We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not safe and run down - sleep in your car”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Inter-Hotel Arras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inter-Hotel Arras
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Fremont, California
1 review
“Not safe and run down - sleep in your car”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Hope you read this before you book. I'm not a picky traveler so one star is not an exaggeration of how BAD this place is.
Here are the facts:
~ outside Arras, nothing within walking distance
~ entrance overgrown with weeds and debris; whole property littered and run down, broken concrete, etc. Think French hillbilly.
~ the room was disgusting - sink did not drain, mold and mildew in the shower, some kind of liquid had dried on the bedroom walls as it dripped down, drool stains on the cushions and down the sides of the bed base, and the bed spreads (I know what drool stains look like thanks to my husband).
~ family rooms are on TOP floor and there is no elevator, so families have to carry their luggage three floors up.
~interior hallways are pitch dark, no lighting in the hallways at night is a security and safety risk!
~exterior doors at end of hallways do not close; the door stood open all night leading to our dark hallway.
~there is no one on the property after 9pm, you check in via a machine in the lobby and good luck finding your room in the dark hallways.
~No lights in the rooms. There were six lights in our room; one near the beds worked, and one in the entry worked. Not enough for us to read, but enough to help us ignore the stains on the walls and mattresses.
~exterior stairway has been repaired with brackets where it has fallen apart - careful!
~that smell - don't know what it is, but it is there. Wouldn't stay here if I was pregnant; just in case.

This place screams lawsuit.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MollyBDenum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    23
    32
    42
See reviews for
21
31
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night en route to the channel tunnel and return to England after our holiday in Italy via France.

Expected rather more for our money than we actually got! Agree with all the other reviews on the page, that the Hotel is rather tired and in need of refurbishment, rooms are small as are bathrooms, and it failed to deliver what we expected for the price. The cost was high compared with, for example, a Campanile that we stayed in the previous night where the room and breakfast were excellent. Avoid this one if you can!

Room Tip: Only saw our one room which was just about ok, twin beds, but quite small and airless in the hot wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMM6313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arras hotels

Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,284 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I nearly walked out shortly after entering the hotel as the lobby smelled of sewage. However, I knew that we would not find another family room in Arras for the night and so we stuck it out. The hotel is severely "tired" and very run down. It needs a considerable amount of money to be spent updating it. The carpets are filthy. Our room was grotty in the extreme. The bedding was clean and reasonably comfortable but it smelled of smoke, the carpet was dirty and the bathroom was old, tired and again smelly. So smelly we did not feel we could shower in it. Really, it was tolerable for one night but we would not have stayed any longer and would never return. Only stay here if you are totally desperate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Cheap for a reason. A very dated property that is in desperate need of refurbishment. Rooms and communal areas are poorly lit. Few room lights work. In one room the shower had mouldy seals and a hand-held shower head! Bed linen is cheap and uncomfortable.

On a positive note, you do get what you pay for. The breakfast is basic continental and reasonable. The staff are friendly and the place is quiet.

On the whole, however this place in my opinion is not up to 2 star standard.

Good location to the east of Arras for exploring the local area (WW1 battlefields, etc), but away from public transport links so own transport is a must. The car park is ok. The restaurant is closed at weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreMalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Miles out of the centre. Poor room-very small. Bathroom tiny. So basic. Cleanish. Lightbulbs missing so really, really dim. The only plus is that the place is dog friendly. I use Citadines, which I thought is a related company to Balladins, which is a good company, so expected more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbitmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is a horrible hotel. My friend and I had a room each both of which stank of cigarette smoke. I changed and the 2nd room was marginally better. My friend's room was so bad that the smell permeated through everything he was wearing the next day. On top of that, the bed cover was covered in cigarette burns, bedside light didn't work, shower was mouldy with nowhere to put shower head.
The car park had more than a few cars with eastern european plates too. Read what you will into that.
It's cheap for a reason.
Frankly, I would rather have slept in the car and nearly did.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingPigPorksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed for one night only ( Thank god) on a business trip, as I had run short of time, and could not find anywhere else to stay. The room was small and basic, compared to other budget hotels,
but I must say it was clean, and bed was comfortable. The staff I found to be very friendly, spoke
good english and helpful. I found the the hotel quite noisy. Breakfast was not bad, and good value for what it was. Hotel is adequate, if you are on a low budget. One night was long enough, would not stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintsboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arras
3.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Arras
B&B Hotel Arras
#8 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Arras - Saint-Laurent-Blangy - Parc Expo
Premiere Classe Arras - Saint-La...
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-Blangy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.4 mi away
hotelF1 Arras Est
hotelF1 Arras Est
#1 of 1 in Tilloy-les-Mofflaines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter-Hotel Arras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Hotel Arras

Property: Inter-Hotel Arras
Address: 4 Rue des Fleurs, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Inter-Hotel Arras 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 3 km from the historic centre of Arras and 5 minutes from the railway station, the hotel balladins is ideal for both leisure and business stays, as it is close to Artois Expo, the Wellington Quarry, the Citadel and the Canadian National Vimy Memorial. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inter-Hotel Arras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arras Balladins
Balladins Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing