We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Hotel Faidherbe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Faidherbe
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“not bad”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

was staying here for 3 nights and rooms were okay and the tvs were a good size but some parts of the hotel were disapointing. the bathroom had some mould which was all black and looked disgusting but at least the shower worked, the plumbing was noisy. and you could hear lots of noises due to the hotel bieng on a main road. the pillows for the bed were far to small (would recomond you bring your own) its a good location in the middle of boulogne but it looks old from the outside. you do on the other hand get a decent breakfast of crossiants and baguettes.

Room Tip: higher rooms have less noiesy wc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    29
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
25
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I was booked into this hotel by some friends as part of a group and I wouldn't have chosen it myself having read the reviews below. It is a bit shabby and old, particularly from the outside, but my room seemed to have been redecorated recently and was very clean. The bathroom was a bit grim, having no natural light and it was equipped with an ancient half-bath with a shower over it. It had such high sides that I found it quite awkward to get in and out of, especially once it was wet and slippery and I'm six foot tall. I had a room at the back which was quiet, except for the seagulls which as I visited in June, started their dawn chorus at 4 A.M. One of my colleagues complained that her room was very noisy with constant noise from the plumbing every time someone flushed a toilet. The staff were helpful, but reception is not manned for 24 hours. Breakfast was good. I paid 61 Euros, bed and breakfast. I normally stay in better quality hotels, so I wouldn't go back, but it would be an option if you are on a budget. The hotel is well situated for the port area, but if you want to visit the old town, it's a 15 minute walk up quite a steep hill.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFun239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

In a town where it isn't all that easy to find comfortable, quiet hotels with a little dab of charm to distinguish from the run of the mill, drab, overprices dormitories, the Faidherbe is definitely the place to choose. Well located, on a main road that is surprisingly quiet at night, the Faidherbe is a friendly, family-run place with individually decorated rooms (larger than the renovated closets you get in most places). The breakfast tables are arranged in a cosy entrance alcove that enables you to take stock of the day to come while sipping your coffee and enjoying a copious buffet. Just across the road from one of the most dependable brasseries in town. As I've had to sample most hotels in Boulogne for professional purposes over the past few years I definitely recommend the Faidherbe in its category.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumdubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Had a short break in Boulogne. This was the only place with rooms left. The location is good - pretty central so an easy walk to the shops or the harbour area. Parking easy on the roads but you do have to keep feeding the meter.
Staff I saw were efficient but not particularly welcoming.
Perhaps I'm not used to 2 star places or maybe my expectation was too high given the price wasn't cheap by UK standards (because the £ is so low against the Euro at the moment) at £100 a night but the room was not great with badly stained sanitary ware, old carpets, tired furnishings. Beds were comfy and everything was very clean though.
Breakfast is in a cramped area, not great for families with young children so would recommend using one of the nearby cafes instead (there are lots).
The main reason for a poor review though was the NOISE. The room overlooked the road at the front and although it was warm I had to keep the windows shut all night against the grinding traffic, tooting horns and a surprising number of yelling drunks (thought the UK had these problems not France!). WHY do people toot their horns in the middle of the night? Nobody slept well. The windows just didn't keep out the noise.
Boulogne was worth the visit but I didn't like this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This hotel was quite old, pretty basic, room was not ready upon stated check in time and had to wait around for an hour. On the plus side the free wi fi was good and it was quiet and clean. The staff were friendly but you need to speak French!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesswillis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

After reading the mixed reviews I was unsure of this hotel, however on arrival any doubts vanished. Unfortunately the poor mynah bird was no longer there having died earler this
year. The bedrooms and en suite bathrooms were small but clean and perfectly adequate for our one nights stay. The breakfast was just what you expect a French breakfast to be. The only down side was that the Hotel bar is small and part of the reception desk, they also ran out of bottled beer after we arrived in the afternoon, re-stocked for the evening and then ran out again, however there was certainly plenty of bars, restaurants and shops next to the hotel. We had been worried about the noise at night but we never heard a thing all night and we were right on the Main Street. We will certainly visit again. We stayed Saturday 20th November 2010

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1999immie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stayed at Faidherbe in the family (quadruple)room with teenage children. Room in need of a little maintenance but really not as bad as some reviews make out. The hotel staff really try hard to make you feel welcome and are very helpful. I don't speak much French -but Olivier made up for that with her proficient English. Do book the continental breakfast - it is good value for a meal to start the day and there is plenty of it. Bookable secure parking a short walk away but some reviews indicate this is not necessary. I felt safe having the car locked up though. Hotel perfectly situated for a stroll to the harbour, beach, old town (a fairly brisk uphill walk) and a number of great restaurants in the nearby square. My teenage kids even found some good shops for clothes etc. The traffic noise from the main road can get a bit loud come 6am but it was bearable. All in all - I found that the hotel was not as bad as some reviewers indicated and it is good value - if you want luxury be prepared to pay for it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#6 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faidherbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faidherbe

Property: Hotel Faidherbe
Address: 12 rue Louis Faidherbe, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Faidherbe 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Faidherbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faidherbe Hotel Boulogne Sur Mer
Faidherbe Boulogne Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing