We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location on the sea front.”
Review of Opal'Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Opal'Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Good sized room, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Good breakfast with plenty of choice, lots of fresh croissant and lovely pain complet. Almost opposite Naussica Sea World and within walking distance of the town centre.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Opal'Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is easy to find being at the entry to Boulogne. It's very close to Nausicaa opposite the beach. It has everything you need - including free wifi and is clean and comfortable as well as not bad value

Room Tip: a sea view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Spent a very pleasant Easter weekend in this hotel.
Our modern room overlooked the sea with vast beach. The main fault was that it was small and we didn't have any tea making facilities.
Our bed was extremely comfortable.
The buffet breakfast was delicious. We had a choice of delicious croissants, fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

On the Opal Coast fronting the sea at Boulogne stands the Opal Inn a three star hotel that is probably well described by having just 3 stars. On the good side it is clean tidy has free WiFi offers a good buffet breakfast and is opposite a free public car park.

Its an OK stay for a night or so. Any longer than that and it will drive you crazy.

On the bad side the rooms are tiny, the beds uncomfortable and rooms close to the lift, noisy.

Sea front rooms (even numbers) offer a good view while rooms to the back of the hotel (odd numbers) do not and are somewhat dark

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lift the higher the last digit the quieter you will be
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BolshyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Firstly, I would counsel only visiting Boulogne if you have a purpose in mind as the town is really run down. In our case it was one of our regular runs on Auchan at St Martin to stock up the cellar.

Although the rooms have been thoroughly modernised they are a bit on the small side for a hotel charging as much in the Boulogne area. In our case we paid 98 Euros to include a balcony which did not add a lot, though our views may have been coloured by the fact that we went during France’s March smog!

If you want to try and work or simply prefer using your PC at a desk there’s not a lot of space as the desk is small and doubles as a table for the hospitality tray and phone and has the minibar underneath it.

Suspect that parking could be an issue during summer or other busy times. Even on a gloomy Friday afternoon in March we only just managed to get a parking spot that didn’t involve a lengthy trek across to the hotel.

One definite plus is the very adequate and good value buffet breakfast served from 06.30 every day, but do make sure the Egg Cooker is turned up to maximum before you try and use it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorrieBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very clean and modern design hotel. Bathroom and beds are very clean, and for me it is the most important. The rooms are beautiful! Rooms are not big, but for me it doesn't matter.

Perfect hotel for visiting Boulogne - sur - mer and Cap Gris Nez

Parking outside for free.

Room Tip: Ask a seaside room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goozzez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were a group of 4 (2 couples) staying at the Opal'Inn for 2 nights over a weekend in November. We went to Boulogne in order to explore a new town and to stock up at a local hypermarket. The Opal'Inn fitted the bill perfectly for us. The rooms were basic but comfortable and clean and had everything we needed (well appointed en suite, comfortable bed, wifi). The hotel is also well located on the beachfront, but only about a 10 minute walk to the beautiful walled old town. Extra bonus for us was that we managed to park all weekend for free directly opposite the front door, although I imagine you wouldn't be so lucky in the summer. Boulogne is a great town for a weekend or a stopping point for Brits on the way to or from other parts of France. There are some great bars along the front from the hotel doing good wine and even better seafood (Quai 42 was a favourite of ours).

Staff were very helpful giving us advice on where to go in the town and generally being very polite and approachable. I would definitely return to the Opal'Inn if staying in Boulogne again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#10 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#7 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal'Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal'Inn

Address: 170 boulevard Sainte Beuve, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range: £69 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal'Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Opal'Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing