We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have stayed at the Metropole four times now, and will stay again. the staff are friendly and accommodating, and the location is the best in Boulogne. The Metropole is situated a two minute walk from the market square with its lively bars and restaurants, and a ten minute walk to the old town (up a very steep hill unfortunately). The hotel is situated in a pedestrianized street, but they have very safe and secure parking a short walk away. My wife loves the Limoges china that is used at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

May i first say that it is without doubt worth looking at reviews for any Hotel you wish to book, because had i not done so with this one i could have spent time trying to get into the pedestrian road it's in, without knowing there are bollards in place between 10am and 8pm everyday, and one way systems operating also.
Having found this out from previous reviews, i emailed the Hotel and had a quick reply as to parking in the square (3 minutes away) collected the fob and was given instructions to find the secure parking garage, which is further into the corner than the hand drawn picture depicts (again only 3 mins away).
The Hotel was fantastically located for the church sq where there are bars/restaurants, even "Le Welsh Pub" however it has french staff, with adequate english. A further 7 minutes up the "Grand Rue" which runs next to the square, there is also the walled area of the castle which again has plenty of bars/restaurants offering set menus from 12 euros to 50 euros and even a la carte.
Rooms are spacious without too much room nor making it cramped, bathrooms with twin sinks and a bath with 2 overhead showers for youngsters and adults (great idea).
Staff very helpful and friendly and even a typical french lift that just fits 2 people with a large case lol and everywhere spotlessly clean.
one downside! although the food for breakfast was continental and fresh & plenty of it, i have to say 11 euros each was a bit steep, you can get it a lot cheaper in the bars/cafes outside but then sometimes the joy of just coming downstairs each morning and eating in situ before you start your day makes it better than trawling the streets for somewhere to eat.
All in all a great hotel and we will be visiting it again shortly.

Room Tip: I can't recommend a particular room as i think they all have single pane glass which means the S...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is located in the centre of Boulogne in close vincinity of restaurants and bars. It is a typical, modernized French hotel. The room was clean, simple but convenient, well maintained. Smallest shower ever seen. Room was located on street side but double insulated windows kept streetnoise well out. Friendly reception, helpfull. Garage is located at about 150m distance. Because the garage couldn't be closed due to a collision with a car, it could be used without a charge. Good buffet breakfast. As also mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is located at a temporary traffice restricted pedestrian zone. Outside these hours the hotel is easily accessible and a car can be parked in front of the hotel Metropole for loading andunloading luggage. Otherwise one should find a parking place in the neighbourhood which can be a bit difficult on busy days. The hotel Metropole a good value

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Harry1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We've stayed a couple of times with friends, but really for a double room with no breakfast, €90 is far too much for the standard provided, It's clean and central, but having sioad that, in our room there were cracked tiles in the bathroom under the radiator - not what we would expect, when there is so much choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Decided to stay here so that we did not have to walk uphill to the old town every day! Booked a comfort room + breakfast at €106 per night for double room. Staff really friendly and speak good English. Room not huge, but perfectly OK for a few days. Nice en-suite bathroom. Only minus is no kettle in room.

Room Tip: Comfort room best choice. Overlooking garden means sun in the afternoon, but view not inspiring.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daves1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights to visit Boulognes Christmas Market. Nice hotel with very helpful staff .Breakfast was fine. Has no restaurant but there a some good ones within easy walking distance. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEGBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our last visit to the hotel was some 5 years ago. Maybe our tastes have changed or Boulogne has but the hotel and the environment was not agreeable. We were in room 25 which was a basic sterile room overlooking the street. The shower has no pressure, the bathroom cramped and although WiFi was free, signal dropped. We passed on the Euro 10 pp breakfast and went to a Boulangerie instead and has breakfast for 2 for Euro 10. However, reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. This is a 2 star hotel

Room Tip: Room 27 is large
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TomBamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#10 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#6 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 51 rue Adolphe Thiers, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range: £56 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Boulogne Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing