We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for the price, but....”
Review of Hotel La Chope

Hotel La Chope
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Chope
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alright for the price, but....”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A slightly odd place on a weekend. They're completely closed by 6pm. No bar, no restaurant, no staff. If you want to get your cars/bikes in or out after that, forget about it.

The rooms are small, but nice enough, beds are clean and VERY comfortable, the surrounding area is quiet. However, at the end of our stay when presented with the bill, he suddenly said that our breakfasts weren't included in the price, and also he overcharged us for one of the rooms. Our French wasn't good enough to argue about it with the staff, so we had to let it slide. Don't think we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llyander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    18
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
18
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way to Calais. Reception was closed when we arrived, but notice said open at 5.00 which gave us time to stretch our legs. The hotel is not in a pretty area of Cambrai, but stands out as a renovated attractive frontage and property and this image persists right through the ground floor and out to a very attractive terrace at the rear where the secure parking is. Room we had at the back was small, very clean, it all worked perfectly,and was quiet. Breakfast was simple but everything was well presented including the restaurant itself. I would certainly try the restaurant for a meal next time. The owners responded helpfully and politely to all our queries, and I did not have to repeat any of my probably mispronounced French. Would I go back to this hotel? Certainly. Would I go back to Cambrai? Maybe.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quillcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Pois
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Booked ahead with this hotel through Booking.com. Chose this place as its affiliated to the Logis chain who normally provide good food and ambiance; just what we wanted for the night (a sunday night). Arrived at 1800hours to find it securely closed up. No reception area/no restaurant/no secure parking open. Finally got into our room to find it somewhat dated on the lower end of the market for hotel furniture and furnishings. Curtains did not fully close so had light from the street all night/no hotel instructions or introductory info/bathroom just had soap,cups etc for one person and a smell of drains.
Had to go into town for an evening meal and drink.We would not have booked if we were told that the place was a ghost for the night. Formula One was half he price and probably more inviting.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambrai hotels

England
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Rooms are all en suite, clean and nicely appointed. The restaurant offers good quality local cuisine in a friendly atmospherre. This hotel certainly deserves its rating in the Logis Guide. We have stayed here on several occasions and now that we come to Cambrai very regularly - to our own home - we make a point of eating here on every occasion.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MongrelEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrai hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Cambrai
Ibis Cambrai
#2 of 13 in Cambrai
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Logis Mouton Blanc
Logis Mouton Blanc
#6 of 13 in Cambrai
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tabl' Hotel
Tabl' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-Notre-Dame
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chateau de la Motte Fenelon
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beatus
Hotel Beatus
#1 of 13 in Cambrai
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
hotelF1 Cambrai
hotelF1 Cambrai
#7 of 13 in Cambrai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chope

Property: Hotel La Chope
Address: 17 rue des Docks, 59400, Cambrai, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Cambrai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Chope 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Chope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing