We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Bononia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Alexandra(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Au Sleeping(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Hotel Boulogne-sur-Mer(Saint-Martin-Boulogne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Londres(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Faidherbe(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Hamiot(Boulogne-sur-Mer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
102
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
18
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We loved this B & B for a number of reasons. The location was great, just walking distance from the old town and town centre with many eating options in both. The bed and room were very comfortable. The en suite was compact but clean and functional. The highlight, though, was the people. Hosts Caroline and Martial were more than welcoming and despite our barely adequate French, they worked hard on their English to break down any language barriers and make us feel at home. Breakfast is almost a family affair with the hosts and guests around a large dining table talking and eating and enjoying each other's company.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Parents G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in August in the 'Nausicca' family room. We were made to feel extremely welcome and the room was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and equipped with a fridge. It's a great location, just 5 minutes walk from the old town. The lovely breakfast took place in their large dining room, with all guests sharing one big table, and Caroline and Martial were extremely friendly, attentive and eager to chat. We got some good recommendations for restaurants in old town and the best beach to visit nearby (Wimereaux). Our children (aged 6 and 4) were also well looked-after, with books and games available. We would definitely book again if an overnight stop was needed in northern France. Merci beacoup Caroline et Martial!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GazH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We've recently returned from La Bononia after a short stay. Caroline and Martial were so helpful and welcoming, very friendly and both speak very good English (which is a huge bonus if like me you speak little French). The location is very good, a short walk down the hill to the old town and a little bit further on to the main commercial and less pretty part of Boulogne. There is plenty of free car parking outside and the area seems fairly safe and secure. The rooms were spotlessly clean, light, airy and the beds were comfortable. We also had refrigerator in our room which was a big bonus, also a microwave just outside the room (although we did not use that), plus the room has an ensuite with a nice power shower. There was plenty of tea and coffee available free of charge. The breakfast was plentiful, fresh and tasty. The coffee was top quality and my partner loved the fruity bread loaf that was provided on our last day. Compared to other B&B and Hotels I have used and also considering the price we paid €270 I can wholeheartedly recommend La Bononia. You can probably find similar places nearby but the warmth and friendliness of Caroline and Martial can't be overstated enough!

Room Tip: The room we had... the Nausica is idea for two adults and two children.... or four adults if you don't mind the lack of privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We came over to France a few weeks ago to come and get some wine for our daughter's wedding. Rather than stay in Calais, we like to venture the few miles down to Boulogne and sample the restaurants there. So, we automatically booked a room at Caroline and Martial's lovely B&B. A lovely excuse to stay there again. Our last visit had been in November last year.
Everything was just as good as the first time. They say their English isn't good, but it is very good. The rooms are lovely and clean and the shower works well and the beds are comfortable. breakfasts are wholesome and plentiful. Good coffee. Nothing is a problem. Their suggestion to eat La Grillardine which is a short walk into the Old Town was a good one. Great food and service. La Bononia is a family home but one doesn't feel like one is intruding. They make you feel so welcome. Looking forward to the next visit!

Room Tip: The two larger rooms had already been booked so we were in the smaller of the three. Perfectly adequate for our one night stay. Lovely picture window which opens fully to let in the cool air. It was hot when we were there.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zirconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed 4 nights July, close to eurotunnel and good base to explore. Bedrooms spacious and clean.Hosts were a lovely couple,very friendly and speak very good english and provide you with good info and recommend things to do and places to eat. We ate at La Grillardine twice which was good, owner very friendly and chatty and I'ilot vert was very good although expensive. Nausica sealife centre was very good and spent a day at La Touquet resort which was super.
Short walk to old town - made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews