We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

May i first say that it is without doubt worth looking at reviews for any Hotel you wish to book, because had i not done so with this one i could have spent time trying to get into the pedestrian road it's in, without knowing there are bollards in place between 10am and 8pm everyday, and one way systems operating also.
Having found this out from previous reviews, i emailed the Hotel and had a quick reply as to parking in the square (3 minutes away) collected the fob and was given instructions to find the secure parking garage, which is further into the corner than the hand drawn picture depicts (again only 3 mins away).
The Hotel was fantastically located for the church sq where there are bars/restaurants, even "Le Welsh Pub" however it has french staff, with adequate english. A further 7 minutes up the "Grand Rue" which runs next to the square, there is also the walled area of the castle which again has plenty of bars/restaurants offering set menus from 12 euros to 50 euros and even a la carte.
Rooms are spacious without too much room nor making it cramped, bathrooms with twin sinks and a bath with 2 overhead showers for youngsters and adults (great idea).
Staff very helpful and friendly and even a typical french lift that just fits 2 people with a large case lol and everywhere spotlessly clean.
one downside! although the food for breakfast was continental and fresh & plenty of it, i have to say 11 euros each was a bit steep, you can get it a lot cheaper in the bars/cafes outside but then sometimes the joy of just coming downstairs each morning and eating in situ before you start your day makes it better than trawling the streets for somewhere to eat.
All in all a great hotel and we will be visiting it again shortly.

Room Tip: I can't recommend a particular room as i think they all have single pane glass which means the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
25
74
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is located in the centre of Boulogne in close vincinity of restaurants and bars. It is a typical, modernized French hotel. The room was clean, simple but convenient, well maintained. Smallest shower ever seen. Room was located on street side but double insulated windows kept streetnoise well out. Friendly reception, helpfull. Garage is located at about 150m distance. Because the garage couldn't be closed due to a collision with a car, it could be used without a charge. Good buffet breakfast. As also mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is located at a temporary traffice restricted pedestrian zone. Outside these hours the hotel is easily accessible and a car can be parked in front of the hotel Metropole for loading andunloading luggage. Otherwise one should find a parking place in the neighbourhood which can be a bit difficult on busy days. The hotel Metropole a good value

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We've stayed a couple of times with friends, but really for a double room with no breakfast, €90 is far too much for the standard provided, It's clean and central, but having sioad that, in our room there were cracked tiles in the bathroom under the radiator - not what we would expect, when there is so much choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Decided to stay here so that we did not have to walk uphill to the old town every day! Booked a comfort room + breakfast at €106 per night for double room. Staff really friendly and speak good English. Room not huge, but perfectly OK for a few days. Nice en-suite bathroom. Only minus is no kettle in room.

Room Tip: Comfort room best choice. Overlooking garden means sun in the afternoon, but view not inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daves1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights to visit Boulognes Christmas Market. Nice hotel with very helpful staff .Breakfast was fine. Has no restaurant but there a some good ones within easy walking distance. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEGBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our last visit to the hotel was some 5 years ago. Maybe our tastes have changed or Boulogne has but the hotel and the environment was not agreeable. We were in room 25 which was a basic sterile room overlooking the street. The shower has no pressure, the bathroom cramped and although WiFi was free, signal dropped. We passed on the Euro 10 pp breakfast and went to a Boulangerie instead and has breakfast for 2 for Euro 10. However, reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. This is a 2 star hotel

Room Tip: Room 27 is large
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RG27 8ND
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Difficult when you arrive by car as it is in a pedestrian street with bollards and the car park is around the block and small. We had trouble getting our car in and out as a builders truck was occupying most of the room as they were repairing the roof on the garage and they had to keep moving it to let us in and out. The rooms are on the small side and dull. It was noisy at night. The only saving grace was that it was in a good location. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedwig4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#7 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 51 rue Adolphe Thiers, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Boulogne Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing