We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Arras
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 days in late July 2014. We were put in a room overlooking the TGV line. It was very noisy each time a TGV went by. That made it difficult to sleep. All the time we were here, only 1 of the 2 lifts was operating. We were on the 3rd floor, which was very bad news. Tehn, just to make it worse, they gave the lift to the sole use of a tradesman, so there were no lifts for customers.
As someone has already pointed out, the parking is very expensive for a small town 2 star hotel.
The room was very basic, and the bathroom was just too small.
The only good point was the breakfast room, and the breakfast.
The location is good, only a few minutes walk to the centre.

Room Tip: Do not allow yourself to be put in a room close to the TGV line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Arras, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear ancientobserver,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Arras. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice location and lovely breakfast room. Helpful staff and good clean rooms with air con. Basic rooms but well worth the money paid, only downside is the parking is a bit expensive as its not run by the hotel. Did find some lovely restaurants nearby and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is outstanding value, right in the centre of the interesting town of Arras, and just opposite the station. It's exactly what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn ( in a good way), and ideal for us travelling back from the South of France to break our journey en route to Calais. We had a decent sized family room with breakfast included for a very decent price. Arras is worth a look - a lot of history from both WW1 and WW2 - and a very pleasant main square with places to eat and drink. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel about a year ago as a stopover on a journey deeper into France. It really was just a bed for the night and we arrived late and left early.

This time we came to Arras to spend a little time (still just one night) in the town itself.

The hotel is easy to get to by car. It's also next to the station so I have to assume it's even easier to get to by train. There is a large car park underneath the hotel and parking costs €10 for the night.

We were staying using reward points however this is not an expensive hotel. Our check in was efficient and I was told that because I was a platinum member, I had been upgraded to a superior room. To be honest I thought the receptionist was joking because every room in every Holiday Inn Express is identical around the world (more or less) however upon arriving at our room it was indeed very large and had a nice stereo alarm clock and big comfy sofa (that pulled out into a bed for the kids). Certainly a step up from your usual Holiday Inn Express.

We had a couple of drinks in the small bar area before heading out into Arras for a nice meal and then turning in for the night.

In the morning we had breakfast which with a Holiday Inn Express is always included in the room rate. This consisted of toast, croissants, various cold meats and cheese and a few dairy products. Don't expect a full english but as you can have as much as you want it's more than enough to set you up for the day.

Again checkout was efficient and before we knew it we were back in the car heading north to Calais.

It's also worth mentioning that WiFi is available throughout the hotel for free and unlike some Crowne Plaza hotels I have stayed in this year, the Internet is actually of a usable speed.

So a nice small hotel with attentive and friendly staff in a good location and at a good price. On top of that, Arras is a nice town with lots of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

I would be quite happy to stay here again and maybe even for more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarkRoddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed two nights in this hotel: a couple with two pre teen kids. On arrival there was a minor problem with our room: we spoke to reception, who called the Duty Manager. Within 10 mins of arrival, he took charge, (upgraded us!), resolved the situation and oversaw everything to our satisfaction. The hotel was centrally located and just minutes on foot from the pretty centre. A short drive also to the WW1 sites. Would recommend, and would stay again. Thanks to all the friendly and polite staff (reception, breakfast etc) for a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

To be honest there aren't many great hotels in Arras - so this is certainly the best option in the city for those looking to be fairly close to the centre.

Positives - ten minute walk away from main squares, the town hall and shopping areas - and a 10 minute walk from the Wellington Quarry (a must - see other review). Good size rooms (front of hotel 4th floor), good selection at breakfast, fast and free wifi, secure parking under hotel with direct access vis lift (but public car park - chargeable at 10 euros 50 cents a day), friendly reception staff who speak English. Reasonable priced hotel - we'd paid about 90 euros per night for a large family room. Lots of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance, quiet at night as not many passers by.

Negatives - you can hear the trains during the night as the line is immediately opposite the hotel so if you're a light sleeper bring foam ear plugs, not many English TV channels ( just news), does get busy with battlefield tour parties.

Tip - bigger rooms are at front of hotel (although overlook train station and road). You can park for free on the road outside the hotel from 6pm on a Saturday and all of Sunday so you don't need to use the underground car park on those days. Get to breakfast early for best selection of pastries and make your own orange juice using the machine rather than drinking the ready made stuff - so much nicer!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank PuttingPenToPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent a few days staying here from 30 Jun 14 until 03 Jul 14 using it as a base to visit many of the Somme battle sites both in the area and in Belgium.
The hotel is clean comfortable and well placed in the town with many restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity and the town squares a short walk away. The hotel Staff were extremely helpful though, as previous reviewers have mentioned, when busy, the bar is a little overwhelmed with only the night porter/receptionist was available to serve. I have to say that the gentleman on duty went above and beyond to try to serve everyone!
Access to the main road network is easy and the hotel/town are a great base for visiting the local area.
Rooms are clean, tidy and spacious and if you manage to get a room on the top floor, there is a little balcony where you can enjoy the summer sun!
I would highly recommend the hotel for anyone on a trip such as ours.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms offer a small balcony which is great in summer with a nice cool glass of something w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
0.3 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Arras
Inter-Hotel Arras
#11 of 14 in Arras
16 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Arras
B&B Hotel Arras
#7 of 14 in Arras
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Arras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Arras

Address: 3 rue du Docteur Brassart, 62000, Arras, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range: £68 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Arras 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 large rooms, Free Wifi, recently renovated lounge bar (February 2012), Airconditioning, Continental buffet breakfast, meeting rooms, public car park with direct access to reception desk, and a friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Arras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Arras Hotel Arras
Arras Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing