a great find with a fraction of the crowds. We purchased a Versailles Pass at the Arras tourism office which got us access to the exhibition at a discounted price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    95
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Exhibition of Carriages from Versailles”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Whilst we were there this museum had an exhibition of Carraiges from Versailles which was breath taking, The regular artifacts were also worth a visit with some amazing Paintings .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Art”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

So much to see, you will need to allow plenty of time. This month (June 2013) there is an extra carriage exhibition from Versailles. It's a great opportunity to see something very unusual and interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful museum”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Ventured into here i will admit because it was warm! Beautiful place, and interesting range of exhibits. At the moment there is the carriages exhibition from versaille, which is just stunning. A few of the paintings I found hung at levels and angles that picked up light reflection, which was a shame. Very friendly place as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dominorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arras, France
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old abbaye and old art -- brilliant!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Loved the architecture, the size (it's small enough to do easily in a half-day) and the surprisingly large display of art work. Parking can be a challenge during the tourist season, even though there is a good parking lot right next to the abbaye. This little-known spot is a jewel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de Beaux-Arts also viewed

 

Been to Musee de Beaux-Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing