We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright for a one night stop to break your journey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Gens de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Les Gens de Mer
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Alright for a one night stop to break your journey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We found it very noisy but the staff were very good. Breakfast was fine too. We were stifling hot in the room as we had to shut the window because of the noise and there was no air con or a fan. I was a little concerned about all the cracked windows at the back of the building! We had parked at the back which was when I spotted the windows and it wasn't the best impression. We have stayed in worse and better and it is a bonus to have parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    61
    40
    19
    15
See reviews for
30
84
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here as part of a conference which had booked all the delegates rooms here. It's an easy walk from the train station, not quite in the middle of anything,which lacks atmosphere but I think makes it quieter than it could otherwise be. I had the windows open most of the time and other than a few random passersby didn't notice a lot of traffic.

While the hotel's website says their reception staff speak English, none of the ones working while I was there did! (I don't necessarily expect that people in other countries will, but it's worth pointing out since it does say so on the site quite explicitly.) That said, we managed all right and the man there when I checked in was good-natured about my sad attempts to communicate in the language of my hosts. He also lent me an umbrella when I went to dinner, as it was pouring.

The rooms themselves aren't very nice. The bed was on the lumpy side, and there was a hole in the duvet and another in the curtains. The room and the corridor leading to it are small and cramped and dusty, though there is desk and wardrobe space enough. A water bottle was provided at first but never replaced, though the soaps were new every day even if I'd hardly used them! The TV worked, but the wifi didn't (maybe because my room was so far down the hallway). The shower, though, was good, with excellent water pressure and temperature control.

The breakfast is all right, but since they don't seem to replace things other than the perishables like croissants and eggs, what was plenty on Thursday was dwindling by Saturday when there was hardly any yoghurt left. What there is, though, is good, and again the staff are friendly and cheerful. I didn't try the restaurant as we had other plans, though the menu looked interesting.

This isn't a bad hotel, but it's also not a great one. If you're going to be spending most of your time in Boulogne sightseeing outside the hotel, it's a perfectly good place to store your stuff and rest your head. But it's not really a room you want to hang out and spend time in.

Room Tip: Don't get one at the end of the hall if you want wifi.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cathteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from an overnight stay here. The first impression is quite good. A clean reception area and a reasonable looking restaurant and bar overlooking the harbour. There is also ample parking to the front and rear of the building. An important issue in a city. It is well located for walking into the town centre. The staff were very friendly and a couple of the staff could speak some English.

However the bedrooms were very poor. The curtains were filthy and hanging off the curtain track. Thankfully there were shutters. The bed linen and towels were clean and well ironed. The bathroom and the bedroom area were very cramped. The decor generally (including the carpets) had seen better days. The communal carpeted areas were filthy and very stained. Everything could do with a good makeover.
When we arrived for breakfast at 9:30, there was very little left on the buffet style area. The fruit juice was topped up but nothing else. All the fruit salad had gone and was not replaced. The bread was fresh, but the croissants had all gone too. Not good value for 8.50 Euros each.
The other thing to look out for is paying in advance. The Proprietor was honest and told me the receptionist had taken payment from my card when in actual fact I had paid a couple of days before through the booking company. They refunded the over payment back onto my card. However I think I may have lost out on the difference between paying in sterling as opposed to the refund in Euros.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

A great location as only a 10 minute walk into the town centre. The room was lovely but small, breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice. A good value hotel and very comfortable. Has its own car park out front. Would recommend as an overnight stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyosamaggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is not the Dorchester nor does it pretend to be neither will you pay Dorchester prices! It is clean, comfortable and great value for money. The staff are excellent and the breakfast and restaurant meals are very good.
The rooms have everything you could need.
Parking is ample and free and the hotel is in a very convenient position on the marina and only a short walk over the bridge to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

great location with plenty of parking which is a bonus in a big town where parking is difficult.staff very friendly, hotel clean and tidy although could do with a lick of paint.
good breakfast, room a good size.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The North
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room clean and beds comfortable but just felt grotty. Corridor old, dirty carpet made it feel dirty before you entered your room. Shower small. Staff were really pleasant. Didn't eat here as it was very brief stopover on way back to Eurotunnel. We arrived in the dark and left in the dark so maybe that didn't help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.8 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.3 mi away
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
#11 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Gens de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer

Property: Les Gens de Mer
Address: Quai Chanzy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Les Gens de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Gens De Mer Hotel Boulogne-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing