We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
145
271
115
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
271
115
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcar parkgood sizeboiled eggscroissantsair conbreakfast includedtown centrevimy ridgethe hotel receptionbathroom doordirect accessfresh orange juicesmall barmodern hotelfree wifibread
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had an excellent stay at the holiday inn express Arras. The hotel is located near the city centre and at walking distance from the train and bus station.
Rooms on the forth floor are very spacious, quietly and are well designed.
Breakfast was also more than okay!

Room Tip: The more spacious rooms are on the forth floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kortrijk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Typical HI EX with reasonable room size and compact bathroom with unusual toilet/door arrangement, that was at least "character"! Not as clean as I would expect today reasonably quiet considering the proximity to the main train station. Breakfast was continental with only one coffee machine, causing a queue at all times exacerbated by the silly layout of the food and utensils, this area needs a serious rethink!
Pleasant staff, particularly in the bar on Sunday night (late)!

Room Tip: Away from the railway
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Brigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Arras, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Chris-Brigg,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. Your compliments about the staff being pleasant and quiet environment is very much appreciated. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the room quality and your experience during breakfast prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are very sorry for any inconvenience these aspects have caused.

As a valued guest, please know that all comments are acted upon, and used to improve the quality of products and services we provide to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back and restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for a night visiting the Somme area and on our way through to Germany and Austria.

Really well positioned, lots of shops, small places to eat etc, we would stay here again should we visit this area.

The bar was open pretty late and the staff were really friendly, we dont speak french but the reception all spoke brilliant english.

It is an ideal location if you are visiting the memorials and i would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanglish80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just few hundred meters from railway station. Easy to find. Nice room upgrade for Platinum members. Room with balcony is really nice. Room not so clean (stains on pillow). Breakfast room very nice and clean as well as lobby area. Staff nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Arras, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Alexa2706,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here as the final night of a 17–day driving holiday in France. We’d booked and paid in advance the day before, based on previous reviews and that the hotel was rated #1 in Arras (at the time).

The hotel is located about a 10-minute walk from the city centre, right next to the railway station.
On arrival, the car park wasn’t easy to find, we though it would be at the hotel location, but it’s about 50 metres past it. The car park is a public car park which also serves the Mercure opposite the Holiday Inn Express. It’s an underground car park and finding a parking space was difficult. We eventually managed to find one on the entry level though. Bizarrely loud disco music was played in the car park at the time we arrived, and also when we left the following day.

When we checked in we found we’d been allocated a dark twin room, not the double as requested. So we went back down to Reception and asked to be moved. The helpful reception staff found us a double room facing the station. The second room was a double and larger than the twin. Unfortunately that’s where the positives end.

#1 in Arras ? Some of these people must be joking. Excellent and Very Good ratings just because it’s clean and staff are helpful ? Surely that’s a basic requirement for any hotel, in which case mark it Average then make a case for a higher rating !

Anyway, the double room we had was awful, dark and dingy. Although the room looked superficially clean, the shower tray was mouldy in places, the net curtains were yellow and looked like they hadn’t been washed since the place was built. The air vent to the street was also dirty. If we hadn’t prepaid we would have left right then.

The trains during the night were noisy, despite the double-glazed windows., so we didn’t have a particularly restful night.

Couldn’t wait to leave in the morning, but we did stop for the inclusive breakfast, which was nothing special, chewy croissants and tasteless drinks.

Room Tip: Win the lottery and stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobWrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-Henry A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Arras, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to learn, that your stay was not the one expected.

Our records show you booked on standard room (CSTN) which could be twin or double. Upon availabilities.

The double room you had, was the room 216. The window has been changed recently, so we do not understand your complaint about the noise. Maybe the window was not well closed.

About the cleanliness, we have just checked the room. It is a litlle late because you stayed mid june, but, we informed the housekeeping manager. We regret you did not mentionned these issues to our receptionnist at check in or check out. I am sure we could do something to make you satisfied.

About the tasteless breakfast, we offer Granini orange juice, and fresh orange juice, Segafredo coffee and our pastries are delivered each morning by a local (and traditional) baker.
Nobody complains about the free breakfast offered in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to give you a better service the next time you come in Arras.

Best regards,

Charles-Henry Ansart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews