We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, Historic, Delightful...Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or
Ranked #1 of 17 Arras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic, Historic, Delightful...Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Whilst booking two amazing days on the Somme battlefields with Western Front Tours (not currently listed on TripAdvisor, but highly recommended), the director suggested we stay at La Corne d'Or, as Arras was a very convenient centre in which to base ourselves. We are so glad we took his advice, as this hotel made an amazing and soulsearching journey all the more memorable.

The house itself has a wonderful feel to it, a real sense of the historic and the romantic. We were made to feel immediately at home by our hosts, who also make a great cooked breakfast with smoked bacon, and a French tea that we have since searched the world for (it was that good!) The rooms are, well, roomy, and retain an authentic feel, while we appreciated the contrastingly modern bathrooms which were light and clean. Corne d'Or only serves breakfast, but is located such that all of Arras' great restaurants and cafes are within a 5 minute walk.

Sometimes it's the little things that make a visit memorable. At La Corne d'Or it was having a cup of tea in the sitting room and looking through the picture books, and coming 'home' after dinner to a cozy night's sleep in a truly authentic French home.

If you are traversing the battlefields of the Somme or taking in a bit of French countryside, round out your journey by staying at La Corne d'Or in Arras...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD200956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
181
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We were late because our car had a flat tire. When we finally arrived at 00h00 we were tired. Mr. Smal picked up our luggage and made us immediately feel at home. Very welcoming, very nice rooms, great location, freshly cooked breakfast and an enthusiastic owner. If we had to think of one negative point it was the bed, which was a bit small. Thank you mr Smal!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egbertjonkheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

Myself and two friends spent 3 nights at La Corne d'Or, Arras. We have travelled to this part of France each Spring for the last five years visiting WW1 battlefields and enjoying a little French culture.
I can honestly say that La Corne d'Or is the best place we have stayed in !
This hotel is a fantastic place to stay and I can only agree with the previous reviewers who praise the owner Franck for his outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerciaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

We spent 3 nights in the Regina Suite while we followed in my grandfathers footsteps during WW1. Our stay was absolutely perfect, thanks to the hospitality of Franck and Isabelle who were so welcoming, helpful and accommodating (especially to some Australian guests stranded by the Icelandic eruption).

So convenient, the Grand Place is just around the corner and parking is across the street.

If you are planning a trip to Arras or the Somme area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed 2 nights in Arras to do the Western Front Battlefields Tour. La Corne d'Or was recommended to us and our stay was excellent. Breakfast each morning was the highlight. The hotel is in a great central location in Arras and only a short walk to free parking for the car.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We have just returned from La Corne d'Or travelling as a group of five couples thereby taking over the entire house for 3 nights. All the bedrooms were delightful, each individual in character, some being larger than others (3 suites and 2 beddrooms). Nonetheless, all were very comfortable and there were no complaints from the rest of the group! Breakfasts were long and leisurely with Franck and Isabelle being extremely attentive and hospitable. Breakfasts exactly described on here, fesh fruit, bread, orange juice, eggs, cheese and French toast, tea and coffee.

When we arrived Franck asked us to treat the house as our own and to use the facilities of the sitting room, the dining room where tea and coffee were constantly available and the fridge to store our drinks. Franck's English is perfect and he was always happy to engage in conversation, make recommendations for local restaurants or to offer any advice. The house is in a perfect location so close to the town, shops, restaurants and the car park is literally directly across the road. Franck and Isabelle are creating a lovely concept in guest accommodation in a property which is full of character and modern chic but without losing any of its tradtional features. They deserve to do well and we would love to go back one day.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smudge54England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Just back from a recent night at La Corne d'Or and it fully met all our expectations from the other reviews on here. We couldn't recommend it highly enough. Franck is a solicitous host, with excellent taste - the house is delightful, impeccably clean, with a very comfortable (big) bed in our suite. Breakfast outshone our restaurant meals! Easily the best, and therefore the best value hotel I've stayed at in the Pas de Calais.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeyDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers
Hotel de l'Univers
#6 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#7 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or

Property: La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or
Address: 1 Place Guy Mollet, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of the historic city of Arras, experience the charm of an original 18th century home with all of the conveniences of the 21st Century. Tastefully renovated, "La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or" features 5 rooms and 2 guest lounges. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, TV and CD player. Art exhibits adorn our guest home and add to your cultural experience! Read the reviews for first-hand accounts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Hotes - La Corne d`Or Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing