We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of La Belle Haute

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Belle Haute
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Overall a great visit would would love to return in future.
Initially hard to find as there is no large sign, and b&b is smaller than expected. We had to park a couple of hundred yards away and drag cases over cobbled streets. Rang the bell then we then had to wait outside a few minutes before Sandrine spotted us. Rooms were not ready on arrival - had to return 10 mins later. One flight of polished stairs to climb to get to our room. What a treasure! We had the shower room facing the street. Plenty of space/storage and tastefully decorated. Very bright and airy. Tea making facilites provided, but power point on floor meant lifting kettle with boiling water from floor to table. Cold water and tea/coffee provided as a welcome tray as described, but we didn't realise that they were not replenished, so we had to use tap water for overnight thirst quenching.
No hot water for shower on first night as occupants of other room with bath had drawn off all of the hot water first - may not be a problem if 100% of guests have showers?
Window shutters are wind up and down and may be a problem if you have weak wrists.
Room was very quiet at night, but we found the bed uncomfortable (compared to our own).
Sandrine provided 3 differing keys for access together with instructions for use - we found this ok after some practice.
Breakfast as described in other reviews, but note no fresh bread on a Monday! Best meusli I've had!
B&B location in the centre of the old town is excellent, within walking distance of restaurents and bars etc. On Sunday night everyone seems to go bed early and the old town was very quiet.
Thanks very much Sandrine for all the helpful local advice.
Almost forgot to mention the little sun terrace outside where we drank some wine in the late afternoon peace and quiet .

Room Tip: one 'room' has a bath (rear), one a shower (front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Merci beaucoup Sandrine. We had a wonderful stay! This hotel is right in the middle of the old town - spectacular evening walk, nice restaurants and small cafés and if you are lucky fantastic live music played outside. Thanks again. Anna, Olga and Dmitry

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry_Kisil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. Really comfortable & amazingly spacious, the bathroom was huge! Sandrine is a lovely host and made us a superb breakfast. We had a fantastic time and will definitely be going back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed for the night of 12 November. What a find! It is run by a delightful family (extremely polite children) and they all make you feel most welcome.

The bedroom was the size of a tennis court and there was a highly effective shower. It is in a very central position in the delightful Old Town. Yet it was extremely quiet at night and had effective shutters. So we slept very well but luckily we did set our alarmfor breakfast.

I say "luckily" because it was a veritable feast. Plenty of fresh bread and croissants and mother's home made jam. We were even cooked a speciality of the maison. Most delicious.

We would recommend this unreservedly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iangb190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just spent a lovely few days here, very helpful and hospitable... everything was perfect. very clean, good breakfast,( included in price) & homemade jam!!!!!! good location. The actual building was a bit difficult to find, but the rooms and the people were so lovely, we will definitely be going back. If you find yourself in Boulogne and need an overnight stay this is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clcclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Fabulous place,delightful owners, you simply must try it while you can still get a room!
Its right in the old town with easy parking and just a minutes walk from Restaurants and shop's.

We had the 2 bed room which was plenty big enough for 4 people ( and the same price as a plastic old budget hotel room for 2) breakfast was included and very nice too, free wi-fi TV and tea making facilities are all part of the price.
The rooms are decorated in a kind of shabby chic style and have lots of character,
The bathroom is massive and fitted out beautifully.
Best value in Boulogne by a mile!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billcro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulogne-sur-Mer
0.9 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
148 reviews
1 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
#1 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
472 reviews
4.9 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Haute

Address: 18 rue d Aumont, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range: £76 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Belle Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing