We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
145
271
115
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
271
115
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station car park good size boiled eggs croissants air con breakfast included town centre vimy ridge the hotel reception bathroom door direct access fresh orange juice small bar modern hotel free wifi bread
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here as the final night of a 17–day driving holiday in France. We’d booked and paid in advance the day before, based on previous reviews and that the hotel was rated #1 in Arras (at the time).

The hotel is located about a 10-minute walk from the city centre, right next to the railway station.
On arrival, the car park wasn’t easy to find, we though it would be at the hotel location, but it’s about 50 metres past it. The car park is a public car park which also serves the Mercure opposite the Holiday Inn Express. It’s an underground car park and finding a parking space was difficult. We eventually managed to find one on the entry level though. Bizarrely loud disco music was played in the car park at the time we arrived, and also when we left the following day.

When we checked in we found we’d been allocated a dark twin room, not the double as requested. So we went back down to Reception and asked to be moved. The helpful reception staff found us a double room facing the station. The second room was a double and larger than the twin. Unfortunately that’s where the positives end.

#1 in Arras ? Some of these people must be joking. Excellent and Very Good ratings just because it’s clean and staff are helpful ? Surely that’s a basic requirement for any hotel, in which case mark it Average then make a case for a higher rating !

Anyway, the double room we had was awful, dark and dingy. Although the room looked superficially clean, the shower tray was mouldy in places, the net curtains were yellow and looked like they hadn’t been washed since the place was built. The air vent to the street was also dirty. If we hadn’t prepaid we would have left right then.

The trains during the night were noisy, despite the double-glazed windows., so we didn’t have a particularly restful night.

Couldn’t wait to leave in the morning, but we did stop for the inclusive breakfast, which was nothing special, chewy croissants and tasteless drinks.

Room Tip: Win the lottery and stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobWrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-Henry A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Arras, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to learn, that your stay was not the one expected.

Our records show you booked on standard room (CSTN) which could be twin or double. Upon availabilities.

The double room you had, was the room 216. The window has been changed recently, so we do not understand your complaint about the noise. Maybe the window was not well closed.

About the cleanliness, we have just checked the room. It is a litlle late because you stayed mid june, but, we informed the housekeeping manager. We regret you did not mentionned these issues to our receptionnist at check in or check out. I am sure we could do something to make you satisfied.

About the tasteless breakfast, we offer Granini orange juice, and fresh orange juice, Segafredo coffee and our pastries are delivered each morning by a local (and traditional) baker.
Nobody complains about the free breakfast offered in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to give you a better service the next time you come in Arras.

Best regards,

Charles-Henry Ansart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location for the centre of Arras and the many WW1 sites around. Stayed 2 nights and the staff were very accommodating and friendly and there is a really good mini Gym on site. ~If you want to park your car there is a car public car park underneath the hotel and ask the attendant for a 3, 4 or 5 day pass that allows you to enter and exit as many times as you want while the ticket is valid.

If you are going by train the station is about 2 mis walk away opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whizzer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good location v close to the station but surprisingly quiet. Good size room and very clean. Probably a cross between a Premier Inn and a Travelodge.
Wi-fi is free and worked well for e-mails but it seemed that you had to log on to another site to for social networks etc and had to use 3G. Breakfast was quite adequate but dining room gets busy and probably worth getting down early. We were travelling with fellow Leyton Orient supporters for "The Somme" trip so the Hotel was well located for our trips. Also, it would be handy to take the TGV to Paris. Arras itself is a very pleasant Town and there are plenty of places to eat or drink. Overall, I would recommend this Hotel. Not luxury but quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2014. There was virtually nothing to complain about.
Although it is near the station, we only ever heard 1 train, and that was mid-day. The rooms are double-glazed and air-conditioned anyway.
Food is excellent, with enough available at breakfast to last you all day. Rooms were clean and tidy.
The only minor criticism was....there weren't enough coat-hangers in the room......take a few with you.
Enjoy your stay, we did.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back don't have much of a view.........if that matters.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I wanted a pet-friendly hotel on the French side of the Channel Tunnel and this was very convenient. Everything was clean and welcoming and I could not fault the room. The free wi-fi was excellent but did not seem to stretch to the breakfast room. This did not matter too much as the breakfast took my mind off the internet. The lady looking after breakfast was cute so that helped too.

The underground car park was rather dimly lit but I think this is not the hotel's fault.

I plan to stay again on my return journey.

Room Tip: Room 413 is a generous size and has a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mi_nombre_aqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews