We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient but 2 star for a reason.”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived for one night on our way back to the EuroTunnel. Having stayed at the Hotel Du Golf in Deauville, maybe the culture change was too much but we were surprised having read TA reviews at how basic the hotel was. The welcome was friendly and efficient, the room (no.9) was clean and well maintained but it's basic stuff for 87E inc breakfast (which was also basic) Discuss parking with hotel prior to arrival as the hotel is on a busy road. We used the Saint Louis multi-story over the road which was safe, secure (maybe too secure as we had difficulty gaining access on a Sunday morning, but that was due to our lack of understanding) and cost 3.50E to park from 6pm to 10pm. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the square / restaurants. The room was very noisy from locals on the streets at all hours which disturbed what would otherwise have been a very comfortable night.

Room Tip: We were at the back and had a very disturbed night with street noise. Room 9 had 2 comfortable doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is our 2nd stay here. We specifically wanted to stay here again. Great vfm, with lovely staff. Our family room was a bit cramped but vfm. Having tea and coffee making in the room was a great touch. We discovered its very close to Boulogne Tintelleries rail station, so good for day trips. Will use again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Found the hotel by chance and was very pleased with the stay. Friendly family-like atmosphere, kettle with tea and coffee in the room, everything perfectly clean and a good breakfast. The rooms are small and bathrooms tiny, but comfortable nonetheless.

Positives: very comfortably located, close to the old town; quiet, friendly, with fine breakfast, working wifi.

Negatives: no parking, must leave the car in the street, which is costly during the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adynatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Well situated in town on a marvellous nearly one-way system,; on street parking all around (you need a magnifying glass to read the instructions on the machines but you can pre pay the morning the night before). Typically french inside but well cleaned, and has everything you need in a very small space. Comfortable bed, shower that works and when we stayed, quiet. Close to some port-side restaurants and 10 minutes up a hill from the old town (it, is, of course down hill coming back which you might be pleased of after a few "Bieres Angelus" in The Vole Hole {go there - it's a tiny bar but I love it)} We did not have breakfast but there's a good bakery next door with a great choice of breat/pastries and cakes. Oh, the TV is small too, but it also works.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As other reviews mention, from the outside, it isn't impressive. Once inside, we received a gracious welcome in spite of our atrocious French which was answered in English. Our room was on a top floor - carpeted clean stairs and we were delighted to find that we had a small balcony. The room itself was not spacious, but had that balcony as well as a comfortable bed. We just looked out on a street, but had nice fresh air to enjoy. At first we couldn't figure out how to open the doors to it and when we asked the woman at the desk, immediately, and I mean immediately, she was there to show us.
The breakfast was astonishing to me. We had been asked the evening before about how many would be having breakfast. She wanted to know so she could bake enough croissants. That's all I expected so was very pleasantly surprised by having a variety of breakfast choices.
Location was great or terrible, depending upon how you feel about being next to a Patisserie which had wonderful sweets of all kinds.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnebogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDrBoulognesurmer, Gérant at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your comment, we were pleased to receive you in our hotel and we are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in our city.

Hope to see you again

Best regards.

The team of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

From the outside it looks nothing but inside is clean and functional. The location is perfect for strolling around Boulogne. We walked up to the old town which was quaint and had a good selection of restaurants.
The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly, showing us where to park and in which direction to head for a meal or the beach etc. the room was cramped but had everything we needed, including separate full sized beds for the children ( boys of 10 and 11). The shower room was small but the shower was great. The rooms were noisy, I could hear other residents and roadworks but the rest of the family slept through it! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagshotBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDrBoulognesurmer, Gérant at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hello,
All hotel staff thank you for your comment And we will welcome you again with great pleasure
Cordially
The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Brought back memories of Blackpool guest houses (cruet extra!), but this is a lovely small hotel with attentive staff and our bedroom was comfortable, but you could not swing a cat in the en-suite shower, but everything worked. Right in the town and if you could not get an overnight on street parking spot, then the owners gave you an electronic pass to access the public underground car park nearby for 8 Euros a night. Had not realised how lovely the old town was with plenty of restaurants and bars to chose from. This hotel does have a bar of sorts, mainly restricted to bottled beer and soft drinks and no vino. If you were given a room on the second floor, then there is no lift.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, try getting a room on the lst floor as this hotel has no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#6 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis budget Boulogne Sur Mer Centre les Ports
ibis budget Boulogne Sur Mer Cen...
#5 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 93 rue Adolphe Thiers, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alexandra 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing