We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Michelin Star?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant La Matelote

Restaurant La Matelote
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$101
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Michelin Star?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having visited this restaurant a few years ago I was looking forward to our visit for lunch during our day trip to France. The food did not live up to expectations. The fish soup had a triangular piece of white bread with melted cheese on the top and looked very unappetising, the sole and the St Pierre were both overcooked and the dessert was swimming in cream. How this restaurant has a Michelin star I do not know. The service was not particularly welcoming and on checking the bill they charged us for 5 main courses instead of four. We will not be visiting La Matelote again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank newtonferrers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    130
    83
    53
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Resting on laurels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is the second Michelin one star restaurant to disappoint within the past couple of months and suggests the renowned culinary institution needs either to revisit its judging criteria or visit what it rates more often or anonymously.
Bottom line: the cuisine and service is competent and uses fresh products however lacks the creativity and technical finesse expected of starred restaurants. We selected the € 61 'saveurs de mer' five course menu as the choice best likely to illustrate the restaurant's proficiency with local products. However, none of the dishes was outstanding in either taste or presentation and the cheese intermezzo and dessert were positively disappointing (the former too refrigerated and the latter, with too much pastry, excessively heavy). In respect of food therefore, the average judgement of Trip Advisors is presently sounder than the 'Guide Michelin.'
We also found the hotel accommodation disappointing and unworthy of the four stars posted at the entrance. Although our (prestige) room was comprehensively furnished (with, actually, too much furniture for the space on offer) the quality of the fixtures and fittings especially in the bathroom was an issue: the shaving mirror (a plus) was so mis-installed that usage required the guest to swivel his/her face at 90 degrees (ie was physically impossible): the shelf for the towels above the bath was coming unscrewed from the wall and the fact that the personnel had placed the towels on the radiator instead suggested that the problem was both known and long-standing: the control for diverting the water either to the shower or the bath tub unscrewed itself and unilaterrally plopped into the bath tub. A further gripe: the indoor swimming pool, which looks invitingly large on the internet, is so small (approximately 2,5 x 3,5 metres) that it would be more suitable for goldfish. By contrast breakfast is copious by French standards (at a € 15,50 surcharge). Viator Coloniae
PS: the hotel consists of two buildings. If guests intending to use the swimming pool want to avoid passing Reception in their dressing gowns, they should ask for a room in the same building as the swimming pool.
PPS: Dogs are most welcome - including in the restaurant. Canis Coloniae

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveyron
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

OK, it was a Sunday night and the chef was off duty. However, for this to have a Michelin star is frankly hard to understand. I won't go into all the details, but it was bad enough for me to write to the chef. He replied that he rejected everything I said and that if I was going to be like that about his food he wasn't going to speak to me!
I pointed out that as he wasn't there he could not know that the kitchen staff that had finished walked out through the restaurant in their parkas whilst us and other diners were still there!
The waiter was very friendly and helpful and when I said some things were inedible and asked him to smell them he accepted that something was wrong.
We were asked to fill in a comment form. We did. It was rejected!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BartieAveyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kessel-Lo
Level Contributor
178 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Imaginative and very good kitchen, delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We took the Menu Saveurs de la Mer, and were bombarded by little dishes, every one of them extraordinary taste experiences. I love how he uses local products and what he does with them. Nice mix between very modern and classic, but every dish was top. Very good value for money. Friendly service but also some annoying mistakes. The wine list is expensive and unimaginative and this is really a pity. Go for a cheap one and concentrate on the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not worth its star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This restaurant has a Michelin star!!! You would never know it. We tried out the menu at 39 euros (a real bargain compared with the other menus and the à la carte prices) and were totally underwhelmed. The order was confused and two main dishes of colin arrived. They disappeared when we explained that my partner had ordered something else but I am fairly sure that my colin was the original one because it was overcooked. Aside of that it was totally bland as was the purée on which it sat. The whole thing was covered with rocket so zero for presentation. And this is a restaurant that prides itself on preparing sea food! The soup was also grim - not hot enough, the rouille already in place (no taste of garlic) and a soggy bit of bread on top. And on it went. Even the amuse gueules were over stated and over rich. The wine however was great but 60 euros for a Chateau Neuf demands a certain quality. The service was erratic, everyone seemed very busy but not well trained at all. The staff were friendly but they were inefficient. Add to this a decor that looked like a cross between grandma's parlour and an Indian restaurant and there you have it. I have eaten in several 1 stars in the last 2 months and they have all been streets ahead of this one. Fawlty Towers springs to mind.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Matelote also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Restaurant La Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing