We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to start the holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambres d'Hotes les Terrasses de l'Enclos
Worcs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great way to start the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

As soon as we arrived in France, we headed straight for Boulogne - I have never had a bad experience here! This was to be no exception! As we drove through the old town, we saw a sign for Les Terrasses de l'Enclos, we parked in the free shady car park next to the hotel. We had to ring the bell on the gate but were quickly let in and crossed the lovely terrace.
The room was at the top of a very narrow and steep staircase but we didn't mind that. It had a lovely, imaginative layout, with period pieces and had the historical information framed on the wall. My only gripe here was a lack of carpet, I don't usually take my slippers on holiday but will for our next visit!
When we booked in, we were told that there was a jazz concert in the evening - what more could you ask? The food was fabulous, the concert wasn't really jazz but never the less, it was truly enjoyable. I thought we had the best table in the house, we were right in front of the band. Through the window, we watched a fledgling thush in the garden receiving it's dinner. Then the floodlights on the cathedral came on, what a treat - good music, good food, good view and a touch of nature thrown in too!
Breakfast was also very pleasant.
From booking in to leaving, the staff had been impeccable. We'd had such a wonderful time that we asked if we could stay for another night. Unfortunately they were fully booked, which wasn't a surprise.
The perfect start to our holiday!
Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcsReluctant_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
97
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for one night and were a little disappointed after booking it as a result of the reviews here on tripadvisor. It was in a great position, with car parking next door and the building is attractive. However on arriving the gates were locked and a buzzer system is used for access. The man who let us in was unsmiling and abrupt. The courtyard as you go in was tired looking - garden furniture in need of renovation, leaves needed sweeping up and half dead plants made it look unattractive and unkempt. The reception area was stuffy and smelt of food. A lady was called and she was more welcoming but told us that breakfast was at 9. We were surprised that there was not a time slot of an hour or more allocated for it as we were hoping for an earlier start. However she did, on seeing our hesitation, offer to give us breakfast earlier. The room was large and airy and furnished in the style of the building. However there were makeup/lipstick smudges on the light switch, dusty ledges on furniture and the shower was not working correctly - it slipped down and couldn't be tightened which meant you had to hold the shower yourself to wash. Breakfast was not great - croissants were over-cooked and a very dark brown and the only bread offered was bland. Fruit looked unappetising - overripe (to my taste) brown bananas and some kiwi fruit. I feel on the whole it was overpriced and would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastanglia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Generally agree with all recent comments.
We arrived at lunchtime when staff were available. Had to wait about 1 hour for the room to be made ready - no problems for us.
The only quibbles we had were that we should have taken our own milk, tea, coffee etc and that the shower temperaturre varied during every shower. However, we did not complain.
Good location for local bars and restaurants, but there is a long steep hill to get to the sea front.
The staff we met were pleasant but not pro-active, due to our lack of French we did not have much communication. My wife seemed to have to wait a long time for hot water for her tea..
We did not stay for any evening meals as we thought the ambience seemed too quiet and formal - food quality may be excellent but not a high priority for us. We needed a laugh.

Room Tip: The cheapest room was big enough for us, was light and airy with good view over coutyard, but access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Ideally located within the old town walls and close by to restaurants. Room clean quiet and comfortable, only downside for me was no bath which after a days cycling was sorely missed. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was good with nicely squeezed orange juice !! Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is basically a restaurant with 5 B&B rooms.Its best to arrive when the restaurant is open 12-14 hrs and 18-21 hrs otherwise it is all shut up.The room was spacious and warm and the bed comfortable.
Breakfast was ok ( continental of course ) but no meats available
Room service was a bit iffy (our tea and coffee was not replenished )
As someone else said, the floors are bare wood , so take slippers

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nicely decorated, warm with tea and coffee making facilities, extra pillows and nice firm bed. The hotel is situated in the old walled city next to the Cathedral. In a place where Sat Nav is absolutely critical in order to find the place easily, once there it is worth it and with a free car park next door was easy. A great location for exploring the old town and new, we decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant and found the menu fairly expensive but absolutely delicious and we were very pleased that we did, as the local restauarants are good at tempting you away. Breakfast lovely, having settled our bill we then made our way down to Paris in the snow.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrislegrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in the old town in Boulogne. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and there is coffee served in the room. There is a free car park next door. The restaurant is in the old house which must be part of the old Bishop's Palace. The rooms are lovely and really elegant and the food is wonderful. We paid 200 Euros for a room, breakfast and dinner for two. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very comfortable with a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janburnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.9 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres d'Hotes les Terrasses de l'Enclos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'Hotes les Terrasses de l'Enclos

Property: Chambres d'Hotes les Terrasses de l'Enclos
Address: 6 rue de Pressy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chambres d'Hotes les Terrasses de l'Enclos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambres d`Hotes Les Terrasses De l`Enclos Hotel Boulogne-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing