We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Arras
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Arras
near Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We (a family of four - including an 8 and 6 year old) stayed here for two nights as part of our European adventure. We arrived by train from Paris, on our way to visit the Canadian War Memorial, Vimy Ridge. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station. This convenience can also be a hinderance as trains continued throughout the night along with the station loud speaker. When the windows closed, it was not too much of a bother. The hotel is within walking distance of its main square. A lovely little town. The hotel has the basics and were pleasantly surprised about the ample size of the room (a double bed and a pull out sofa). The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. The best deal about this hotel is the great breakfast, that was included in the room rate! (most hotels we stayed at had a high price for the breakfasts). This "contenental" breakfast included various items such as coffe, tea, hot chocolate, juices, milk, cold crereals, yogurts, cold meats, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, various breads, croissants, muffins, fresh fruit. We were happy with our stay at this hotel. It is not fancy but very clean and the breakfast was satisfying.

  • Liked — great breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfun2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    241
    102
    21
    6
See reviews for
115
167
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
390 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night to break up our joirney from home (South East UK) to Chatillon-sur-Loire. We received a warm & friendly welcome even though we arrived at close to 1:30am. Reception spoke excellent English, after my little amount of French speaking skills proved insufficient.

Parking is available in the underground car park but it was closed by the time we arrived so we parked on the main square and pre-fed the meter so we didn't have to be up by 9am, when the charging period begins.

The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom spotless - I would equate the room to an average Travelodge. We could hear the trains and station announcements but we were tired so we still got a good night's sleep. For light sleepers, or those bothered by noise, I would recommend bringing earplugs, however.

Breakfast in the morning (included in the room rate) had plenty of choice e.g. fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads, pastries, cheese, meat, etc. Check-out was smooth and simple, and once again polite and friendly.

I would recommend the hotel as good basic accommodation, the same as I would a Travelodge. Although I must admit I can't comment on pricing / value as we paid for our night using points I had accumulated from American Airlines.

  • Liked — Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Town centre location.
  • Disliked — Bed is a standard double (prefer king size). Noise from station can wake you up.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
325 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

clean and easy to find hotel in town has no restaurant for evening meals but found something suitable only 100 yards away.breakfast in hotel was fine we did find train noise intrusive however in room.arras is a fine town worth exploring in itself a must is the new arras caves/tunnels recently excavated and opened only in march.this is where the british troops were house d prioir to the offensive on ww1 a must.one word of warning.the hotel carpark is undernesth the hotel the spaces are very narrow. after i got home i discovered a careless french motorist had scraoped my bumper and wing and left me no note but 300 pounds worth of damage. try to find a space well aay from others if possible.thi seems to be a feature of all french underground carparks pillars and obstructed spaces seem common.the car park is also not particularly cheap-and for me very expensive!

  • Liked — room central and clean
  • Disliked — noisy car park small and difficult
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

The hotel was very clean bright and welcoming. Rooms well up to standard and staff helpful. The only criticism, and it was a real problem, was the suffocating heat within the room and hotel. Windows could not be opened so a somewhat stifling night spoiled an otherwise very good hotel. Higly recommended for hothouse plants!

  • Liked — Good size comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Ridiculous level of heating- Sahara like experience! Windows could not be opened.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

Booked at the very last minute with RatesToGo.com for around 70 euro per night, that's an excellent hotel. Unfortunately, it is very close to the railway station, so it is quite noisy at times (you can hear the speaker and the trains passing).
The rooms are newly furnitured and clean, and the staff efficient.
It is located at just a 10 minutes walk from the center of the city and it has a private but quite expensive parking (8€/day). You can park the car also in the street for free from 6pm to 9am in the night.
Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Filippo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley Lancs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in a family room with our two children and we had a great time.The hotel is modern and very clean and the buffet breakfasts were excellent,with plenty of choice.The staff were very helpful,and yes they all spoke english.We went to paris one day by train and for this the hotel is in the best location.Our room was across from the station and yes we did hear trains but it didnt disturb us at all.If you are a light sleeper maybe wear ear plugs but in our opinion this hotel looked like one of the best in the area.Cant wait to stay here again.

  • Liked — the breakfast and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We stopped over in Arras on route from Holland to Paris. The holiday Inn is relatively easy to find as long as you follow signs to the station and avoid "centrum" in which case you could end up going round and round the town - like me.

The hotel is near the station with underground parking adjacent for about 9 Euros. There were, however, always metered parking spaces available in the street. Meters are free before 9am, between 12-2pm and after 6. So with proper planning you can limit the cost to a few Euros. We parked right outside the hotel entrance every night.

The street outside looks a bit dodgy - darkish and opposite the railway. I bet if it had been the UK we'd have been broken into! However, we experienced no problems.

WE didn't have any problem with noise from trains even thogh we overlooked the station. The Air Con, however, was a bit noisy when on standby but OK when switched on.

Room rates at the Holiday inn were very competitive and the usual continental breakfast was good. Breakfast room was light and airy. Hotel public areas were clean and modern. Small bar in reception area was busy with guests in the evening.

It's a short walk into the town. Impressive 17thC squares designed, like the nearby citadel, by Vauban. A wide choice of food on offer including Subway! We tried an Algerian restaurant offering kebabs and cous cous. Interesting and cheap. The next night we went to a restaurant serving Savoyard specialities which turned out to be a dish with an improbable amount of flourescent yellow cheese. Savoyards must have serious cholestrol problems.

The weekend market was disappointing. Rather than the expected farmers market of fresh foods and craft items it seemed all to be plastic tat.

Arras is well placed for a visit to the Canadian War Memorial on Vimy ridge. Allow at least 1/2 a day to see the monument, museum and take the underground tour. Nearby Zivy Crater Memorial is also poigniant. Lens is a short drive from Vimy. I thought I was back in Wales what with the emphasis on rugby, coal tips and the pithead gear! Plus McDonalds near a big Carrefour.

While its not really a destination it's hard to beat as a stopover on a longer journey and has enough local interest to keep you busy for a full day.

  • Liked — Low cost
  • Disliked — parking facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adrianhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Arras
B&B Hotel Arras
#7 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Arras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Arras

Property: Holiday Inn Express Arras
Address: 3 rue du Docteur Brassart, 62000, Arras, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Arras 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 large rooms, Free Wifi, recently renovated lounge bar (February 2012), Airconditioning, Continental buffet breakfast, meeting rooms, public car park with direct access to reception desk, and a friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Arras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Arras Hotel Arras
Arras Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing