We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad shabby.... 5th April 2014”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight with friends and chose the hotel based on the online reviews.

Great location in a pedestrianised area. Hotel car park easy to find. Surrounded by shops, bars and restaurants.

It's graded as a 3 star which I think is pushing it a bit.

Check in was easy and friendly. Hallways and stairwells very gloomy. The room itself was OK, but on the shabby side.

Advertised as having AC, it didn't work in our room or our friends.

Advertised as having free wifi, neither our friends or us could get connected and the staff were unable to assist.

Advertised as having a safe in the room, neither our friends or us could get the safes to work and the low battery light was flashing.

We had to unplug the tv to charge our phones.

The bed was small with a very soft mattress.

The bathroom was small, and very claustrophobic. It became overwhelmingly hot when taking a shower as there didn't seem to be an extractor fan.

The sink and toilet were clean. The towels were clean and toiletries were supplied.

The tile grout in the bathroom was peppered with mildew. The tile surrounds we grubby and dusty and grimy. The shower had 2 shower heads, both had lime scale problems preventing both from giving a nice shower. There's no excuse, plenty of chemicals that get rid of scale in every supermarket.

I think this place needs a bit of a deep clean and a spruce up. Bigger beds, a fresher look. New carpets and brighter bathrooms with better ventilation.

I wasn't expecting the ritz, but certainly expected the services and facilities being advertised to be available.

Great location, fair price, but seen better days.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank BasingAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

From the convenient secure garage parking to the quick and easy check in this hotel is perfect . Great location on a pedestrianized street. Staff could not be more friendly and helpful. This hotel is great. Great Location. Great Staff. Great bedrooms. Great coffee at Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked a "comfort room" which included a bath. Very friendly and helpful reception staff/management.
Room size and facilities were very good. Breakfast was superb. Garage parking was very close and worth the extra charge.
Boulogne residents all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back again.

Ralph and Annie Griffiths

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antarisregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I visited The Metropole again late this October. I have lost count as to the number of times we have stayed there, but our visits span four or five decades. Unless we were both masochists, which we are not, we would not keep coming back. The hotel is excellent for a long weekend or an overnight stop, Situated right in the centre of Boulogne, there is no shortage of good restaurants and bars all within comfortable walking distance. The standard rooms are small, but comfortable and the comfort rooms, while not much larger, do provide a good sized bathroom.
Triciacross' review is, to my mind, extremely unfair. The room in which she stayed probably cost €79 or around £68, which in town centre hotel is, I think, very reasonable. Breakfast at €11 may be expensive if all you want is a coffee and a croisant, but for your €11 or around £9.50, you have extremely fresh bread and croissants, a choice of meats and cheese and a variety of yoghurts. On top of this you have a good sized glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. I don't know where she stays in France where you can get better value. She also complains about the charge of €10 (£8.50) for a secure garage under cover and only a few minutes from the hotel. Parking in Boulogne is a nightmare and is also expensive so for me €10 is a steal.
There are two criticisms I have of the hotel, the first, and here I agree with Triciacross, is the prices of their minibar, but I find that this is the case in almost every hotel. The second, and much more important criticism, is that the hotel advertises that it has air conditioning, which it probably does in the height of Summer, but this time, the aircon was fixed so that it was not available other than to heat the room. Unfortunately, if you sleep with the windows open, the seagulls act as an excellent alarm if you want to get up at daybreak and that is if you have a room at the back of the hotel. If your room overlooks the street, then you will probably be woken even before the seagulls get up. However, with the windows shut, on mild Winter or Autumn days, the room can get very warm.
However, these are mild criticisms and will not stop us returning when next we want to stop in Boulogne.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel and, if you are willing, pay the extra €10 to upgrade your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyHertfordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have been staying at this hotel quite regularly for the last 40+ years, from the time our children were quite small until now, as Senior Citizens! The Hotel is situated in the centre of Boulogne and is convenient for shopping and restaurants - there is no restaurant at the Hotel apart from that used for Breakfast.
Usually we visit at the start or end of a holiday in France but this time we were simply returning to Boulogne for a lazy two or three days. The Hotel has been owner-managed by the same family ever since we have known it and, as time has gone on it has been steadily modernised. I believe that some of the less expensive rooms are smaller and probably overlook the street, which can be a bit noisy at times, but the better rooms are large, airy and have very modern bathrooms with double basins, bath and - in the room we just had - two shower heads, one a power shower the other a rain shower. The breakfasts are lovely with fresh croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice and a wide variety of other cereals and meats. At €11 it is less expensive than any hotel in France that we have stayed in this year where the cost has generally been €15/16. There is a very secure garage a few minutes' walk from the hotel and at €10 per night it is well worth booking this as parking is very difficult in Boulogne generally and the Hotel is in an area which is pedestrianized for most of the time.
Our only criticism on this occasion would be that the air-conditioning was not working. It seems to be quite common in France and in many other hotels that the aircon is turned off once the hot weather is over but on this occasion we found the room overly warm. However, the Owner pointed out that we could turn off the radiator (we hadn't realised it was on!) and this made a bit of difference but we still needed to have the windows open. I can't recommend this hotel too highly!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and if you can afford it, book the more expensive rooms which are bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We arrived after a long search for this hotel, we had booked the Hotel garage which you would presume would come in with the price , but NO they charge you 10 euro to park for one night, the room was so small it was hard to move around and there was only two of us, I don't even know what to say about the bathroom, if you go to the loo you will nearly be sitting in the shower so tiny is not a joke honest, if you go here please beware. Breakfast is 11 euro's each. Yes there is a Mini Bar but again very expensive.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Triciacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booking directly with the hotel was really easy and staff were really helpful. We booked their car park and was really pleased we did at EUR10 per day, it is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and is secure. The hotel is in a pedestrian precinct so you need to pick up the remote control to lower the barriers to get to the hotel to unload. The hotel is a perfect central location in easy walk of the beach and the old town which has the best restaurants. We had booked a superior room which was large and had three large windows so the room was nice and bright. The room was clean but the decor is a little tired and old fashioned. The bed was big and comfortable but had sheets and old fashioned blankets and the pillow was a strange uncomfortable bolster that went the width of the bed. The bathroom was big but did not have a shower, just a bath and a hand shower that came off of the taps.
Breakfast was good at ERUR10.00 per day but would be improved with a toaster.
Reception staff were always very helpful and spoke good English.
We would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bletchingleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.7 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#7 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#6 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 51 rue Adolphe Thiers, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Boulogne Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing