We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What More Could You Wish For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or
Ranked #1 of 18 Arras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What More Could You Wish For”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is our second stay at La Corne d'Or and it certainly wont be our last.
I stayed here with my father and daughter and a friend with his daughter and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean with excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room with a table set for a king. The produce is fresh and plentiful with some homemade produce. Our hosts Rodney and Philipe are so accommodating and friendly that you could quite easily spend the day chatting to them. We were touring the area regarding the WW1 battles and Rodney's knowledge was so helpful.
We are returning again this time with 15 of us and I know that we will all enjoy our stay.
Thank you Rodney & Philipe for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholls675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
183
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here in May with some American relatives and it was 'simply the best'. We didn't want to stay in a chain hotel and we weren't disappointed. Typically French,charming rooms, very clean and more than comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with local products and the hosts were very welcoming. We would certainly stay here again if we retuned to Arras.

Room Tip: Loft very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29Florida2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Endorse all the other reviews. We stayed with Rodney and Phillippe for four nights 22nd June 2013. Ignore the Google Street View. Once inside a warm welcome is guaranteed, and the rooms are airy, comfortable and elegant. The Hotel is well situated, being in the centre of Arras and only 100 meters or so to the two main squares. Arras is a bit if a hidden gem, and an excellent base to explore the WW1 Battlefields. Rodney is ex Government Service and is well versed in the history of Australian and NZ involvement in the Somme. Summary, Rodney and Phillippe are great hosts, and if you are lucky enough to get a room here, book it!

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are well appointed. Best option is to email and discuss your requirements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at La Corne d'Or recently with 2 friends on an extensive tour of Great War cemeteries in France as part of a couple of research projects the three of us are involved in.

Although not over inviting from the exterior that all changes as soon as you walk through the door. Rodney and Phillipe have taken over the premises fairly recently but definately know what their visitors need and do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one.

Our suite of rooms (including a small kitchen area, living area as well as the beds and bathroom was spacious and comfortable although I personally found it a little tricky to get in and out of the bath.

The breakfasts were excellent and always enlivened by some great stories from Rodney who was also extremely helpful with local advice. Parking in a small car park the other side of the road was fine for us but secure parking is also available.

Located near the Main Square it is as central in Arras as you can be but was still quiet.

Definately a place I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boabdil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Travelled here during our trip to Villers-Brettoneux for Anzac Day. Had been recommended this B&B by Western Front Tours and what a unexpected gem of a place this was. The rooms were fantastic with so much charm & style , the breakfast room was outstanding and the breakfast fabulous. The choice of teas and marmalades never ending Rodney & Phillipe were outstanding hosts and gave excellent recommendations for places to eat & drink. Rodney was ever so charming and when we saw him a couple days later at the Dawn Service was like a long lost friend- no wonder they gave him an honour for outstanding work he had done in the region whlist based at the Australian Embassy! I am sure that this B&B will get even better as they settle into running a magnificent B&B

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I travelled to France with my 18yo son to pay our respects to our WW1 soldiers. We were recommended to stay at La Corne d'Or. Rodney and Phillipe are wonderful hosts, the rooms are excellent, the building is rustic and charming. It is a short walk to Grand Place. Do not look further than this hotel.

Room Tip: We had the nature suite with twin rooms. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajetidreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

First impressions were not promising – the outside of the building did not look very inviting and when we rang the bell we did not get any response at first (you need to press it hard). But once we got inside things started to look up. Indeed we also had to climb up as we had booked the loft which involves going up about 60 steps – so if you choose this room then don’t take too much heavy luggage!

Our room was very large, and like the rest of the house furnished and decorated with style. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good walk-in shower big enough for a few close friends. To nit pick, the lights over the mirror were not ideal for either shaving or make-up, and we would have welcomed a comfortable sofa instead of having to climb up onto high chairs round a table – which admittedly looked great.

There was a very good range of food and drink on offer for breakfast, but a list of what was available could not demonstrate why it was so special – everything was of absolutely excellent quality and many items were local or home made. I don’t think I have ever had a better “continental” breakfast in an hotel or B&B anywhere.

Rodney and Philippe, the owners, were charming hosts.

If you like the certainty of chain hotels this is not the place for you – but we found it delightfully different. I am not surprised that when we booked several months ago only one room was available.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or

Property: La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or
Address: 1 Place Guy Mollet, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of the historic city of Arras, experience the charm of an original 18th century home with all of the conveniences of the 21st Century. Tastefully renovated, "La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or" features 5 rooms and 2 guest lounges. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, TV and CD player. Art exhibits adorn our guest home and add to your cultural experience! Read the reviews for first-hand accounts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Hotes - La Corne d`Or Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing