We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your local restaurant”

brasserie boulonnaise chez dan et bea
Ranked #6 of 116 Restaurants in Cambrai
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Your local restaurant”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The locals do indeed patronise this popular restaurant. The food is good and plentiful. Popularity has brought about updates, now it is a Bistro rather than just 'Dan's Place'. Dan is still there keeping a watchful eye on what is happening and talking to his regulars, when we were there he no longer did his table by table 'tour'. Dan's wife is as hardworking as ever and now appears to be the 'hostess'.
The staff are hardworking too and very friendly. Prices have risen in recent times and the house wine of the past seems to have disappeared. I just hope the bistro does not go any further upmarket.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    77
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice food with big portions. Had quite a few locals in so that's always a good sign. Very relaxed atmosphere. Good value for money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rachers159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly Entertaining Evening”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed at Hotel Beatus with 14 adults on a battlefiueld tour. Hotel Beatus recommended Chez Dan. From the moment we arrived we were in stitches. Our host was brilliant. She made us feel very welcome and despite speaking no English she managed to bring smiles to all of our faces every time she appeared. (We had 3 Frenche speakers in our party).
The food was good BUT the evening was a tremendouis success due to the atmosphere created by Virginie (our host). Most of us ate steaks or brocehtte de boeuf. All food was well cooked and portions were also good.
The service was friendly, efficient and when we left everyone of us were kissed on the cheek or had hands shaken by the management.
I would go back and wouild recommend Chez Dan. Be prepared to be entertained.
I have not laughed so much for ages.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prhlichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Superb friendly service and big good value portions. Moules are the speciality but all the meat is also very good.
Mixed crowd of young and old diners who were all obviously enjoying the evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unpretentious good fish restaurant”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Chez Dan is a simple, unpretentious fish restaurant with a very warm friendly welcome. Two bowls of fish soup ,two plates of lightly fried fish with a rich sauce and salad of crudités, two desserts and pichet of wine came to €40!. The steaks look excellent, the moules are a speciality and there are daily specials on the blackboard. Everything is garnished with a flourish and Madame tries to say goodbye warmly to everyone. When we left on this Saturday night there was a queue of six locals waiting for tables. The ambiance is terrific.Excellent value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frankafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed brasserie boulonnaise chez dan et bea also viewed

 

Been to brasserie boulonnaise chez dan et bea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing