We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Location”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booking directly with the hotel was really easy and staff were really helpful. We booked their car park and was really pleased we did at EUR10 per day, it is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and is secure. The hotel is in a pedestrian precinct so you need to pick up the remote control to lower the barriers to get to the hotel to unload. The hotel is a perfect central location in easy walk of the beach and the old town which has the best restaurants. We had booked a superior room which was large and had three large windows so the room was nice and bright. The room was clean but the decor is a little tired and old fashioned. The bed was big and comfortable but had sheets and old fashioned blankets and the pillow was a strange uncomfortable bolster that went the width of the bed. The bathroom was big but did not have a shower, just a bath and a hand shower that came off of the taps.
Breakfast was good at ERUR10.00 per day but would be improved with a toaster.
Reception staff were always very helpful and spoke good English.
We would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bletchingleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our hotel was situated in walking distance of the centre ville of Boulogne-sur-Mer. The room was nice and clean and had all facilities (TV, airco, Wifi, mini bar, and a fully epuipped bathroom). The staff was friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Yves C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. The weather was pretty good and the hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the town,within easy walking distance of the sea front with its wide sandy beach, and the old town with its castle and museum, cathedral , and cosy streets with a great selection of restaurants. You can walk around the ramparts,which is lit up after dark.
The hotel is very well presented and efficient,with helpful and friendly reception staff. The rooms are on the small side but this is made up for by the large modern bathroom and toilet. The hotel carpark is conveniently situated 100 metres or so from the hotel at 10 euros per night, and the breakfast is really good and pretty good value at 11 euros. This hotel ticks all the boxes.The only downside is the incredible noise made by the gulls at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I and our friends stayed here for one night on one of our frequent short breaks to northern France.

The hotel is bang in the middle of a shopping street, closed to vehicles during prime time each day.

Staff vert friendly, breakfast selection excellent and as always as much as you want. Secure parking is a bonus at €10 per night, which is reasonable,and overall very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My wife and I had three pleasant nights at The Metropole in April / May 2013. Everything was very good. The parking is just a short walk (40m) but you need to look closly at the directions as it can be a little confusing to get to - but no problem at all. The location is right in the centre of town with bars and restaurants nearby. A great spot to base yourself if you are driving around the WW1 and WW2 sites. Very helpful staff with good English.
From Manly, NSW, Australia

Room Tip: The 'superior' room was great and worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here on a two night stay on a tourist trip of Boulogne. Having read other reviews I emailed the hotel in advance regarding parking (in English as my French is limited). They replied back within an hour giving the address of the garage (next street along) and the code to enter. This saved us any hassle when we arrived. Staff are very friendly and speak good English. The room is average size but has all you need. Very clean. Shower is lovely with choice of moveable head or big rain type head. Located right in the centre with bars and restaurants spitting distance. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkladycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have stayed at the Metropole at least yearly for the last few years, often with friends and have always enjoyed my visits. Last weekend there were six of us who stayed for three nights and, again, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The owner and his team are friendly and caring, if you speak no french don't worry. Since my last visit the showers seem to have been renewed and are very good. I had, by choice, a room with a bath and overbath shower which was excellent. I find the rooms both comfortable and warm, for the summer there is air conditioning. There is a nourishing continental breakfast which includes good coffee, orange juice, eggs, cheeses and hams with both croissants and lovely crusty bread at 11 euros. If you want an English breakfast there are plenty of places about. The hotel is literally in the centre of things, metres from the market place and a wide choice of restaurants. Being in the town centre parking is at a premium - book a space in the hotel's garage - at 10 euros a night. If you visit Boulogne don't miss the old town, either an uphill 10 minute walk or a taxi ride at about 6 euros. The Basilica is spectacular and a must.I strongly recommend the Metropole and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms at the front, the street can be lively, however to avoid occasional "life"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#9 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 51 rue Adolphe Thiers, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range: £61 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Boulogne Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing