We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cold weather, Warm welcome”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of L'ecole au gite

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Arras, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kwicksy
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cold weather, Warm welcome ”
Reviewed 9 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were given a warm welcome by the owner who lit the pellet fed fire that soon warmed the house up nicely.
The kitchen was well equipped with all our needs and everything worked well. The bedrooms were adequate with hanging spaces and cute lockable lockers. The bathrooms were a good size and the plumbing good . Most importantly the house is suitable for wheelchair access on the ground floor including the bathroom. The house was very clean and in good condition .The owners are very friendly but not intrusive, we liked them very much.
I have no hesitation in recommending this gite
It is perfectly placed for exploring the battlefields and for the great architecture in the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
robert w
Flint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent holiday property”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Myself and seven other family members including my two grandchildren have just returned form a seven night holiday in this lovely gite. We found it to be very comfortable, clean, very well equipped. The accommodation is arranged over two floors with two bedrooms bathroom and toilet upstairs. Downstairs there is a double bedroom with en-suite wet room and toilet. The kitchen includes every thing you could possibly need including a dishwasher, there is also a washer dryer. The decor is in keeping with the building and has a school theme. Outside there is a patio area with picnic table and a lawned area for children to play on which is very private and with room for parking and all enclosed by remote electronic gates. The gite is wonderfully located to explore this region especially all the world war one memorial sites and not to far from the coast
which has marvellous beaches. The city of Arras is only 10 minutes away where everything you need can be found. The owners Anne clair and Mathieu are both very pleasant and helpful and we would highly recommend this gite to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis D
2 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The "L'ecole au gite" is a very nice and clean place.
When you will leave "L'ecole au gite" for sure you will think to return.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We didn't want to leave it was a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a splendid stay at Ecole au Gite. The place is clean, spacious and recently renovated, the modern kitchen is well equipped. We were there with our five adult children over Christmas for a period of 9 days and never once felt crowded - it worked very well. We just loved the fire that burned recycled wood beads it was all very cosy.
We were ostensibly staying in the area to visit our great uncle's grave at Sucrerie Colin Camps on the 100th anniversary of his death at just 16 yrs old but Ecole au Gite was good central location close to Arras, Lens and Lille.
We highly recommend this accommodation and location especially if you like it quiet. Agnez-lès-Duisans is a small village with only a bakery but what a bakery.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Websters1...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were welcomed into the gite with a log fire already lit, a nice touch on a Octobers afternoon. The place was decorated lovely and was spacious for a family of 4 and a family of 3 together. The kids loved exploring round and were particularly fond of the dortoir which had two sets of bunks and their own private lockers with keys to keep thier toys in etc. You will need a car to travel around around as the area is quite remote but a large supermarket called " auchan" can be reached in 10-15 minutes. The only watch out is the stairs are not suitable for toddlers. Our children are 6 and 7 and we still found ourselves saying be careful on the stairs which they were. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking nice French dinners and the owners were really friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend and would return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property felt really homely
Liked least: The stairs are beautiful and modern but not for very young children
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara M
1 review
“Cute place to stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a nice stay at Ecole au Gite. The place is clean, cute and recently renovated, the modern kitchen is well equipped and the whole place is very suitable for kids. Thank you Matthieu for arranging an extra baby crib and for your hospitality :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing