We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incorrect menu prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Leffe

Cafe Leffe
Ranked #118 of 174 Restaurants in Arras
Cuisines: French, Bar, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Incorrect menu prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I had quite a nice lunch overlooking the Place des Heros. A foie gras salad & my nephew had a hamburger and fries. But both items were incorrectly priced on the menu which meant the bill was a bit of a surprise. The waiter explained they couldn't re-print the menu… but they should at least warn customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    47
    33
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deux-Sevres, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A great selection of beers and a menu which recommends certain beers with certain foods.

We sat outside on the square and watched the world go by. A nice stop off to quench your thirst !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JFHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our go to place in Arras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent 6 days in Arras and the local area. Being from Canada, a slightly jet lagged our hours were a little off for most of the time we were there. France has very set hours for meals so it was a little difficult to eat at times. But the Café Leffe serves food and drinks all day long. So from morning coffees to late evening drinks we found ourselves stopping here quite often.

The location is excellent, right on the Place des Heros and great outside seating. We ate various meals, from pizzas, to French fare. All of our meals were more than acceptable and great value for the cost.

The service is typically French so not quite what we're used to but more than acceptable compared to other places we ate at.

The ambience, sitting on the square is very Parisian and we enjoyed our meals and drinks there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

staying in Arras was a delight, but getting great food proved a problem for us.

we love moules frites and therefore presumed that a french cafe would know what they were doing. We ate in The first pan of moules was awful. The moules were hot and baked dry. I do believe they had been taken from the chiller and flasked in the oven. We pointed this out and a second batch arrived. Exactly the same with frites that were brown and chewy. The service was at best slow...but really this was just terrible. Cafe Leffe is a chain and the concept of fresh moules doesn't fit in with their methods. They couldn't have been more unhelpful. Shame on them.

Now i know that Arras isn't by the coast, but neither is bethune and we had a brilliant meal there two days before.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellis661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Redeemed themselves brilliantly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stopped for lunch on way back to Calais and after waiting 20 minutes before even being acknowledged was about to walk out. They then realised their error as were busy with Saturday lunch crowd and were absolutely brilliant. Could not have been more attentive and the food was superb and really good value. They really turned it around and it was a really enjoyable experience, A member of staff explained what had happened and told us that two of drinks would not be charged for, we also met his young sons who were charming. This is a great example of good service and doing basics of customer service really well. I would happily revisit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Leffe also viewed

Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Cafe Leffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing